I asked myself that question. Then I asked myself what the question had to do with what I said. I had no answer to the second question.
Each item does what it says, right? One allows you to use charges to cast spells. One allows you to use charges to exchange prepared spells. Both require a charge to do the thing.
Ok so, can a 3rd level wizard prepare a 4th level spell?
if the ability to prepare spells is limited to wizards by way of level, how can one “hot swap” and use a spell they can’t even prepare?
Read what the item does again.
It doesn't tell you to "follow your class spellcasting rules to prepare on of the spells within it."
Does it? No.
It says: "replace one of your prepared wizard spells with a different spell in the book. The new spell must be of the evocation school."
You REPLACE one of your already prepared spells with a spell from the item. That's it. Is it one of the spells in the item? Yes? You replace it.
It does have one listed requirement. That the spell be evocation. Not "of a level of which you can prepare". No no. Just that the school needs to be evocation.
FULMINATING TREATISE Wondrous item, rare (requires attunement by a wizard), It functions as a spell book for you. While you are holding the book, you can use it as a spellcasting focus for your wizard spells.
that alone imparts the restraining use of “hot swapping” to only prepared spells, ( the book literally becomes your favorite spell book, and can hold more than what is already available, by way of personal additions, so balance is maintained by limiting your ability to cast a spell you can’t yet prepare )
There is no such restriction listed in anything you're quoting. Did you forget to include it?
That is the question. A third level wizard with a staff of fire can cast wall of fire. A third level wizard with 8 levels in cleric can upcast a magic missile to 6th level.
and spend a charge to add 2d6 force damage per dart of MM, and knock prone. fair trade for a wizard that can only “hot swap” spells they can only prepare.
No such restriction exists. If you believe otherwise please provide the rules text stating as much.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
You could certainly argue either. Are you precluded from having a spell prepared that you wouldn’t be able to prepare yourself? Remember that was my original question.
FULMINATING TREATISE Wondrous item, rare (requires attunement by a wizard), It functions as a spell book for you. While you are holding the book, you can use it as a spellcasting focus for your wizard spells.
that alone imparts the restraining use of “hot swapping” to only prepared spells, ( the book literally becomes your favorite spell book, and can hold more than what is already available, by way of personal additions, so balance is maintained by limiting your ability to cast a spell you can’t yet prepare )
There is no such restriction listed in anything you're quoting. Did you forget to include it?
That is the question. A third level wizard with a staff of fire can cast wall of fire. A third level wizard with 8 levels in cleric can upcast a magic missile to 6th level.
and spend a charge to add 2d6 force damage per dart of MM, and knock prone. fair trade for a wizard that can only “hot swap” spells they can only prepare.
No such restriction exists. If you believe otherwise please provide the rules text stating as much.
I feel as if something is trying to rehash old arguments and currently debating in bad faith, we both know what intention's are implied, ability to over-extend rules and find ways to misinterpret RAW.
I’ve stated the reason, the logic, and the ability to view my response to the OP of the topic in whatever way anyone is free to do so.
Rule as you wish, RAW is plain as day: swap spell you have prepared with one in the book, wizards can only prepare spells according to the wizard class rules, but hey it’s only a game, with rules.
FULMINATING TREATISE Wondrous item, rare (requires attunement by a wizard), It functions as a spell book for you. While you are holding the book, you can use it as a spellcasting focus for your wizard spells.
that alone imparts the restraining use of “hot swapping” to only prepared spells, ( the book literally becomes your favorite spell book, and can hold more than what is already available, by way of personal additions, so balance is maintained by limiting your ability to cast a spell you can’t yet prepare )
There is no such restriction listed in anything you're quoting. Did you forget to include it?
That is the question. A third level wizard with a staff of fire can cast wall of fire. A third level wizard with 8 levels in cleric can upcast a magic missile to 6th level.
and spend a charge to add 2d6 force damage per dart of MM, and knock prone. fair trade for a wizard that can only “hot swap” spells they can only prepare.
No such restriction exists. If you believe otherwise please provide the rules text stating as much.
I feel as if something is trying to rehash old arguments and currently debating in bad faith, we both know what intention's are implied, ability to over-extend rules and find ways to misinterpret RAW.
I’ve stated the reason, the logic, and the ability to view my response to the OP of the topic in whatever way anyone is free to do so.
Not really sure what you're gesturing at with any of this. If you have something specific in mind you're going to need to be more precise. Otherwise it might do us all good to brush up on the forum rules. Though, I'm sure neither of us is trying to imply anything derogatory.
Rule as you wish, RAW is plain as day: swap spell you have prepared with one in the book, wizards can only prepare spells according to the wizard class rules, but hey it’s only a game, with rules.
So you agree. Prepare a magic missile. Then swap it for a fireball. As a wizard 3 you can do this no problem. Now, if you're ONLY a wizard 3 that's sorta a dumb thing to do, since you have no 3rd level spell slots. But a wiz3/x2+? Maybe you have a reason to do it.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
FULMINATING TREATISE Wondrous item, rare (requires attunement by a wizard), It functions as a spell book for you. While you are holding the book, you can use it as a spellcasting focus for your wizard spells.
that alone imparts the restraining use of “hot swapping” to only prepared spells, ( the book literally becomes your favorite spell book, and can hold more than what is already available, by way of personal additions, so balance is maintained by limiting your ability to cast a spell you can’t yet prepare )
There is no such restriction listed in anything you're quoting. Did you forget to include it?
That is the question. A third level wizard with a staff of fire can cast wall of fire. A third level wizard with 8 levels in cleric can upcast a magic missile to 6th level.
and spend a charge to add 2d6 force damage per dart of MM, and knock prone. fair trade for a wizard that can only “hot swap” spells they can only prepare.
No such restriction exists. If you believe otherwise please provide the rules text stating as much.
I feel as if something is trying to rehash old arguments and currently debating in bad faith, we both know what intention's are implied, ability to over-extend rules and find ways to misinterpret RAW.
I’ve stated the reason, the logic, and the ability to view my response to the OP of the topic in whatever way anyone is free to do so.
Not really sure what you're gesturing at with any of this. If you have something specific in mind you're going to need to be more precise. Otherwise it might do us all good to brush up on the forum rules. Though, I'm sure neither of us is trying to imply anything derogatory.
Rule as you wish, RAW is plain as day: swap spell you have prepared with one in the book, wizards can only prepare spells according to the wizard class rules, but hey it’s only a game, with rules.
So you agree. Prepare a magic missile. Then swap it for a fireball. As a wizard 3 you can do this no problem. Now, if you're ONLY a wizard 3 that's sorta a dumb thing to do, since you have no 3rd level spell slots. But a wiz3/x2+? Maybe you have a reason to do it.
So it’s the Hard Way.
say Rav, how the hell can a level 3 wizard prepare a fireball?
You cannot prepare a spell you cannot cast, and cannot cast spells higher than indicated by your individual class levels.
This rule was put in because of multiclassers. For example a Wizard 3/Cleric 2 has 3rd level spell slots, but can only prepare and cast spells of 2nd level wizard and 1st level cleric. They typically upcast spells to make full use of their 3rd level spell slots
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
There is no such restriction listed in anything you're quoting. Did you forget to include it?
No such restriction exists. If you believe otherwise please provide the rules text stating as much.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
You could certainly argue either. Are you precluded from having a spell prepared that you wouldn’t be able to prepare yourself? Remember that was my original question.
I feel as if something is trying to rehash old arguments and currently debating in bad faith, we both know what intention's are implied, ability to over-extend rules and find ways to misinterpret RAW.
I’ve stated the reason, the logic, and the ability to view my response to the OP of the topic in whatever way anyone is free to do so.
Rule as you wish, RAW is plain as day: swap spell you have prepared with one in the book, wizards can only prepare spells according to the wizard class rules, but hey it’s only a game, with rules.
Not really sure what you're gesturing at with any of this. If you have something specific in mind you're going to need to be more precise. Otherwise it might do us all good to brush up on the forum rules. Though, I'm sure neither of us is trying to imply anything derogatory.
So you agree. Prepare a magic missile. Then swap it for a fireball. As a wizard 3 you can do this no problem. Now, if you're ONLY a wizard 3 that's sorta a dumb thing to do, since you have no 3rd level spell slots. But a wiz3/x2+? Maybe you have a reason to do it.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
So it’s the Hard Way.
say Rav, how the hell can a level 3 wizard prepare a fireball?
You cannot prepare a spell you cannot cast, and cannot cast spells higher than indicated by your individual class levels.
This rule was put in because of multiclassers. For example a Wizard 3/Cleric 2 has 3rd level spell slots, but can only prepare and cast spells of 2nd level wizard and 1st level cleric. They typically upcast spells to make full use of their 3rd level spell slots