So I'm going to be running a campaign with shared content enabled for some friends. In the campaign I was going to give custom magic items to their characters. One of them is a Druid so I was going to make a magic staff with built in spell charges. A couple of the spells I was planning on sticking in there are not part of the basic rules, they are from XGE. Does that mean I can't make the magic item even though I wasn't even going to have it be published, it was just going to be for this private campaign?
If you don’t own XGtE, then no. But, you can tell the owner of XGtE and they can build it. But as a DM, I think it may let you. I seem to recall using a spell I only had access to as a DM w/ sharing.
So I'm going to be running a campaign with shared content enabled for some friends. In the campaign I was going to give custom magic items to their characters. One of them is a Druid so I was going to make a magic staff with built in spell charges. A couple of the spells I was planning on sticking in there are not part of the basic rules, they are from XGE. Does that mean I can't make the magic item even though I wasn't even going to have it be published, it was just going to be for this private campaign?
If you don’t own XGtE, then no. But, you can tell the owner of XGtE and they can build it. But as a DM, I think it may let you. I seem to recall using a spell I only had access to as a DM w/ sharing.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting