I have an unarmed fighter. They now have access to two different items that give a +1 to unarmed strikes Eldritch Claw Tattoo and a homebrew +1 handwraps. Looking for opinions and rule arguments for yeah and nay on whether they stack or not.
Eldritch Claw Tattoo
Produced by a special needle, this magic tattoo depicts clawlike forms and other jagged shapes.
Tattoo Attunement. To attune to this item, you hold the needle to your skin where you want the tattoo to appear, pressing the needle there throughout the attunement process. When the attunement is complete, the needle turns into the ink that becomes the tattoo, which appears on the skin.
If your attunement to the tattoo ends, the tattoo vanishes, and the needle reappears in your space.
Magical Strikes. While the tattoo is on your skin, your unarmed strikes are considered magical for the purpose of overcoming immunity and resistance to nonmagical attacks, and you gain a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls with unarmed strikes.
Eldritch Maul. As a bonus action, you can empower the tattoo for 1 minute. For the duration, each of your melee attacks with a weapon or an unarmed strike can reach a target up to 15 feet away from you, as inky tendrils launch toward the target. In addition, your melee attacks deal an extra 1d6 force damage on a hit. Once used, this bonus action can’t be used again until the next dawn.
+1 Hand wraps
Wondrous Item, Uncommon
While wearing these wraps, you have a +1 bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls made with your Unarmed Strikes. Those strikes deal your choice of Force damage or their normal damage type.
I think the relevant rule is from the PHB Wearing and Wielding Magic Items
Wearing and Wielding Items
Using a magic item’s properties might mean wearing or wielding it. A magic item meant to be worn must be donned in the intended fashion: boots go on feet, gloves on hands, hats and helmets on a head, and rings on a finger. Magic armor must be donned, a Shield strapped to the arm, a cloak fastened about the shoulders. A weapon must be held.
In most cases, a magic item that’s meant to be worn can fit a creature regardless of size or build. Magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they magically adjust themselves to the wearer.
Multiple Items of the Same Kind
You can’t wear more than one of certain magic items. You can’t normally wear more than one pair of footwear, one pair of gloves or gauntlets, one pair of bracers, one suit of armor, one item of headwear, or one cloak. The DM might make exceptions.
Paired Items
Items that come in pairs—such as boots, bracers, gauntlets, and gloves—impart their benefits only if both items of the pair are worn. For example, a character wearing a Boot of Striding and Springing on one foot and a Boot of Elvenkind on the other foot gains no benefit from either.
By RAW I can't see any reason why they wouldn't both work. But really the only one that can answer the question is the DM that gave you the homebrew item. I can't see getting a +2 to attack/dmg rolls breaking the game either (unless you are really low level) but I would ask if the wraps require attunement as that could possibly be an issue (but that is more an issue with the item).
Those wraps aren't really a homebrew item. That description is, word for word, the description of the Wraps of Unarmed Power, +1 from the 2024 Dungeon Master's Guide.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have an unarmed fighter. They now have access to two different items that give a +1 to unarmed strikes Eldritch Claw Tattoo and a homebrew +1 handwraps. Looking for opinions and rule arguments for yeah and nay on whether they stack or not.
I think the relevant rule is from the PHB Wearing and Wielding Magic Items
It seems like they should stack to me, as they are different, unpaired items.
DM mostly, Player occasionally | Session 0 form | He/Him/They/Them
EXTENDED SIGNATURE!
Doctor/Published Scholar/Science and Healthcare Advocate/Critter/Trekkie/Gandalf with a Glock
Try DDB free: Free Rules (2024), premade PCs, adventures, one shots, encounters, SC, homebrew, more
Answers: physical books, purchases, and subbing.
Check out my life-changing
Yeah, I don't see any reason why they wouldn't stack. Is there some specific reason you think they might not?
pronouns: he/she/they
By RAW I can't see any reason why they wouldn't both work. But really the only one that can answer the question is the DM that gave you the homebrew item. I can't see getting a +2 to attack/dmg rolls breaking the game either (unless you are really low level) but I would ask if the wraps require attunement as that could possibly be an issue (but that is more an issue with the item).
Those wraps aren't really a homebrew item. That description is, word for word, the description of the Wraps of Unarmed Power, +1 from the 2024 Dungeon Master's Guide.
pronouns: he/she/they