OOC: HI Mike - How will I be able to use protection ability ever? Since this is play-by-post, monsters can be attacking while I'm off-line. Can people invoke protection from me if I'm away. It's a reaction - so once per turn round.... And only someone beside me.
Alianna throws a Fire Bolt at the remaining silver-backed rats, setting them all aflame!
OOC: Mithrokk, you can keep your attack rolls, but you'll have to target the other rat swarms. Tell me if you're moving towards them (you'll have to avoide the flaming square you created, though).
OOC: With regards to Farnakees's power, I'm still not sure. Normally, reactions occur on your turn or on the enemy's turn when it attacks you. That gives me time to wait for your reaction. This is the first time I've got a character whose reaction can occur when the enemy attacks an ally, not you. More or less, as a general rule, as long as you state the reaction within 24 hours of the enemy's attack, I'll allow your intervention to change it.
OOC: After Rastaris and Mithrokk, Farnakees and Lathalas can act.
OOC: Redoing the rolls since it somehow didn't work earlier.
Attack: 11
Damage: 12
Mithrokk sees the rats sliding and squirming in the oil slick when a mote of fire flies in and sets them alight. "Well-done, elf! Ye must have been a cook or an inquisitor to know how to barbecue like that."
He then decides to attack the rats on Lathalas (in E4)and help him be rid of as many rats as he can.
OOC: Movement from F6 - E6 - D5 to avoid the flaming square and the adjacent oil-doused square. At D5, he makes his attack (rolls as above)
OOC - No, the rats don't get disadvantage passing through the oil, nor will it trigger an attack of opportunity if they do so. I do consider the square as difficult terrain, though.
The much-diminished silver-backed swarm then attacks Lathalas - 18, 2 damage if they hit.
OOC - The rats are with Lathalas in E4. Mithrokk would normally be able to make an attack of opportunity as the rats move away from him, but his Ready Action ate his Reaction for this round.
OOC: Great! so I can still defend Lathalas against attack?
OOC: Huh? I already used Farnakees's power earlier to cancel the big hit on Lathalas. How often can Farnakees do this?
Streaks of magical energy blast the rats on Farnakees, but the party's failure to focus their attacks means both swarms retain more than half their number.
OOC: So you can do this every round? That attack occurred during the last round. If you want, you can tell me if you'll apply it on attacks during this round. The rats attack after Lathalas.
OOC. Yeah, tracking is a bit of hard to follow in play by post. The first use happened when Farnakees was after Farnakees moved to G9, the 2nd would be after the move inside the room which is still the present round...
OOC: Protection is a reaction, so if Farnakees takes an opportunity attack, he can't do protection....
Protection
When a creature you can see attacks a target other than you that is within 5 feet of you, you can use your reaction to impose disadvantage on the attack roll. You must be wielding a shield.
Reactions
Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's. The opportunity attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of reaction.
When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature's turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.
This post has potentially manipulated dice roll results.
OOC - Yup.
The diminished rat swarm attacks Lathalas ...
OOC - I will assume Farnakees is still protecting the elf, so I will roll with Disadvantage. If for some reason he denies the elf his protection, I will keep the higher roll - 9, 4 with a hit.
The remaining rat swarm realizes unconsciously that trying to bring down the mighty goliath may have undone its brothers and sisters. It is determined to avenge them, though.
OOC - Attack 12, 10 damage with a hit.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
OOC: Test dice roll to see if the feature is actually working: 6
OOC: Test combat dice roll to see if the feature is actually working: Attack: 15 Damage: 15
OOC: Seems to be working.
OOC: Redoing the rolls since it somehow didn't work earlier.
Attack: 11
Damage: 12
OOC: HI Mike - How will I be able to use protection ability ever? Since this is play-by-post, monsters can be attacking while I'm off-line. Can people invoke protection from me if I'm away. It's a reaction - so once per turn round.... And only someone beside me.
Alianna throws a Fire Bolt at the remaining silver-backed rats, setting them all aflame!
OOC: Mithrokk, you can keep your attack rolls, but you'll have to target the other rat swarms. Tell me if you're moving towards them (you'll have to avoide the flaming square you created, though).
OOC: With regards to Farnakees's power, I'm still not sure. Normally, reactions occur on your turn or on the enemy's turn when it attacks you. That gives me time to wait for your reaction. This is the first time I've got a character whose reaction can occur when the enemy attacks an ally, not you. More or less, as a general rule, as long as you state the reaction within 24 hours of the enemy's attack, I'll allow your intervention to change it.
OOC: After Rastaris and Mithrokk, Farnakees and Lathalas can act.
Mithrokk sees the rats sliding and squirming in the oil slick when a mote of fire flies in and sets them alight. "Well-done, elf! Ye must have been a cook or an inquisitor to know how to barbecue like that."
He then decides to attack the rats on Lathalas (in E4)and help him be rid of as many rats as he can.
OOC: Movement from F6 - E6 - D5 to avoid the flaming square and the adjacent oil-doused square. At D5, he makes his attack (rolls as above)
Grenfrus = MORN°
Mithrokk's axe chops the heads of a few more rats, but more than half remain.
OOC: Rastaris is next!
As the Rats cover Farnakees, he can tell than Farnakees needs help. Even the largest of fighters may be fallen by the horde of predators.
He incants: "My will take form as missiles of light, Strike down my foes with all my might."
Rastaris casts Magic Missile at the Rats.
Missile One: 5
Missile Two: 5
Missile Three: 4
Three glowing darts of magical force unerringly strike the Rats on Farnakees.
OOC: Great! so I can still defend Lathalas against attack?
OOC: Huh? I already used Farnakees's power earlier to cancel the big hit on Lathalas. How often can Farnakees do this?
Streaks of magical energy blast the rats on Farnakees, but the party's failure to focus their attacks means both swarms retain more than half their number.
OOC: Lathalas is up, followed by my rats.
OOC: that was previous round.... This is after Farnakees moved, (so start of new round, right? since Farnakees starts the round?)
OOC: So you can do this every round? That attack occurred during the last round. If you want, you can tell me if you'll apply it on attacks during this round. The rats attack after Lathalas.
OOC: Do the Rats still go ahead of Alianna during this round? They moved ahead during the last round because Alianna delayed her action.
OOC: Yup, Alliana is after the rats now.
OOC. Yeah, tracking is a bit of hard to follow in play by post. The first use happened when Farnakees was after Farnakees moved to G9, the 2nd would be after the move inside the room which is still the present round...
OOC: Protection is a reaction, so if Farnakees takes an opportunity attack, he can't do protection....
Protection
When a creature you can see attacks a target other than you that is within 5 feet of you, you can use your reaction to impose disadvantage on the attack roll. You must be wielding a shield.
Reactions
Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's. The opportunity attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of reaction.
When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature's turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.
Lathalas attacks the rats that swarm over him.
Shortsword: Attack: 22 Damage: 9
Unarmed Strike: Attack: 21 Damage: 7
OOC: Ok, since Farnakees is hovering so protectively around Lathalas, I'll make a second roll for my earlier attack: 13.
OOC:Sigh, that means the rats missed again. Lathalas is untouched, courtesy of the protection of Farnakees.
OOC: Whose turn is next? The rats?
Farnakees is Lath's best friend.
OOC - Yup.
The diminished rat swarm attacks Lathalas ...
OOC - I will assume Farnakees is still protecting the elf, so I will roll with Disadvantage. If for some reason he denies the elf his protection, I will keep the higher roll - 9, 4 with a hit.
The remaining rat swarm realizes unconsciously that trying to bring down the mighty goliath may have undone its brothers and sisters. It is determined to avenge them, though.
OOC - Attack 12, 10 damage with a hit.