Please help me understand this. I am a 3rd level cleric in the life domain. Do the domain spells take up the number of spell slots I have or do I get to still choose 4 1st level spells besides the domain spells??? Please explain this process to me.
As a cleric you are limited in how many spells you can prepare. You can only cast spells you have prepared. Domain Spells are ones that are always considered prepared for you but do not count against your limit. This means you will always be able to cast them regardless of what choices you make for preparing your spells for the day. They still use spell slots like any other spell casting.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Common misunderstanding for new players: spell slots and known/prepared spells are not related.
As a level 3 cleric, you will have 4 level 1 slots and 2 level 2 slots. You will have 2 level 1 and 2 level 2 domain spells always prepared. And in addition to those, you can have your cleric level + WIS mod number of spells prepared (for example if your WIS is 14(+2) you can prepare 5 spells at level 3). The spells you prepare don't have to match your number of slots, they just have to be a level you have slots for.
Spells are not assigned to slots. You can cast the same spell multiple times per day using a slot of equal or higher level each time.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Please help me understand this. I am a 3rd level cleric in the life domain. Do the domain spells take up the number of spell slots I have or do I get to still choose 4 1st level spells besides the domain spells??? Please explain this process to me.
As a cleric you are limited in how many spells you can prepare. You can only cast spells you have prepared. Domain Spells are ones that are always considered prepared for you but do not count against your limit. This means you will always be able to cast them regardless of what choices you make for preparing your spells for the day. They still use spell slots like any other spell casting.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Thank you!
Common misunderstanding for new players: spell slots and known/prepared spells are not related.
As a level 3 cleric, you will have 4 level 1 slots and 2 level 2 slots. You will have 2 level 1 and 2 level 2 domain spells always prepared. And in addition to those, you can have your cleric level + WIS mod number of spells prepared (for example if your WIS is 14(+2) you can prepare 5 spells at level 3). The spells you prepare don't have to match your number of slots, they just have to be a level you have slots for.
Spells are not assigned to slots. You can cast the same spell multiple times per day using a slot of equal or higher level each time.