If you are using a Pole Arm with 10 foot reach can you still make a reaction attack on a foe with in 5 feet of you that makes an attack against an ally ?
Guess, I’m asking in general can you attack a creature that gets to 5 feet of you with a 10 foot reach?
I’m asking in general can you attack a creature that gets to 5 feet of you with a 10 foot reach?
I rule "no" just for simplicity at the table. Every combatant has one and only one reach.
Some people rule "yes" but with restrictions, such as that the attack you make when the foe moves to 5 feet cannot be with the polearm, since its reach is 10 not 5.
If you are using a Pole Arm with 10 foot reach can you still make a reaction attack on a foe with in 5 feet of you that makes an attack against an ally ?
Guess, I’m asking in general can you attack a creature that gets to 5 feet of you with a 10 foot reach?
If you're asking if you can both make an opportunity attack when an enemy enter your reach and then as a reaction attack a creature within 5 feet of you attacking a target other than you the answer depends if you had a turn in between since when you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn.
If you're asking if as an action you can attack a creature within 5 feet of you with a reach weapon, the answer is yes you can attack a target anywhere within that distance.
Yes, but only within 5 ft. You cannot make an attack against an enemy that is 10 ft. away from you that attacks someone else, as Sentinel specifies 5 ft.
Yes, but only within 5 ft. You cannot make an attack against an enemy that is 10 ft. away from you that attacks someone else, as Sentinel specifies 5 ft.
Yes, but only within 5 ft. You cannot make an attack against an enemy that is 10 ft. away from you that attacks someone else, as Sentinel specifies 5 ft.
Yes, but only within 5 ft. You cannot make an attack against an enemy that is 10 ft. away from you that attacks someone else, as Sentinel specifies 5 ft.
That is good to know. I was unsure of the 5 feet with sentinal.
Yes, but only within 5 ft. You cannot make an attack against an enemy that is 10 ft. away from you that attacks someone else, as Sentinel specifies 5 ft.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If you are using a Pole Arm with 10 foot reach can you still make a reaction attack on a foe with in 5 feet of you that makes an attack against an ally ?
Guess, I’m asking in general can you attack a creature that gets to 5 feet of you with a 10 foot reach?
Yes. Enemies are valid targets at both 5 and 10 feet if you have a reach weapon.
I rule "no" just for simplicity at the table. Every combatant has one and only one reach.
Some people rule "yes" but with restrictions, such as that the attack you make when the foe moves to 5 feet cannot be with the polearm, since its reach is 10 not 5.
If you're asking if you can both make an opportunity attack when an enemy enter your reach and then as a reaction attack a creature within 5 feet of you attacking a target other than you the answer depends if you had a turn in between since when you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn.
If you're asking if as an action you can attack a creature within 5 feet of you with a reach weapon, the answer is yes you can attack a target anywhere within that distance.
Thank you.
The attacking with in 5 feet was the question. I have a good handle on bonus, reaction, and action.
That is good to know. I was unsure of the 5 feet with sentinal.
That is good to know. I was unsure of the 5 feet with sentinal.