I was reading the new Arcane Archer and I had a question about the Arcane Shos they get. The AA no longer gets a magic arrow feature at 3rd level, they have to wait till 7th level but still gets the Arcane Shots feature that only works when you fire a magic arrow. Does this mean the AA is essentially featureless unless the GM gives him magic arrows to use before level 7?
Once per turn when you fire a magic arrow from a shortbow or longbow as part of the Attack action, you can apply one of your Arcane Shot options to that arrow. You decide to use the option when the arrow hits a creature, unless the option doesn’t involve an attack roll. You have two uses of this ability, and you regain all expended uses of it when you finish a short or long rest.
As I said above - it's already been acknowledged by WotC - D&D Beyond can't change the wording here until we have the updated wording from WotC. As soon as we have it, we will update, but you can be safe in ruling it as when you fire an arrow (drop the word magic).
I was reading the new Arcane Archer and I had a question about the Arcane Shos they get. The AA no longer gets a magic arrow feature at 3rd level, they have to wait till 7th level but still gets the Arcane Shots feature that only works when you fire a magic arrow. Does this mean the AA is essentially featureless unless the GM gives him magic arrows to use before level 7?
I see nothing in the description of Arcane Shots saying that it only works with magical arrows.
There has been mention from Wizards of the Coast (namely JC's tweet), that the Arcane Archer's ability does NOT require magic arrows to work.
As soon as Curse receives the exact errata wording from WotC, it will be updated here as well.
Site Rules & Guidelines || How to Tooltip || Contact Support || Changelog || Pricing FAQ || Homebrew FAQ
If you have questions/concerns, please Private Message me or another moderator.
Wary the wizard who focuses on homebrew, for he can create nightmares that you wouldn't even dream of
Once per turn when you fire a magic arrow from a shortbow or longbow as part of the Attack action, you can apply one of your Arcane Shot options to that arrow. You decide to use the option when the arrow hits a creature, unless the option doesn’t involve an attack roll. You have two uses of this ability, and you regain all expended uses of it when you finish a short or long rest.
As I said above - it's already been acknowledged by WotC - D&D Beyond can't change the wording here until we have the updated wording from WotC. As soon as we have it, we will update, but you can be safe in ruling it as when you fire an arrow (drop the word magic).
Site Rules & Guidelines || How to Tooltip || Contact Support || Changelog || Pricing FAQ || Homebrew FAQ
If you have questions/concerns, please Private Message me or another moderator.
Wary the wizard who focuses on homebrew, for he can create nightmares that you wouldn't even dream of
Thank You for the clarification.