#1. If the character uses their bonus action to attack (like the monk's martial arts or rogue's sneak attack) does it require them to roll another d20 to determine hit or miss?
#2. Are bonus (attack) actions treated the same as the normal (attack) action? To be more specific, do we add the damage modifiers when rolling to determine damage for the bonus (attack) action?
1.) All attacks require an Attack Roll or a DC Save, regardless of what type of action sequence it is part of. If there is a ruling to this otherwise, I have genuinely not seen it come up. Contests of hit-or-miss are determined by Ability Scores and Armor Class, so unless you're simply being allowed to hit a creature or object then you must make a roll against them/it.
2.) That depends on the nature of the attack itself E.G. Offhand Attacks, Martial Arts Unarmed Strikes, Polearm Master, etc. etc. They all have different ruling which fall under the same umbrella; you make an attack roll to see if you hit, then if you hit you apply that formula detailed by the feature to determine damage. There are details pertaining to bonus actions and modifiers which overwrite the general rule for bonus (attack) actions. I have personally never rolled a bonus action attack and not added some kind of modifier if the feature explicitly states I have one available to me. Otherwise a DM will determine that you can make a bonus (attack) action and whether or not you should or are allowed to use a modifier for damage.
1. If you make an Attack with your Bonus action - such as with two-weapon fighting or monks Martial Arts - you do indeed need to do an Attack roll. It's an attack, not part of the same attack. That said, you mentioned Sneak Attack; Sneak Attack is not itself an Attack, but is extra damage added onto a successful attack in certain circumstances. You do not roll an attack roll to hit with it, as it is just extra damage on top of an already successful hit.
2. Depends on the Bonus Action. Any and all attacks add at least your Ability Modifier on the Attack Roll, and if you're proficient with the weapon/form of attack you also add your Proficiency Bonus. The Damage Roll is a different story. The most common type of Bonus Action Attack, two-weapon fighting, does not allow you to add your Ability Modifier to the damage roll. You simply roll the weapons damage die and don't add anything to it, unless you have something like the Fighter or Rangers Two-Weapon fighting style.
Yes, with Martial Arts you add your damage modifier to the damage roll. Just pay close attention what the rules say to do, and what not to do.
Two-Weapon fighting clearly states: You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.
Monk Martial Arts clearly states: When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. For example, if you take the Attack action and attack with a quarterstaff, you can also make an unarmed strike as a bonus action, assuming you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn.
You will see that while for Martial Arts the Bonus Action attack has to be an unarmed strike (can't use a weapon to attack) it does not specify to not add your ability modifier. Two-weapon fighting does.
#1. If the character uses their bonus action to attack (like the monk's martial arts or rogue's sneak attack) does it require them to roll another d20 to determine hit or miss?
#2. Are bonus (attack) actions treated the same as the normal (attack) action? To be more specific, do we add the damage modifiers when rolling to determine damage for the bonus (attack) action?
Always remember, follow the General Rule unless a Specific Rule overrides it.
1) Separate attack, separate attack roll unless stated otherwise by whatever ability you're making use of. I don't think I've ever seen a case where you can make more than one attack off the same attack roll.
2) By bonus attack action, I assume you mean an attack made as a Bonus Action, and not an additional Attack action such as with Action Surge? Weapon attacks add the ability modifier of your attack stat to the damage roll by default. The Bonus Action attack granted by the Two-Weapon Fighting rule says you don't add the ability modifier to the damage, because it's an exception to the normal rule for weapon attack damage rolls. If you're making an attack as a Bonus Action due to some other spell, ability etc. then the attack follows the normal rules for rolling damage on a weapon attack unless explicitly stated otherwise. A LOT of people mistakenly believe that it's because the attack was made as a Bonus Action that it doesn't get the modifier added to the damage, but that's not the case. It's because of the Two-Weapon Fighting rule.
All weapon attacks require an attack roll (d20+modifiers) and do the weapon damage plus modifiers unless otherwise stated (for example: the 2 weapon fighting rules say they dont add modifier to damage, monk martial Arts are just normal attacks).
Bonus action attacks are an attack, but not an attack action.
And rogue sneak attack does not use the bonus action, I'm not sure what you are talking about with that.
Bigger question at level 5 monk you get extra attack which allows you to make 2 regular attacks are you then allowed to make 1 bonus attack for each regular attack?
Bigger question at level 5 monk you get extra attack which allows you to make 2 regular attacks are you then allowed to make 1 bonus attack for each regular attack?
No. You get one bonus attack because you only have 1 bonus action. You can get two attacks for your bonus action as a Monk - but you have to spend 1 Ki point to do it with Flurry of Blows.
Bigger question at level 5 monk you get extra attack which allows you to make 2 regular attacks are you then allowed to make 1 bonus attack for each regular attack?
The bonus action can only be used once during your turn.
Bigger question at level 5 monk you get extra attack which allows you to make 2 regular attacks are you then allowed to make 1 bonus attack for each regular attack?
Emmber & BK answered your question about bonus attacks, but the real issue you need addressed is how Extra Attack actually works. It doesn't give you two actions to make an attack with; it gives you the ability to make two attacks with your one action, and only when you take the Attack action itself.
That's important because while you do only have a max of one bonus action used per turn, the Martial Arts bonus action triggers on taking the Attack action, not the attack(s) actually made with the action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
So with Polearm Master, if I attack with my glaive and use my bonus action to attack with the bottom end of my weapon, do I roll separate d20's? Theoretically, can I miss with my main attack and hit with my bonus action or visa versa, or completely miss with both attacks?
So with Polearm Master, if I attack with my glaive and use my bonus action to attack with the bottom end of my weapon, do I roll separate d20's? Theoretically, can I miss with my main attack and hit with my bonus action or visa versa, or completely miss with both attacks?
Yes, two separate d20's and yes, you can hit with both, hit with neither or hit with one but not the other.
So with Polearm Master, if I attack with my glaive and use my bonus action to attack with the bottom end of my weapon, do I roll separate d20's? Theoretically, can I miss with my main attack and hit with my bonus action or visa versa, or completely miss with both attacks?
Yes, two separate d20's and yes, you can hit with both, hit with neither or hit with one but not the other.
#1. If the character uses their bonus action to attack (like the monk's martial arts or rogue's sneak attack) does it require them to roll another d20 to determine hit or miss?
#2. Are bonus (attack) actions treated the same as the normal (attack) action? To be more specific, do we add the damage modifiers when rolling to determine damage for the bonus (attack) action?
1.) All attacks require an Attack Roll or a DC Save, regardless of what type of action sequence it is part of. If there is a ruling to this otherwise, I have genuinely not seen it come up. Contests of hit-or-miss are determined by Ability Scores and Armor Class, so unless you're simply being allowed to hit a creature or object then you must make a roll against them/it.
2.) That depends on the nature of the attack itself E.G. Offhand Attacks, Martial Arts Unarmed Strikes, Polearm Master, etc. etc. They all have different ruling which fall under the same umbrella; you make an attack roll to see if you hit, then if you hit you apply that formula detailed by the feature to determine damage. There are details pertaining to bonus actions and modifiers which overwrite the general rule for bonus (attack) actions. I have personally never rolled a bonus action attack and not added some kind of modifier if the feature explicitly states I have one available to me. Otherwise a DM will determine that you can make a bonus (attack) action and whether or not you should or are allowed to use a modifier for damage.
Loading...
Watch DnD Shorts on youtube.
Chief Innovationist, Acquisitions Inc. The Series 2
Successfully completed the Tomb of Horrors module (as part of playing Tomb of Annihilation) with no party deaths!
1. If you make an Attack with your Bonus action - such as with two-weapon fighting or monks Martial Arts - you do indeed need to do an Attack roll. It's an attack, not part of the same attack. That said, you mentioned Sneak Attack; Sneak Attack is not itself an Attack, but is extra damage added onto a successful attack in certain circumstances. You do not roll an attack roll to hit with it, as it is just extra damage on top of an already successful hit.
2. Depends on the Bonus Action. Any and all attacks add at least your Ability Modifier on the Attack Roll, and if you're proficient with the weapon/form of attack you also add your Proficiency Bonus. The Damage Roll is a different story. The most common type of Bonus Action Attack, two-weapon fighting, does not allow you to add your Ability Modifier to the damage roll. You simply roll the weapons damage die and don't add anything to it, unless you have something like the Fighter or Rangers Two-Weapon fighting style.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/combat#TwoWeaponFighting
So would the Monk's martial arts feature allow for one to add any damage modifiers to the damage roll?
Yes, with Martial Arts you add your damage modifier to the damage roll. Just pay close attention what the rules say to do, and what not to do.
Two-Weapon fighting clearly states: You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.
Monk Martial Arts clearly states: When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. For example, if you take the Attack action and attack with a quarterstaff, you can also make an unarmed strike as a bonus action, assuming you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn.
You will see that while for Martial Arts the Bonus Action attack has to be an unarmed strike (can't use a weapon to attack) it does not specify to not add your ability modifier. Two-weapon fighting does.
Always remember, follow the General Rule unless a Specific Rule overrides it.
1) Separate attack, separate attack roll unless stated otherwise by whatever ability you're making use of. I don't think I've ever seen a case where you can make more than one attack off the same attack roll.
2) By bonus attack action, I assume you mean an attack made as a Bonus Action, and not an additional Attack action such as with Action Surge? Weapon attacks add the ability modifier of your attack stat to the damage roll by default. The Bonus Action attack granted by the Two-Weapon Fighting rule says you don't add the ability modifier to the damage, because it's an exception to the normal rule for weapon attack damage rolls. If you're making an attack as a Bonus Action due to some other spell, ability etc. then the attack follows the normal rules for rolling damage on a weapon attack unless explicitly stated otherwise. A LOT of people mistakenly believe that it's because the attack was made as a Bonus Action that it doesn't get the modifier added to the damage, but that's not the case. It's because of the Two-Weapon Fighting rule.
All weapon attacks require an attack roll (d20+modifiers) and do the weapon damage plus modifiers unless otherwise stated (for example: the 2 weapon fighting rules say they dont add modifier to damage, monk martial Arts are just normal attacks).
Bonus action attacks are an attack, but not an attack action.
And rogue sneak attack does not use the bonus action, I'm not sure what you are talking about with that.
Bigger question at level 5 monk you get extra attack which allows you to make 2 regular attacks are you then allowed to make 1 bonus attack for each regular attack?
No. You get one bonus attack because you only have 1 bonus action. You can get two attacks for your bonus action as a Monk - but you have to spend 1 Ki point to do it with Flurry of Blows.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
The bonus action can only be used once during your turn.
Emmber & BK answered your question about bonus attacks, but the real issue you need addressed is how Extra Attack actually works. It doesn't give you two actions to make an attack with; it gives you the ability to make two attacks with your one action, and only when you take the Attack action itself.
That's important because while you do only have a max of one bonus action used per turn, the Martial Arts bonus action triggers on taking the Attack action, not the attack(s) actually made with the action.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
So a quick question in regards to the bonus action attack that Eldritch knight gets at level 7 does that bonus action attack add modifiers?
It does.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Yes. As a general rule all weapon attacks add damage modifiers.
The two weapon fighting bonus action is a specific case that doesn't.
So with Polearm Master, if I attack with my glaive and use my bonus action to attack with the bottom end of my weapon, do I roll separate d20's? Theoretically, can I miss with my main attack and hit with my bonus action or visa versa, or completely miss with both attacks?
Yes, two separate d20's and yes, you can hit with both, hit with neither or hit with one but not the other.
All weapon attacks require their own attack roll unless otherwise stated.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Thanks!
Different question if I used a bonus action to dodge would I have to roll for it?
No roll is necessary to dodge.
"Not all those who wander are lost"