You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial. You can move the hand up to 30 feet each time you use it.
Does that mean you have to use an action to move it 30 feet or that when you use an action to control it you can also move it 30 feet
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
So, just to be 100% clear. Assuming I have mage hand active I could, as an arcane trickster, retrieve a healing potion from my backpack with the hand, move it up to 30 feet, then, as a bonus action, move it up to another 30 feet and then administer the potion to a downed (or conscious even) ally?
Because I really want to do that next game :)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
You mean the bonus action from the Mage Hand Legerdemain feature? I believe you can take the potion and give it to the ally, but to use the potion the ally requires to spent his/her action.
As Filcat said, you can use your Mage Hand with your bonus action, but what you can do with it is still constrained by what the spell allows you to do. It mentions "manipulate an object", which I take to mean the list of examples in page 190 of the player's handbook (also here). In that list, there's "hand an item to another character", but not administering a potion.
Administering a potion is in page 153 of the Player's Handbook, hidden in the description of the Healing Potion: "Drinking or administering a potion takes an action." It's a miscellaneous action, not a "Use an Item" action, apparently, so you can't even use Fast Hands to do it as a bonus action. (I think. Is there evidence to the contrary?)
As Filcat said, you can use your Mage Hand with your bonus action, but what you can do with it is still constrained by what the spell allows you to do. It mentions "manipulate an object", which I take to mean the list of examples in page 190 of the player's handbook (also here). In that list, there's "hand an item to another character", but not administering a potion.
Administering a potion is in page 153 of the Player's Handbook, hidden in the description of the Healing Potion: "Drinking or administering a potion takes an action." It's a miscellaneous action, not a "Use an Item" action, apparently, so you can't even use Fast Hands to do it as a bonus action. (I think. Is there evidence to the contrary?)
For example, scattering ball bearings also requires an action; you can do this with Fast Hands.
But a Potion of Healing is a magic item. The description on the PHB describes it as magical, and it's on the Magic Item A-Z list in the DMG. You can't activate a magic item with the Use An Object action:
Ooh, quite astute, thanks. That clears the potion bit pretty straightforward-ly.
It makes me wonder of non-magical drinks, however. Like a herb-made antidote or similar. Or tea, I suppose. The examples include stuffing your own face with food, drinking ale (yourself), and handing an item to someone else, but still not helping someone else drink something.
But the whole point is that, among the things you can do with Mage Hand (including the ones of the Arcane TRickster feature), drinking/administering a potion is not one of them.
Drinking a potion and pouring a liquid out a vial are different things.
Yah, I posted this just before going to sleep last night and came back this morning so I'm missing all sorts of things. Heck, the hand disappears as well after going more than 30 ft. from the caster. I'm going to go have large amounts of caffeine :(
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
Ooh, quite astute, thanks. That clears the potion bit pretty straightforward-ly.
It makes me wonder of non-magical drinks, however. Like a herb-made antidote or similar. Or tea, I suppose. The examples include stuffing your own face with food, drinking ale (yourself), and handing an item to someone else, but still not helping someone else drink something.
Drinking a reasonable amount of non-magical liquid should be fine as an object iteraction. The rule on magic items exists purely for balance reasons. Check out this these tweets from Jeremy Crawford:
"Other than balance reasons, I can't imagine why drinking a potion would take more time than a flagon of ale."
Mage Hand
Does that mean you have to use an action to move it 30 feet or that when you use an action to control it you can also move it 30 feet
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
It says: You can move the hand up to 30 feet each time you use it., so I believe is included in the action.
To do *anything* with the mage hand, you need to use your action.
When you do so, the hand can both act and move, similar to the rules for a character.
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
That's what I thought, but it's just unclear enough that I wanted to be sure before going to my DM with it.
That also makes the Arcane Trickster much better than I thought.
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
So, just to be 100% clear. Assuming I have mage hand active I could, as an arcane trickster, retrieve a healing potion from my backpack with the hand, move it up to 30 feet, then, as a bonus action, move it up to another 30 feet and then administer the potion to a downed (or conscious even) ally?
Because I really want to do that next game :)
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
You mean the bonus action from the Mage Hand Legerdemain feature? I believe you can take the potion and give it to the ally, but to use the potion the ally requires to spent his/her action.
As Filcat said, you can use your Mage Hand with your bonus action, but what you can do with it is still constrained by what the spell allows you to do. It mentions "manipulate an object", which I take to mean the list of examples in page 190 of the player's handbook (also here). In that list, there's "hand an item to another character", but not administering a potion.
Administering a potion is in page 153 of the Player's Handbook, hidden in the description of the Healing Potion: "Drinking or administering a potion takes an action." It's a miscellaneous action, not a "Use an Item" action, apparently, so you can't even use Fast Hands to do it as a bonus action. (I think. Is there evidence to the contrary?)
Yes Onyx, that was my thinking as well.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Ooh, quite astute, thanks. That clears the potion bit pretty straightforward-ly.
It makes me wonder of non-magical drinks, however. Like a herb-made antidote or similar. Or tea, I suppose. The examples include stuffing your own face with food, drinking ale (yourself), and handing an item to someone else, but still not helping someone else drink something.
Nevermind, I'm tired and missed the part of not being able to activate magical items.
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
But the whole point is that, among the things you can do with Mage Hand (including the ones of the Arcane TRickster feature), drinking/administering a potion is not one of them.
Drinking a potion and pouring a liquid out a vial are different things.
Yah, I posted this just before going to sleep last night and came back this morning so I'm missing all sorts of things. Heck, the hand disappears as well after going more than 30 ft. from the caster. I'm going to go have large amounts of caffeine :(
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
The Forum Infestation (TM)