The ruling for Sculpt Spells says, "When you cast an evocation spell that affects other creatures that you can see, you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell's level. The chosen creatures automatically succeed on their saving throws against the spell, and they take no damage if they would normally take half damage on a successful save." So does this means that it is an "All or nothing" situation? As in a 9th level Meteor Swarm, you would either have to choose 0 or 10 creatures to be automatically succeed?
Shouldn't this be an "up to 1 + the spell's level" rule? This seems like the more powerful the spell, the more enemies you will be saving, which seems counter productive? If the ruling was "up to" then you could only save your allies, and then any npcs that you wished to or not.
I can see where it could be viewed as an "all or nothing" situation but I'm pretty sure that the design of the ability wouldn't force you to omit enemies from a spell. There is an argument to be had since Careful Spell metamagic uses the phrase "up to" and has the same effect. I lean to the thought that it is just worded poorly and is intended to mean "up to" rather than "all or nothing".
It says Can. Therefore, you don’t have to, and you can choose.
I understand that part. The choosing part was referenced in the example of meteor swarm. For RAW, you caneither use it and choose 10 (no more, no less) or choose not to use it and have everyone in the radius be affected, in which case seems like the sculpt spells is less powerful, the more powerful spell you use.
Huh. I always interpreted it as up to. Hm. I guess you can just choose the same creature multiple times...?
otherwise, I guess it is how it’s written.
I don't think you can pick the same creature multiple times. I also don't think you could choose yourself unless the spell includes you (which would only be for beneficial effects, so you wouldn't want to exclude yourself anyways).
So RAW says full number or 0, but I guess most people have been playing it as an "up to X number" rule?
It is probably a typo and almost certainly intended to be "up to." I imagine 99% of DMs will rule it to be "up to" as well.
I initially chocked this up to a typo, but I looked inside of the November 2018 edition errata for the PHB and this still hasn't been changed. I haven't found anything on Sage Advice either. I just wish there was like an official "Yes that's the way it's supposed to be" or "It it supposed to be 'up to'". I just find it crazy that if that isn't a mistake that you have to choose ALL or NOTHING.
It is probably a typo and almost certainly intended to be "up to." I imagine 99% of DMs will rule it to be "up to" as well.
I initially chocked this up to a typo, but I looked inside of the November 2018 edition errata for the PHB and this still hasn't been changed. I haven't found anything on Sage Advice either. I just wish there was like an official "Yes that's the way it's supposed to be" or "It it supposed to be 'up to'". I just find it crazy that if that isn't a mistake that you have to choose ALL or NOTHING.
It probably wasn't errata'd because it was unnoticed. The fact it is not on sage advice supports that.
SageAdviceDnD With Sculpt Spells does the phrase "you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell's level." mean you have to choose 10 creatures or can you choose less? Compared to Careful Spell's wording "up to".
<s>@</s>SageAdviceDnD With Sculpt Spells does the phrase "you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell's level." mean you have to choose 10 creatures or can you choose less? Compared to Careful Spell's wording "up to".
I'll let you know if/when I get an answer.
The 10 creatures comes from a 9th level spell. You may want to correct that if you can. Not sure how twitter works though.
But I appreciate you reaching out! I hope we can get an answer to this!
The ruling for Sculpt Spells says, "When you cast an evocation spell that affects other creatures that you can see, you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell's level. The chosen creatures automatically succeed on their saving throws against the spell, and they take no damage if they would normally take half damage on a successful save." So does this means that it is an "All or nothing" situation? As in a 9th level Meteor Swarm, you would either have to choose 0 or 10 creatures to be automatically succeed?
Shouldn't this be an "up to 1 + the spell's level" rule? This seems like the more powerful the spell, the more enemies you will be saving, which seems counter productive? If the ruling was "up to" then you could only save your allies, and then any npcs that you wished to or not.
Am I just not understanding this right?
Published Subclasses
I have always interpreted this as being "up to", otherwise it becomes one of the worst Arcane Tradition features in terms of tactical usefulness.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
I can see where it could be viewed as an "all or nothing" situation but I'm pretty sure that the design of the ability wouldn't force you to omit enemies from a spell. There is an argument to be had since Careful Spell metamagic uses the phrase "up to" and has the same effect. I lean to the thought that it is just worded poorly and is intended to mean "up to" rather than "all or nothing".
It says Can. Therefore, you don’t have to, and you can choose.
I understand that part. The choosing part was referenced in the example of meteor swarm. For RAW, you can either use it and choose 10 (no more, no less) or choose not to use it and have everyone in the radius be affected, in which case seems like the sculpt spells is less powerful, the more powerful spell you use.
Published Subclasses
Huh. I always interpreted it as up to. Hm. I guess you can just choose the same creature multiple times...?
otherwise, I guess it is how it’s written.
I don't think you can pick the same creature multiple times. I also don't think you could choose yourself unless the spell includes you (which would only be for beneficial effects, so you wouldn't want to exclude yourself anyways).
So RAW says full number or 0, but I guess most people have been playing it as an "up to X number" rule?
Published Subclasses
It is probably a typo and almost certainly intended to be "up to." I imagine 99% of DMs will rule it to be "up to" as well.
I initially chocked this up to a typo, but I looked inside of the November 2018 edition errata for the PHB and this still hasn't been changed. I haven't found anything on Sage Advice either. I just wish there was like an official "Yes that's the way it's supposed to be" or "It it supposed to be 'up to'". I just find it crazy that if that isn't a mistake that you have to choose ALL or NOTHING.
Published Subclasses
It probably wasn't errata'd because it was unnoticed. The fact it is not on sage advice supports that.
Just for kicks I asked Sage Advice:
SageAdviceDnD With Sculpt Spells does the phrase "you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell's level." mean you have to choose 10 creatures or can you choose less? Compared to Careful Spell's wording "up to".
I'll let you know if/when I get an answer.
The 10 creatures comes from a 9th level spell. You may want to correct that if you can. Not sure how twitter works though.
But I appreciate you reaching out! I hope we can get an answer to this!
Published Subclasses