I'll note something that seems ignored in this whole conversation: Glyph of warding can not be used on spells with a range of 'self'. These spells do not 'target' a creature, they simply take effect on the caster. Glyph of warding specifically says that a stored spell glyph has to be a spell that targets a single creature or area (i.e. touch, ranged, or area of effect spells). Some people argue that you can trigger your own spell glyphs with a range of self, but by RAW you aren't even allowed to make the glyph as the spell doesn't qualify. Buff spells that can be cast on others (fly and haste for example) do work.
Depending on your DM, you might be allowed to decimate an entire army in a turn. If they consider a portable hole or bag of holding to be its own extradimensional space, then you could load up a book with 100 fireball spells with one trigger word and wide targets. Then pull the book out of the bag (simply standing there won't move it ten feet from the bag), say the command word and let the destruction commence.
Depending on your DM, you might be allowed to decimate an entire army in a turn. If they consider a portable hole or bag of holding to be its own extradimensional space, then you could load up a book with 100 fireball spells with one trigger word and wide targets. Then pull the book out of the bag (simply standing there won't move it ten feet from the bag), say the command word and let the destruction commence.
Moving the book out of the bag may be considered moving the glyph more than 10 ft, since many think of the bag interior as a different dimension.
Spells are targeted or centred at the thing that triggers it. So, since you are triggering the stored spells, they'll be targeted or centred on you. You're just exploding yourself.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'll note something that seems ignored in this whole conversation:
Glyph of warding can not be used on spells with a range of 'self'. These spells do not 'target' a creature, they simply take effect on the caster. Glyph of warding specifically says that a stored spell glyph has to be a spell that targets a single creature or area (i.e. touch, ranged, or area of effect spells). Some people argue that you can trigger your own spell glyphs with a range of self, but by RAW you aren't even allowed to make the glyph as the spell doesn't qualify. Buff spells that can be cast on others (fly and haste for example) do work.
Depending on your DM, you might be allowed to decimate an entire army in a turn. If they consider a portable hole or bag of holding to be its own extradimensional space, then you could load up a book with 100 fireball spells with one trigger word and wide targets. Then pull the book out of the bag (simply standing there won't move it ten feet from the bag), say the command word and let the destruction commence.
Moving the book out of the bag may be considered moving the glyph more than 10 ft, since many think of the bag interior as a different dimension.
Spells are targeted or centred at the thing that triggers it. So, since you are triggering the stored spells, they'll be targeted or centred on you. You're just exploding yourself.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.