If a M component is not consumed and it has cost (300gp) and a mage casts a spell. When mage has a focus which costs 300gp (or more) is he able to replace that component?
another question. Not everyone gets focus. Is it better? I see it as a (.for example) wand which if held helps you overcome having M component. In other hand if you take a component (which is not consumed) from a pouch you are able to cast that spell now but if you want to cast another spell which needs another component you need to use your interaction with object/ environment to just take it?
If a spell component has a gp value, then that actual item has to be present not any form of spell focus.
A focus means you don't need a pouch/bag of lots of different spell components. I suspect fetching separate materials for each spell is the same as using ammunition with a weapon, free as part of the casting (assuming it is in a readily accessible location).
If a spell component has a gp value, then that actual item has to be present not any form of spell focus.
A focus means you don't need a pouch/bag of lots of different spell components. I suspect fetching separate materials for each spell is the same as using ammunition with a weapon, free as part of the casting (assuming it is in a readily accessible location).
Book is unspecific about component pouch. It contains M components for everything non consumable and without cost. That’s it. I assume they ether made it slightly worse then Focus (because more classes are able to use it) or just didn’t specify that it has Ammunition property
The gp value of a focus is meaningless unless you are buying or selling it...if a component has value, you need that exact component. The focus rules are separate rules when it comes to components with value and components that are consumed, so a component just needs one to cause the focus not to work.
On the component pouch, I assume the free hand requirement is to access the components, and I treat it like the ammunition property for ranged attacks (ie, you grab the material as part of the casting time of the spell)
If a spell component has a gp value, then that actual item has to be present not any form of spell focus.
A focus means you don't need a pouch/bag of lots of different spell components. I suspect fetching separate materials for each spell is the same as using ammunition with a weapon, free as part of the casting (assuming it is in a readily accessible location).
Book is unspecific about component pouch. It contains M components for everything non consumable and without cost. That’s it. I assume they ether made it slightly worse then Focus (because more classes are able to use it) or just didn’t specify that it has Ammunition property
They didn't forget the ammunition property - weapon properties can only be applied to weapons.
The component pouch is assumed to have anything that doesn’t have a specific gold cost, even stuff that gets consumed as long as it doesn’t have a specific gold cost listed. So, It also holds as an infinite supply of anything you need “pinches” or “sprinkles” of for any other spells as long as they don’t have a gold cost listed.
So, if you know Identify, your component pouch contains the feather, but not the pearl. (The pearl technically requires its own interaction separate from the interaction with the pouch. That’s one advantage of an arcane focus over the component pouch, as it requires no interaction, only the free hand.)
If you know Create Homunculus, your component pouch contains an infinite supply of clay, ash, and mandrake root. (Since those are in the component pouch, interacting with the component pouch includes “providing” those components. That is one advantage to the pouch over the foci.)
My Artificer put the Pearl into a button on his scope (Spellcasting focus), since he looks through his scope to cast his spells, whenever he casts Identify he just pushes the button to insert the Pearl.
I always thought the only real difference between a focus and a pouch was flavor. Do you want to wave your hands and sprinkle some eye of newt, or do you want to use a wand or orb or whatever. It’s really just cosmetic so people can make their wizards look how they want.
I always thought the only real difference between a focus and a pouch was flavor. Do you want to wave your hands and sprinkle some eye of newt, or do you want to use a wand or orb or whatever. It’s really just cosmetic so people can make their wizards look how they want.
Not so, a focus always requires a free hand, and pouch always requires an item interaction. And technically, you don’t need to sprinkle the eye of newt unless you don’t have either. You can simply “wave the pouch around” like a gris gris bag if you want to.
So still it is unclear. But I assume that RAW you need to use pouch
No, you don’t need a pouch or a focus. Any caster who wants to can run around with loose components in their pockets. Of course, then they would also have to track all of those components, every sprinkle and pinch.
So still it is unclear. But I assume that RAW you need to use pouch
No, you don’t need a pouch or a focus. Any caster who wants to can run around with loose components in their pockets. Of course, then they would also have to track all of those components, every sprinkle and pinch.
I was part of a 1shot where we were all wizards who had their component pouches stolen. We had to collect items to be able to cast spells. Cobwebs, grasshopper legs, alcohol, feathers, it was really fun.
I always thought the only real difference between a focus and a pouch was flavor. Do you want to wave your hands and sprinkle some eye of newt, or do you want to use a wand or orb or whatever. It’s really just cosmetic so people can make their wizards look how they want.
Not so, a focus always requires a free hand, and pouch always requires an item interaction. And technically, you don’t need to sprinkle the eye of newt unless you don’t have either. You can simply “wave the pouch around” like a gris gris bag if you want to.
Where's the fun in that? I want my wizards to pull their ball of bat poo and flick it at the bad guys!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
I always thought the only real difference between a focus and a pouch was flavor. Do you want to wave your hands and sprinkle some eye of newt, or do you want to use a wand or orb or whatever. It’s really just cosmetic so people can make their wizards look how they want.
Not so, a focus always requires a free hand, and pouch always requires an item interaction. And technically, you don’t need to sprinkle the eye of newt unless you don’t have either. You can simply “wave the pouch around” like a gris gris bag if you want to.
Don’t you still need a free hand for the item interaction or to wave the pouch around? What’s the difference?
This being the internet, I should specify this is asking a question and not picking a fight.
I always thought the only real difference between a focus and a pouch was flavor. Do you want to wave your hands and sprinkle some eye of newt, or do you want to use a wand or orb or whatever. It’s really just cosmetic so people can make their wizards look how they want.
Not so, a focus always requires a free hand, and pouch always requires an item interaction. And technically, you don’t need to sprinkle the eye of newt unless you don’t have either. You can simply “wave the pouch around” like a gris gris bag if you want to.
Don’t you still need a free hand for the item interaction or to wave the pouch around? What’s the difference?
This being the internet, I should specify this is asking a question and not picking a fight.
Waving the pouch is an item interaction, just like pulling the components out of the pouch would be. That really is just a flavor difference. “You can ride the donkey, or you can ride the tram. It is the same price.” - Ron White
If you are already holding your focus, that counts as your “free hand,” so no need for an object interaction to draw your wand. (That means you could still open a door or flip a lever or something on your turn if you wanted, or even put away your wand if you need it gone for the next spell you’re planning to cast the next turn.) But you don’t hold your Component Pouch, so that requires an object interaction every turn you cast a spell with M components.
If the spell also has a component (consumed or otherwise) with a specific GP cost listed, drawing that component individually technically also requires an object interaction. So, presuming there were a spell with a casting time of 1 action or bonus action that also had at least two M components, one mundane and one expensive, then:
If you are holding your wand you can use your one free object interaction per turn to pull that expensive item and cast the spell this turn. If you are not already holding your focus, or if you are using a component pouch, then you technically would need one object interaction to fiddle with the pouch, and a second one to draw the expensive component. Since you only get one freebie per turn, that means you have to also spend an action to draw one of the two, and therefore must wait a turn to cast your spell.
If you have neither focus nor pouch, then you have to track all of your components.
So still it is unclear. But I assume that RAW you need to use pouch
No, you don’t need a pouch or a focus. Any caster who wants to can run around with loose components in their pockets. Of course, then they would also have to track all of those components, every sprinkle and pinch.
Im so sorry. I wanted to say “you need your object interaction to use pouch for different spells that require having different M components”
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So.... i know I post too many questions, but.
If a M component is not consumed and it has cost (300gp) and a mage casts a spell. When mage has a focus which costs 300gp (or more) is he able to replace that component?
another question. Not everyone gets focus. Is it better? I see it as a (.for example) wand which if held helps you overcome having M component. In other hand if you take a component (which is not consumed) from a pouch you are able to cast that spell now but if you want to cast another spell which needs another component you need to use your interaction with object/ environment to just take it?
If a spell component has a gp value, then that actual item has to be present not any form of spell focus.
A focus means you don't need a pouch/bag of lots of different spell components. I suspect fetching separate materials for each spell is the same as using ammunition with a weapon, free as part of the casting (assuming it is in a readily accessible location).
Book is unspecific about component pouch. It contains M components for everything non consumable and without cost. That’s it. I assume they ether made it slightly worse then Focus (because more classes are able to use it) or just didn’t specify that it has Ammunition property
I always assumed component pouches required an interaction to balance it not filling your hand the rest of the time.
If a material component has a cost, you must have that component, not a focus.
The gp value of a focus is meaningless unless you are buying or selling it...if a component has value, you need that exact component. The focus rules are separate rules when it comes to components with value and components that are consumed, so a component just needs one to cause the focus not to work.
On the component pouch, I assume the free hand requirement is to access the components, and I treat it like the ammunition property for ranged attacks (ie, you grab the material as part of the casting time of the spell)
They didn't forget the ammunition property - weapon properties can only be applied to weapons.
But some foci don't need to be held all the time - Component pouches are used like foci so they are really just flavor Vs mechanical benefits
The component pouch is assumed to have anything that doesn’t have a specific gold cost, even stuff that gets consumed as long as it doesn’t have a specific gold cost listed. So, It also holds as an infinite supply of anything you need “pinches” or “sprinkles” of for any other spells as long as they don’t have a gold cost listed.
So, if you know Identify, your component pouch contains the feather, but not the pearl. (The pearl technically requires its own interaction separate from the interaction with the pouch. That’s one advantage of an arcane focus over the component pouch, as it requires no interaction, only the free hand.)
If you know Create Homunculus, your component pouch contains an infinite supply of clay, ash, and mandrake root. (Since those are in the component pouch, interacting with the component pouch includes “providing” those components. That is one advantage to the pouch over the foci.)
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
My gnome wizard made a piece of jewelry from a pearl and a feather from her familiar so that it would be one item:
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
My Artificer put the Pearl into a button on his scope (Spellcasting focus), since he looks through his scope to cast his spells, whenever he casts Identify he just pushes the button to insert the Pearl.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
I always thought the only real difference between a focus and a pouch was flavor. Do you want to wave your hands and sprinkle some eye of newt, or do you want to use a wand or orb or whatever. It’s really just cosmetic so people can make their wizards look how they want.
And it would take an item interaction to interact with the focus (item) in that case.
I mean some kind of that property but just for spells
So still it is unclear. But I assume that RAW you need to use pouch
Not so, a focus always requires a free hand, and pouch always requires an item interaction. And technically, you don’t need to sprinkle the eye of newt unless you don’t have either. You can simply “wave the pouch around” like a gris gris bag if you want to.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
No, you don’t need a pouch or a focus. Any caster who wants to can run around with loose components in their pockets. Of course, then they would also have to track all of those components, every sprinkle and pinch.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
I was part of a 1shot where we were all wizards who had their component pouches stolen. We had to collect items to be able to cast spells. Cobwebs, grasshopper legs, alcohol, feathers, it was really fun.
Where's the fun in that? I want my wizards to pull their ball of bat poo and flick it at the bad guys!
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Don’t you still need a free hand for the item interaction or to wave the pouch around? What’s the difference?
This being the internet, I should specify this is asking a question and not picking a fight.
Waving the pouch is an item interaction, just like pulling the components out of the pouch would be. That really is just a flavor difference. “You can ride the donkey, or you can ride the tram. It is the same price.” - Ron White
If you are already holding your focus, that counts as your “free hand,” so no need for an object interaction to draw your wand. (That means you could still open a door or flip a lever or something on your turn if you wanted, or even put away your wand if you need it gone for the next spell you’re planning to cast the next turn.) But you don’t hold your Component Pouch, so that requires an object interaction every turn you cast a spell with M components.
If the spell also has a component (consumed or otherwise) with a specific GP cost listed, drawing that component individually technically also requires an object interaction. So, presuming there were a spell with a casting time of 1 action or bonus action that also had at least two M components, one mundane and one expensive, then:
If you are holding your wand you can use your one free object interaction per turn to pull that expensive item and cast the spell this turn. If you are not already holding your focus, or if you are using a component pouch, then you technically would need one object interaction to fiddle with the pouch, and a second one to draw the expensive component. Since you only get one freebie per turn, that means you have to also spend an action to draw one of the two, and therefore must wait a turn to cast your spell.
If you have neither focus nor pouch, then you have to track all of your components.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Im so sorry. I wanted to say “you need your object interaction to use pouch for different spells that require having different M components”