"Nothing prevent a reaction to be taken on your turn"
Say it is round 1 of melee and you go last. You use your reaction during an opponents turn (say an OA) that happened before your turn during round 1. Can you still take a Reaction on your turn? Doesn't this violate the rule about only having 1 Reaction per round/turn?
"Nothing prevent a reaction to be taken on your turn"
Say it is round 1 of melee and you go last. You use your reaction during an opponents turn (say an OA) that happened before your turn during round 1. Can you still take a Reaction on your turn? Doesn't this violate the rule about only having 1 Reaction per round/turn?
As I said in the other thread — there isn't a rule about only having one reaction per round. The rule is that once you use a reaction, you can't use another reaction until the start of your next turn.
"Nothing prevent a reaction to be taken on your turn"
Say it is round 1 of melee and you go last. You use your reaction during an opponents turn (say an OA) that happened before your turn during round 1. Can you still take a Reaction on your turn? Doesn't this violate the rule about only having 1 Reaction per round/turn?
Yes you can take another Reaction because the start of your next turn came up.
"Nothing prevent a reaction to be taken on your turn"
Say it is round 1 of melee and you go last. You use your reaction during an opponents turn (say an OA) that happened before your turn during round 1. Can you still take a Reaction on your turn? Doesn't this violate the rule about only having 1 Reaction per round/turn?
In addition to the answers already given, here are some replies from a related thread that might help you understand how it works as well:
Technically you can, because Reactions are defined as follows:
A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reaction’s description. You can take a Reaction on another creature’s turn [...] Once you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. [...]
So you could take a Reaction right before your turn (on another creature's turn), on your turn, or right after it (on another creature's turn).
A Reaction resets at the start of your next turn, but it's not about the rounds, really.
Can a rogue use Sneak Attack more than once per round?
The Sneak Attack description specifies that you can use the feature once per turn, but it’s not limited to your turn. The feature also doesn’t limit the number of times you can use it in a round.
You sometimes get a chance to use Sneak Attack on someone else’s turn. The most common way for this to happen is when a foe provokes an opportunity attack from you. If the requirements for Sneak Attack are met, your opportunity attack can benefit from that feature. Similarly, a fighter could use Commander’s Strike to grant you an attack on the fighter’s turn, and if the attack qualifies, it can use Sneak Attack. Both of those options rely on the use of your reaction, so you could do only one of them in a round.
Because you get only one reaction per round, you’re unlikely to use Sneak Attack more than twice in a round: once with your action and once with your reaction.
Can a rogue use Sneak Attack more than once per round?
The Sneak Attack description specifies that you can use the feature once per turn, but it’s not limited to your turn. The feature also doesn’t limit the number of times you can use it in a round.
You sometimes get a chance to use Sneak Attack on someone else’s turn. The most common way for this to happen is when a foe provokes an opportunity attack from you. If the requirements for Sneak Attack are met, your opportunity attack can benefit from that feature. Similarly, a fighter could use Commander’s Strike to grant you an attack on the fighter’s turn, and if the attack qualifies, it can use Sneak Attack. Both of those options rely on the use of your reaction, so you could do only one of them in a round.
Because you get only one reaction per round, you’re unlikely to use Sneak Attack more than twice in a round: once with your action and once with your reaction.
Yeah, as I mentioned in the other thread, people do sometimes use that as a shorthand because it's close to true, which is what Sage Advice is doing here.
Can a rogue use Sneak Attack more than once per round?
The Sneak Attack description specifies that you can use the feature once per turn, but it’s not limited to your turn. The feature also doesn’t limit the number of times you can use it in a round.
You sometimes get a chance to use Sneak Attack on someone else’s turn. The most common way for this to happen is when a foe provokes an opportunity attack from you. If the requirements for Sneak Attack are met, your opportunity attack can benefit from that feature. Similarly, a fighter could use Commander’s Strike to grant you an attack on the fighter’s turn, and if the attack qualifies, it can use Sneak Attack. Both of those options rely on the use of your reaction, so you could do only one of them in a round.
Because you get only one reaction per round, you’re unlikely to use Sneak Attack more than twice in a round: once with your action and once with your reaction.
Yeah, as I mentioned in the other thread, people do sometimes use that as a shorthand because it's close to true, which is what Sage Advice is doing here.
It is close to true in the objective sense that a round consists of all participants in a combat resolving their turns. However, that is not really relevant from an individual character's perspective. A round from a character's perspective is going to be measured from the start of their turn to the start of their next turn or end to end. As such, the Sage Advice is fully correct, from that perspective. A spell cast by a combatant that lasts 10 rounds doesn't end on the top or bottom of a round. It is going to end at the start or end of the caster's turn.
It is close to true in the objective sense that a round consists of all participants in a combat resolving their turns. However, that is not really relevant from an individual character's perspective. A round from a character's perspective is going to be measured from the start of their turn to the start of their next turn or end to end. As such, the Sage Advice is fully correct, from that perspective. A spell cast by a combatant that lasts 10 rounds doesn't end on the top or bottom of a round. It is going to end at the start or end of the caster's turn.
Yea but that is a perspective that's irrelevant because the game defines "Round" from the perspective of all participants.
It is close to true in the objective sense that a round consists of all participants in a combat resolving their turns. However, that is not really relevant from an individual character's perspective. A round from a character's perspective is going to be measured from the start of their turn to the start of their next turn or end to end. As such, the Sage Advice is fully correct, from that perspective. A spell cast by a combatant that lasts 10 rounds doesn't end on the top or bottom of a round. It is going to end at the start or end of the caster's turn.
Yea but that is a perspective that's irrelevant because the game defines "Round" from the perspective of all participants.
Not in terms of durations based on a character. For a character, a round is measured from their turn to the next, not in the perspective of all participants.
haha I feel like the 2024 rule is a lot more straightforward 😀
I mean, that's a very good thing, but not something that gets much benefit from a helpful homemade chart
"Not all those who wander are lost"
"Nothing prevent a reaction to be taken on your turn"
Say it is round 1 of melee and you go last. You use your reaction during an opponents turn (say an OA) that happened before your turn during round 1. Can you still take a Reaction on your turn? Doesn't this violate the rule about only having 1 Reaction per round/turn?
As I said in the other thread — there isn't a rule about only having one reaction per round. The rule is that once you use a reaction, you can't use another reaction until the start of your next turn.
pronouns: he/she/they
Yes you can take another Reaction because the start of your next turn came up.
In addition to the answers already given, here are some replies from a related thread that might help you understand how it works as well:
Some confusion i believe was caused by this Sage Advice 2014 Q&A Can a rogue use Sneak Attack more than once per round?
Yeah, as I mentioned in the other thread, people do sometimes use that as a shorthand because it's close to true, which is what Sage Advice is doing here.
pronouns: he/she/they
It is close to true in the objective sense that a round consists of all participants in a combat resolving their turns. However, that is not really relevant from an individual character's perspective. A round from a character's perspective is going to be measured from the start of their turn to the start of their next turn or end to end. As such, the Sage Advice is fully correct, from that perspective. A spell cast by a combatant that lasts 10 rounds doesn't end on the top or bottom of a round. It is going to end at the start or end of the caster's turn.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
Yea but that is a perspective that's irrelevant because the game defines "Round" from the perspective of all participants.
Not in terms of durations based on a character. For a character, a round is measured from their turn to the next, not in the perspective of all participants.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.