The Use an Object action doesn’t necessarily require your Action to use it. You can use 1 Object for free on each of your turns. So you would just declare that you dump the beans and then declare that you Fey Step out of there.
Yeah, there's no need to actually "ready" this in this situation anyway. Even if allowed, this mechanic would be unnecessary. You simply take your Bonus Action at the same moment that you would have used it if it had been "triggered". In this case, you could use your Bonus Action before the beans even hit the ground if that's important. The consensus around here is that you can even use a Bonus Action during your Action, as long as all of this is happening on your turn. Although in this case, you'd probably want to make sure that you've finished dumping out all of the beans (if that's important) before teleporting away.
Yeah, there's no need to actually "ready" this in this situation anyway. Even if allowed, this mechanic would be unnecessary. You simply take your Bonus Action at the same moment that you would have used it if it had been "triggered". In this case, you could use your Bonus Action before the beans even hit the ground if that's important. The consensus around here is that you can even use a Bonus Action during your Action, as long as all of this is happening on your turn. Although in this case, you'd probably want to make sure that you've finished dumping out all of the beans (if that's important) before teleporting away.
If you dump the bag's contents out on the ground, they explode in a 10-foot radius, extending from the beans. Each creature in the area, including you, must make a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw, taking 5d4 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. The fire ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried.
reading that sounds like if you use the pour the beans out action that is instantaneous. Imo as a DM would most likely rule you would need to use a reaction to set up the trigger for it like a triggered reaction but would still let you drop the seeds as the free action. It would eat your reaction and action but you could get away unharmed. Again my two cents and why the OP was asking.
Yeah, there's no need to actually "ready" this in this situation anyway. Even if allowed, this mechanic would be unnecessary. You simply take your Bonus Action at the same moment that you would have used it if it had been "triggered". In this case, you could use your Bonus Action before the beans even hit the ground if that's important. The consensus around here is that you can even use a Bonus Action during your Action, as long as all of this is happening on your turn. Although in this case, you'd probably want to make sure that you've finished dumping out all of the beans (if that's important) before teleporting away.
If you dump the bag's contents out on the ground, they explode in a 10-foot radius, extending from the beans. Each creature in the area, including you, must make a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw, taking 5d4 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. The fire ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried.
reading that sounds like if you use the pour the beans out action that is instantaneous. Imo as a DM would most likely rule you would need to use a reaction to set up the trigger for it like a triggered reaction but would still let you drop the seeds as the free action. It would eat your reaction and action but you could get away unharmed. Again my two cents and why the OP was asking.
Your not wrong that is why I made sure to say that is my IMO or two cents, each DM will rule there game slightly different in the end. It just seems like a cool idea and I would let it slide the once and let me players know. But usually I tend to at least give the warnings to my players if they try to do things like that, NPC can and will learn so if the NPC start to do the same tricks to you then you might wish to rethink things.
To me, "if you dump the bag's contents out on the ground" would not fully resolve instantaneously, allowing for plenty of time to take a Bonus Action while the beans are still in the air. The act of dumping might be considered to be instantaneous but the explosion clearly isn't meant to occur until the beans make contact with the ground. Now if rules lawyers start to try to argue that gravity on all creatures and objects creates a falling mechanic which always resolves instantaneously, then the discussion begins to devolve into a bunch of arguing. But Bonus Actions can be taken at any time on your turn, including during an Action so this scenario in the OP should resolve as intended without any special mechanics. In other words, whatever you would have set up as a trigger -- if that would have worked then just taking the Bonus Action at that moment also works.
I'm curious whether a teleport spell that is a full action might actually work for this instead (Misty Step would not work because it is a Bonus Action, and thus cannot be readied). If the DM would say that the character could take a reaction triggered when the beans are dumped (but before they hit the ground), could the character possibly ready, say, Thunder Step, and then cast it as a reaction on their own turn? I don't see anything in the text for the Ready action that states that it cannot be used on the character's turn.
Your not wrong that is why I made sure to say that is my IMO or two cents, each DM will rule there game slightly different in the end. It just seems like a cool idea and I would let it slide the once and let me players know. But usually I tend to at least give the warnings to my players if they try to do things like that, NPC can and will learn so if the NPC start to do the same tricks to you then you might wish to rethink things.
As a DM, if a player said they wanted to try something like "I want to dump out the bag and Misty Step away to avoid the explosion", I'd probably make it a Sleight of Hand skill check to see if they get the timing right on letting go of the bag right before they bamf out. Success, it works. Fail, they bamf out too late and get caught in the explosion. Spectacular fail (nat 1, miss the DC by X amount, whatever), they bamf out too early and take the bag with them before dumping it out...
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I say roll initiative to see if you make it in time:
DM sets a DC, likely based on the height the beans have to fall
You roll initiative
If you succeed, you successfully teleport in time, avoiding the dex save and all the damage
If you fail, you do not successfully teleport in time. I would give you advantage on the dex save as as your Fey Step feature is still consumed and that has to have some compensation. You make the save, take the damage, and then teleport to wherever you were trying to go.
Either way, the feature is consumed to some benefit.
If you fail critically, the feature is consumed much too late, and you do not get the advantage.
I was wondering, can I state that "as soon as I use my action my bonus action triggers."
The context for this is I want to use my Eladrins Fey Step as soon as I dump the contents of a bag of beans.
My DM has stated that dumping the contents is a Use Object Action.
You can only use a bonus action when the feature says you can use it. You can't ready bonus actions either.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
The Use an Object action doesn’t necessarily require your Action to use it. You can use 1 Object for free on each of your turns. So you would just declare that you dump the beans and then declare that you Fey Step out of there.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Yeah, there's no need to actually "ready" this in this situation anyway. Even if allowed, this mechanic would be unnecessary. You simply take your Bonus Action at the same moment that you would have used it if it had been "triggered". In this case, you could use your Bonus Action before the beans even hit the ground if that's important. The consensus around here is that you can even use a Bonus Action during your Action, as long as all of this is happening on your turn. Although in this case, you'd probably want to make sure that you've finished dumping out all of the beans (if that's important) before teleporting away.
Think the issue is the bag of beans - https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/4579-bag-of-beans
If you dump the bag's contents out on the ground, they explode in a 10-foot radius, extending from the beans. Each creature in the area, including you, must make a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw, taking 5d4 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. The fire ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried.
reading that sounds like if you use the pour the beans out action that is instantaneous. Imo as a DM would most likely rule you would need to use a reaction to set up the trigger for it like a triggered reaction but would still let you drop the seeds as the free action. It would eat your reaction and action but you could get away unharmed. Again my two cents and why the OP was asking.
RAW is designed to prevent just such shenanigans.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Your not wrong that is why I made sure to say that is my IMO or two cents, each DM will rule there game slightly different in the end. It just seems like a cool idea and I would let it slide the once and let me players know. But usually I tend to at least give the warnings to my players if they try to do things like that, NPC can and will learn so if the NPC start to do the same tricks to you then you might wish to rethink things.
To me, "if you dump the bag's contents out on the ground" would not fully resolve instantaneously, allowing for plenty of time to take a Bonus Action while the beans are still in the air. The act of dumping might be considered to be instantaneous but the explosion clearly isn't meant to occur until the beans make contact with the ground. Now if rules lawyers start to try to argue that gravity on all creatures and objects creates a falling mechanic which always resolves instantaneously, then the discussion begins to devolve into a bunch of arguing. But Bonus Actions can be taken at any time on your turn, including during an Action so this scenario in the OP should resolve as intended without any special mechanics. In other words, whatever you would have set up as a trigger -- if that would have worked then just taking the Bonus Action at that moment also works.
I'm curious whether a teleport spell that is a full action might actually work for this instead (Misty Step would not work because it is a Bonus Action, and thus cannot be readied). If the DM would say that the character could take a reaction triggered when the beans are dumped (but before they hit the ground), could the character possibly ready, say, Thunder Step, and then cast it as a reaction on their own turn? I don't see anything in the text for the Ready action that states that it cannot be used on the character's turn.
As a DM, if a player said they wanted to try something like "I want to dump out the bag and Misty Step away to avoid the explosion", I'd probably make it a Sleight of Hand skill check to see if they get the timing right on letting go of the bag right before they bamf out. Success, it works. Fail, they bamf out too late and get caught in the explosion. Spectacular fail (nat 1, miss the DC by X amount, whatever), they bamf out too early and take the bag with them before dumping it out...
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I say roll initiative to see if you make it in time:
DM sets a DC, likely based on the height the beans have to fall
You roll initiative
If you succeed, you successfully teleport in time, avoiding the dex save and all the damage
If you fail, you do not successfully teleport in time. I would give you advantage on the dex save as as your Fey Step feature is still consumed and that has to have some compensation. You make the save, take the damage, and then teleport to wherever you were trying to go.
Either way, the feature is consumed to some benefit.
If you fail critically, the feature is consumed much too late, and you do not get the advantage.