Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target's speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
Granted the wording of haste can be interpreted differently among GMs. The line, "That action can be used only to take the Attack", is pretty broad term. And I interpret "(one weapon attack only)" as for those that have multi-attacks that they can attack one more time. And not get an extra three attacks in a round. While the magic user types can't cast a 2nd spell during their turn unless it is a cantrip bonus action. But haste gives the user an extra attack action. Just because of that wording, I would view that a hasted magic user could use that extra attack action to use, at the most, an attack cantrip. If that "one weapon attack only" was not in parenthesis, then I would not have that interpretation.
As Inquisitive Coder says above, Haste is very clear to the action types it allows.
Its exact phrasing is just a compacted form, that can be expanded to be read as such: "...take the Attack action (one weapon attack only), Dash action, Disengage action, Hide action, or Use an Object action."
Each of those action types are clearly defined in the Player's Handbook (page 192, or here). The "Cast a Spell" action is not included in Haste's wording (and the Attack action has the caveat that it can perform more than one attacks, such as allowed by the Extra Attack trait), so a caster under the effects of haste can't use that additional action to cast a spell, even a Cantrip.
While the magic user types can't cast a 2nd spell during their turn unless it is a cantrip bonus action.
This is not true either. The rules only state that when you use a bonus action to cast a spell (the condition that matters, spell being cantrip or slotted) you can't also use an action to cast a slotted spell. So something like the fighter's action surge ability will grant you two different actions, both of which you are free to cast whatever you want with, provided you haven't casted a spell with a bonus action. Also you can cast a slotted with a bonus action then cantrip with action but can't cast a slotted spell with action and then cantrip with a bonus action and can't cast a cantrip with bonus action and then slotted spell with an action. And to go back to action surge, if you casted a spell with a bonus action, slotted or cantrip, you will only be allowed to cast cantrips with any and all other actions you have.
"A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action." https://www.xanthir.com/b4tZ0
So I'm beginning to question the logic behind not being able to cast a 2nd spell with the hasted attack action. The only source I've found that expresses limiting the number of spells cast in a turn is regarding bonus action spells, which only permit casting a cantrip as your action. Haste gives you an extra attack action. "Making an attack" as part of the attack action is defined as "Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or MAKING AN ATTACK ROLL as part of a spell, an attack has a simple structure. So as long as the extra action is an attack spell you should be able to cast it.
Please do not resurrect an old thread without providing new or relevant information; if you wish to continue this discussion, I encourage you to create a new thread.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Granted the wording of haste can be interpreted differently among GMs. The line, "That action can be used only to take the Attack", is pretty broad term. And I interpret "(one weapon attack only)" as for those that have multi-attacks that they can attack one more time. And not get an extra three attacks in a round. While the magic user types can't cast a 2nd spell during their turn unless it is a cantrip bonus action. But haste gives the user an extra attack action. Just because of that wording, I would view that a hasted magic user could use that extra attack action to use, at the most, an attack cantrip. If that "one weapon attack only" was not in parenthesis, then I would not have that interpretation.
Casting a spell uses the Cast A Spell action. That's not one of the options Haste provides.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
As Inquisitive Coder says above, Haste is very clear to the action types it allows.
Its exact phrasing is just a compacted form, that can be expanded to be read as such:
"...take the Attack action (one weapon attack only), Dash action, Disengage action, Hide action, or Use an Object action."
Each of those action types are clearly defined in the Player's Handbook (page 192, or here). The "Cast a Spell" action is not included in Haste's wording (and the Attack action has the caveat that it can perform more than one attacks, such as allowed by the Extra Attack trait), so a caster under the effects of haste can't use that additional action to cast a spell, even a Cantrip.
This is not true either. The rules only state that when you use a bonus action to cast a spell (the condition that matters, spell being cantrip or slotted) you can't also use an action to cast a slotted spell. So something like the fighter's action surge ability will grant you two different actions, both of which you are free to cast whatever you want with, provided you haven't casted a spell with a bonus action. Also you can cast a slotted with a bonus action then cantrip with action but can't cast a slotted spell with action and then cantrip with a bonus action and can't cast a cantrip with bonus action and then slotted spell with an action. And to go back to action surge, if you casted a spell with a bonus action, slotted or cantrip, you will only be allowed to cast cantrips with any and all other actions you have.
"A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action."
https://www.xanthir.com/b4tZ0
what i can see is that a DM can allow to cast spells with haste when the character has the warcaster feat. would make sence
As a caster, staying at range is beneficial. Use you doubled movement with Dash and Disengage to enemy kite and rarely take damage.
So I'm beginning to question the logic behind not being able to cast a 2nd spell with the hasted attack action. The only source I've found that expresses limiting the number of spells cast in a turn is regarding bonus action spells, which only permit casting a cantrip as your action. Haste gives you an extra attack action. "Making an attack" as part of the attack action is defined as "Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or MAKING AN ATTACK ROLL as part of a spell, an attack has a simple structure. So as long as the extra action is an attack spell you should be able to cast it.
Please do not resurrect an old thread without providing new or relevant information; if you wish to continue this discussion, I encourage you to create a new thread.