If somone could help me out with their understanding on the rules, would a PC true polymorphing into a creature with legendary action (ie: Sphinx) have access to those legendary actions considering they are now a true version of that creature or does it still count as only assuming the form. My understanding that rule quoted below was in reference to Shapechange which specifically states you do not get legendary actions.
If a creature assumes the form of a legendary creature, such as through a spell, it doesn't gain that form's legendary actions, lair actions, or regional effects.
The rules governing legendary creatures say clearly that you don't get legendary actions if you assume the form of a legendary creature.
There is nothing specific in the true polymorph spell that contradicts that, so that spell doesn't change anything and the above general rule applies.
That the shapechange spell makes specific mention of not getting legendary actions is a redundant mention of the general rule, not evidence that spells not containing redundant mentions of the rules are intended to break the general rule.
Thanks for the assistance peeps, I know the rule I quoted was from an errata. Anyway, that puts a dampener on my plans of being an all powerful beholder!
The rules governing legendary creatures say clearly that you don't get legendary actions if you assume the form of a legendary creature.
There is nothing specific in the true polymorph spell that contradicts that, so that spell doesn't change anything and the above general rule applies.
That the shapechange spell makes specific mention of not getting legendary actions is a redundant mention of the general rule, not evidence that spells not containing redundant mentions of the rules are intended to break the general rule.
I think polymorph is limited to beasts, and so there are no creatures with legendary actions within its CR range and creature restrictions, which is why I think it doesn't mention them
I say that and there is probably that one except out there.
The rules governing legendary creatures say clearly that you don't get legendary actions if you assume the form of a legendary creature.
There is nothing specific in the true polymorph spell that contradicts that, so that spell doesn't change anything and the above general rule applies.
That the shapechange spell makes specific mention of not getting legendary actions is a redundant mention of the general rule, not evidence that spells not containing redundant mentions of the rules are intended to break the general rule.
I think polymorph is limited to beasts, and so there are no creatures with legendary actions within its CR range and creature restrictions, which is why I think it doesn't mention them
I say that and there is probably that one except out there.
Polymorph has only one valid target with legendary actions on Beyond, and it's a third-party supplement.
However, True Polymorph doesn't have such a type limitation.
The rules governing legendary creatures say clearly that you don't get legendary actions if you assume the form of a legendary creature.
There is nothing specific in the true polymorph spell that contradicts that, so that spell doesn't change anything and the above general rule applies.
That the shapechange spell makes specific mention of not getting legendary actions is a redundant mention of the general rule, not evidence that spells not containing redundant mentions of the rules are intended to break the general rule.
I think polymorph is limited to beasts, and so there are no creatures with legendary actions within its CR range and creature restrictions, which is why I think it doesn't mention them
I say that and there is probably that one except out there.
Polymorph has only one valid target with legendary actions on Beyond, and it's a third-party supplement.
However, True Polymorph doesn't have such a type limitation.
Does true polymorph still not include the legendary actions part?
The rules governing legendary creatures say clearly that you don't get legendary actions if you assume the form of a legendary creature.
There is nothing specific in the true polymorph spell that contradicts that, so that spell doesn't change anything and the above general rule applies.
That the shapechange spell makes specific mention of not getting legendary actions is a redundant mention of the general rule, not evidence that spells not containing redundant mentions of the rules are intended to break the general rule.
I think polymorph is limited to beasts, and so there are no creatures with legendary actions within its CR range and creature restrictions, which is why I think it doesn't mention them
I say that and there is probably that one except out there.
Polymorph has only one valid target with legendary actions on Beyond, and it's a third-party supplement.
However, True Polymorph doesn't have such a type limitation.
Does true polymorph still not include the legendary actions part?
Specifically? No. However, this is in the Monster Manual:
"If a creature assumes the form of a legendary creature, such as through a spell, it doesn’t gain that form’s legendary actions, lair actions, or regional effects."
This doesn't specify how a creature assumes the form. So the spell doesn't need the text. Any spell that has it, it's just reminder text.
The rules governing legendary creatures say clearly that you don't get legendary actions if you assume the form of a legendary creature.
There is nothing specific in the true polymorph spell that contradicts that, so that spell doesn't change anything and the above general rule applies.
That the shapechange spell makes specific mention of not getting legendary actions is a redundant mention of the general rule, not evidence that spells not containing redundant mentions of the rules are intended to break the general rule.
I think polymorph is limited to beasts, and so there are no creatures with legendary actions within its CR range and creature restrictions, which is why I think it doesn't mention them
I say that and there is probably that one except out there.
Polymorph has only one valid target with legendary actions on Beyond, and it's a third-party supplement.
However, True Polymorph doesn't have such a type limitation.
Does true polymorph still not include the legendary actions part?
Specifically? No. However, this is in the Monster Manual:
"If a creature assumes the form of a legendary creature, such as through a spell, it doesn’t gain that form’s legendary actions, lair actions, or regional effects."
This doesn't specify how a creature assumes the form. So the spell doesn't need the text. Any spell that has it, it's just reminder text.
Exactly that.
In fact, the thread was resurrected and I don't know why yet :D The answer was already given by @AaronOfBarbariain 2017 :D
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If somone could help me out with their understanding on the rules, would a PC true polymorphing into a creature with legendary action (ie: Sphinx) have access to those legendary actions considering they are now a true version of that creature or does it still count as only assuming the form. My understanding that rule quoted below was in reference to Shapechange which specifically states you do not get legendary actions.
You have a good point. In the spell description there is no mention to the legendary actions, whether the polymorphic creature can use it or not.
As a DM, I would say no, for the same reasons they are not allowed using Shapechange.
The rules governing legendary creatures say clearly that you don't get legendary actions if you assume the form of a legendary creature.
There is nothing specific in the true polymorph spell that contradicts that, so that spell doesn't change anything and the above general rule applies.
That the shapechange spell makes specific mention of not getting legendary actions is a redundant mention of the general rule, not evidence that spells not containing redundant mentions of the rules are intended to break the general rule.
Thanks for the assistance peeps, I know the rule I quoted was from an errata. Anyway, that puts a dampener on my plans of being an all powerful beholder!
I think polymorph is limited to beasts, and so there are no creatures with legendary actions within its CR range and creature restrictions, which is why I think it doesn't mention them
I say that and there is probably that one except out there.
Polymorph has only one valid target with legendary actions on Beyond, and it's a third-party supplement.
However, True Polymorph doesn't have such a type limitation.
Does true polymorph still not include the legendary actions part?
Specifically? No. However, this is in the Monster Manual:
"If a creature assumes the form of a legendary creature, such as through a spell, it doesn’t gain that form’s legendary actions, lair actions, or regional effects."
This doesn't specify how a creature assumes the form. So the spell doesn't need the text. Any spell that has it, it's just reminder text.
Exactly that.
In fact, the thread was resurrected and I don't know why yet :D The answer was already given by @AaronOfBarbaria in 2017 :D