The answer is probably a simple "yes" but does anyone have a reference in the rules for using a magic wand (such as a Wand of Magic Missiles) as an arcane focus, like a mundane wand?
All wands, rods, and staffs can be used as an arcane focus. They are the magic item versions of normal arcane foci in the same fashion that magic armor and magic weapons are magic item versions of normal armor and weapons.
I'd rule that staves are not automatically arcane foci. For example, something like the Staff of the Woodlands.
In this case it is a druidic focus. Allow me to correct myself: wands, rods, and staffs (as well as many wondrous items) can be used as spellcasting foci if they are similar to a focus used by that class.
The closest printing is in Equipment that can be used as a "Spellcasting Focus" listed in that section. There are other specific items that allow other things to be used as a Spellcasting Focus, such as a Ruby of the War Mage from XGtE. However a quarterstaff (for instance) is only 2sp while an staff for arcane spellcasting focus is listed as 5gp. When spell casters make their focus their weapon as well, they aren't casting with a Mace substituting as a Rod or a Quarterstaff substituting as a Staff, they're using the improvised weapons rules that allow a item similar enough to an item listed in the Weapons table to be used as if it were that weapon. So it's the other way around, using an arcane spellcasting focus worthy staff as a quarterstaff.
There's no "improvised spellcasting focus" rule that lets you pick up any old item thats similar to a staff, wand, rod or other item listed in the Spellcasting Focus Equipment section and treat it like one. BUT if the particular object is called by one of those names, then it's generally identified with that item at it's base level.
If you pick up a Wand of Magic Missile, sure it'll have charges for the Magic Missile spell, but its also an item called a "wand" and if there's no specific rule in it's description that prevents it from being an arcane spellcasting focus, then the general rule from the Equipment section and other sections that list "wand" as an arcane spellcasting focus will apply.
The closest counter argument RAW I can find is in the DMG "Spells" section of Treasure where it writes "A magic item, such as certain staffs, may require you to use your own spellcasting ability when you cast a spell from the item." Certain staffs not being all.
P.S. beyond all that you have the link further up to JC's tweet, even if it isn't official.
Personally, I would rule that if there is an item which matches the name of something listed as a spellcasting focus at it's core, then it may be used as such unless it is worth less than the list price (excluding cursed items).
EDIT: Beware that Holy Symbol type spellcasting focuses for Clerics and Paladins represent a god or pantheon so not any or every Holy Symbol type item they find might be something they can use as a focus. Many DMs would ignore this unless it was a magic item for a specific god or alignment though. The simple idea being that even if you take the holy symbol focus from a cultist priest that it represents the pantheon which both your gods are in (even if your gods oppose one another).
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The answer is probably a simple "yes" but does anyone have a reference in the rules for using a magic wand (such as a Wand of Magic Missiles) as an arcane focus, like a mundane wand?
I don't see anything specific mentioned in the PHB, but JC says yes.
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2016/03/08/can-a-wizard-use-a-magic-wand-as-her-arcane-focus/
All wands, rods, and staffs can be used as an arcane focus. They are the magic item versions of normal arcane foci in the same fashion that magic armor and magic weapons are magic item versions of normal armor and weapons.
I'd rule that staves are not automatically arcane foci. For example, something like the Staff of the Woodlands.
In this case it is a druidic focus. Allow me to correct myself: wands, rods, and staffs (as well as many wondrous items) can be used as spellcasting foci if they are similar to a focus used by that class.
where is that printed?
The closest printing is in Equipment that can be used as a "Spellcasting Focus" listed in that section. There are other specific items that allow other things to be used as a Spellcasting Focus, such as a Ruby of the War Mage from XGtE. However a quarterstaff (for instance) is only 2sp while an staff for arcane spellcasting focus is listed as 5gp. When spell casters make their focus their weapon as well, they aren't casting with a Mace substituting as a Rod or a Quarterstaff substituting as a Staff, they're using the improvised weapons rules that allow a item similar enough to an item listed in the Weapons table to be used as if it were that weapon. So it's the other way around, using an arcane spellcasting focus worthy staff as a quarterstaff.
There's no "improvised spellcasting focus" rule that lets you pick up any old item thats similar to a staff, wand, rod or other item listed in the Spellcasting Focus Equipment section and treat it like one. BUT if the particular object is called by one of those names, then it's generally identified with that item at it's base level.
If you pick up a Wand of Magic Missile, sure it'll have charges for the Magic Missile spell, but its also an item called a "wand" and if there's no specific rule in it's description that prevents it from being an arcane spellcasting focus, then the general rule from the Equipment section and other sections that list "wand" as an arcane spellcasting focus will apply.
The closest counter argument RAW I can find is in the DMG "Spells" section of Treasure where it writes "A magic item, such as certain staffs, may require you to use your own spellcasting ability when you cast a spell from the item." Certain staffs not being all.
P.S. beyond all that you have the link further up to JC's tweet, even if it isn't official.
Personally, I would rule that if there is an item which matches the name of something listed as a spellcasting focus at it's core, then it may be used as such unless it is worth less than the list price (excluding cursed items).
EDIT: Beware that Holy Symbol type spellcasting focuses for Clerics and Paladins represent a god or pantheon so not any or every Holy Symbol type item they find might be something they can use as a focus. Many DMs would ignore this unless it was a magic item for a specific god or alignment though. The simple idea being that even if you take the holy symbol focus from a cultist priest that it represents the pantheon which both your gods are in (even if your gods oppose one another).
A wand is a wand.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.