Per the PHB rules on Flying Movement if a create with a fly speed has their speed reduced to 0 (among other conditions) they will fall unless they have the ability to hover or are otherwise magically being held aloft. So the Amethyst Dragon would hover in place and the Blue Dragon would fall to the ground.
As for would the fall take the entire dragon's turn it again depends. If we just go by the PHB rules then the dragon falls all the way to the ground regardless of how high up they are immediately and instantly. The PHB rules do not limit the fall distance or say the fall takes any length of time. Xanathar's Guide to Everything expands on the Falling rules and tells us that if a creature falls they immediately descend up to 500 ft. Then at the end of the creatures turn if they are still falling the continue to descend 500ft until they stop falling.
So if you readied Hypnotic Pattern and cast it on the Blue Dragon when it was immediately overhead and they failed their save they would fall and land right next to you and take the appropriate fall damage. If the dragon takes any damage as a result of the fall this then ends Hypnotic Pattern and they would have any remaining actions available to them.
so if im understanding correctly so on its turn it would drop to the ground assume it takes damage than be able to do its normal actions? i thought maybe because it starts its turn then falls might not get its actions since its incapacitated
so if im understanding correctly so on its turn it would drop to the ground assume it takes damage than be able to do its normal actions? i thought maybe because it starts its turn then falls might not get its actions since its incapacitated
I don't think it would even wait until its turn to drop. It would fall immediately, take the damage, and the spell would end, all before its turn even came up. Depending on the height, it could be worth it to get some damage in.
so if im understanding correctly so on its turn it would drop to the ground assume it takes damage than be able to do its normal actions? i thought maybe because it starts its turn then falls might not get its actions since its incapacitated
I don't think it would even wait until its turn to drop. It would fall immediately, take the damage, and the spell would end, all before its turn even came up. Depending on the height, it could be worth it to get some damage in.
Saga is correct, if you cast Hypnotic Pattern on your turn and the white dragon fails its save it falls immediately. This is all on your turn and if the dragon takes damage from the fall then the effect of Hypnotic Pattern ends. On the dragon's turn they are still Prone from the fall but otherwise are able to act however they wish.
The only way the fall takes up any amount of time is if you are using the Xanathar's falling ruls and if the dragon is more than 500ft up. Since the range of Hypnotic Pattern is 120ft you would need to be a fair ways up yourself before this would be possible.
Yep. Spell only does what it says it does. Effects only do what they say they do. Never try to read other things into spells or effects.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I just wanted to make sure im understanding correctly
if im fighting a dragon and i cast Hypnotic Pattern while hes flying and he doesnt use a legendary resistance and fails his save.
I assume he would crash to the ground since hes incapacitated.
My question is the dragon crashing into the ground take the dragons entire turn?
The answer is, as it is in most things, it depends.
An Adult Amethyst Dragon has a fly speed of 80ft. (hover) while an Adult Blue Dragon has a fly speed of 80ft.
Per the PHB rules on Flying Movement if a create with a fly speed has their speed reduced to 0 (among other conditions) they will fall unless they have the ability to hover or are otherwise magically being held aloft. So the Amethyst Dragon would hover in place and the Blue Dragon would fall to the ground.
As for would the fall take the entire dragon's turn it again depends. If we just go by the PHB rules then the dragon falls all the way to the ground regardless of how high up they are immediately and instantly. The PHB rules do not limit the fall distance or say the fall takes any length of time. Xanathar's Guide to Everything expands on the Falling rules and tells us that if a creature falls they immediately descend up to 500 ft. Then at the end of the creatures turn if they are still falling the continue to descend 500ft until they stop falling.
So if you readied Hypnotic Pattern and cast it on the Blue Dragon when it was immediately overhead and they failed their save they would fall and land right next to you and take the appropriate fall damage. If the dragon takes any damage as a result of the fall this then ends Hypnotic Pattern and they would have any remaining actions available to them.
its a adult white dragon
so if im understanding correctly so on its turn it would drop to the ground assume it takes damage than be able to do its normal actions? i thought maybe because it starts its turn then falls might not get its actions since its incapacitated
I don't think it would even wait until its turn to drop. It would fall immediately, take the damage, and the spell would end, all before its turn even came up. Depending on the height, it could be worth it to get some damage in.
Saga is correct, if you cast Hypnotic Pattern on your turn and the white dragon fails its save it falls immediately. This is all on your turn and if the dragon takes damage from the fall then the effect of Hypnotic Pattern ends. On the dragon's turn they are still Prone from the fall but otherwise are able to act however they wish.
The only way the fall takes up any amount of time is if you are using the Xanathar's falling ruls and if the dragon is more than 500ft up. Since the range of Hypnotic Pattern is 120ft you would need to be a fair ways up yourself before this would be possible.
Thanks for the info Fangeye and Saga, got 2 white dragons in a few sessions and as the war wizard im working on what spell list im going to take
Yep. Spell only does what it says it does. Effects only do what they say they do. Never try to read other things into spells or effects.
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.