Is it possible for a barbarian to fight with two greataxes (one in each hand) according to the following pattern: The barbarian throws his two greataxes on the ground, someone cast on him the spell enlarge, he recovers his greataxes and will fight in dualwelding. ? At lvl 5 the attack result will be Action attack 1d12 + x Extra attack 1d12 + x Bonus action offhand attack 1d12
The Greataxe has the Heavy and Two-handed properties.
Heavy. Small creatures have disadvantage on attack rolls with heavy weapons. A heavy weapon's size and bulk make it too large for a Small creature to use effectively.
Two-Handed. This weapon requires two hands when you attack with it.
Neither properties mentions it is canceled by the Large size of the wielder. So no, you can't use two handed weapons when you're large.
I also recall that somewhere it was stated that if you're using a weapon that is not made for your size, you simply get disadvantage (could be only for weapons made for bigger creatures, but I'm not sure).
I also recall that somewhere it was stated that if you're using a weapon that is not made for your size, you simply get disadvantage (could be only for weapons made for bigger creatures, but I'm not sure).
That rule is probably intended only for monsters, since it's the section of the DMG for creating new monsters, and specifically deciding what damage dice to use for a monster's attack. The text only addressed using weapons for larger creatures.
Okay thanks for the reply, now that I have the strict ruling, I will talk to my DM, we play a bit with modified rules when it seems logical, one greataxe look like an handaxe in the hand of one giant :D
one greataxe look like an handaxe in the hand of one giant :D
Actually I don't think it does. It's probably more akin to a battle-axe if that. Remember that most Giants are Huge (Two steps bigger than Medium) and not Large.
Personally I'd feel the ruling would be unnecessary. Using a regular Battleaxe in both hands (using the feat Two Weapon Fighting I reckon) would result in a possible 2d8+2d4+1*STR mod is fancy enough :P
Hello,
Is it possible for a barbarian to fight with two greataxes (one in each hand) according to the following pattern:
The barbarian throws his two greataxes on the ground, someone cast on him the spell enlarge, he recovers his greataxes and will fight in dualwelding.
?
At lvl 5 the attack result will be
Action attack 1d12 + x
Extra attack 1d12 + x
Bonus action offhand attack 1d12
Correct?
A two-handed weapon requires two hands to use. The Enlarge/Reduce doesn't make exceptions to that rule.
You can use two handaxes, which after being enlarged will deal 1d6 + 1d4 + STR with your Attack action and 1d6 + 1d4 on the TWF attack.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
RAW, no. Simply:
The Greataxe has the Heavy and Two-handed properties.
Heavy. Small creatures have disadvantage on attack rolls with heavy weapons. A heavy weapon's size and bulk make it too large for a Small creature to use effectively.
Two-Handed. This weapon requires two hands when you attack with it.
Neither properties mentions it is canceled by the Large size of the wielder. So no, you can't use two handed weapons when you're large.
I also recall that somewhere it was stated that if you're using a weapon that is not made for your size, you simply get disadvantage (could be only for weapons made for bigger creatures, but I'm not sure).
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
That rule is probably intended only for monsters, since it's the section of the DMG for creating new monsters, and specifically deciding what damage dice to use for a monster's attack. The text only addressed using weapons for larger creatures.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Okay thanks for the reply, now that I have the strict ruling,
I will talk to my DM, we play a bit with modified rules when it seems logical,
one greataxe look like an handaxe in the hand of one giant :D
Thx all!
Actually I don't think it does. It's probably more akin to a battle-axe if that. Remember that most Giants are Huge (Two steps bigger than Medium) and not Large.
Personally I'd feel the ruling would be unnecessary. Using a regular Battleaxe in both hands (using the feat Two Weapon Fighting I reckon) would result in a possible 2d8+2d4+1*STR mod is fancy enough :P
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature