So, the question is pretty simple, and I couldn't find this question anywhere, so, can a Thri-Kreen attune to two pairs of Braces of Defence and bennefit from a total of +4 AC? Since it has four arms, and nowhere in the item's description says that you can't stack it's bonus. I'm both a player and a DM, and I just started wondering this since I'm in a SpellJammer campaing right now. (I know that getting TWO pairs of Bracers of Defence and attunig to both is kinda bonkers, but this is a genuine question)
I would allow it, you attuned to two items to get this. Honestly, I would not expect this to last, +2 to AC is not worth an attunment slot at higher levels. Versatility becomes more important.
More importantly, I would also allow a thrikeen to wield a two handed sword and a Shield, which you cannot do while wearing a single bracer, let alone two.
Additionally, a creature can't attune to more than one copy of an item. For example, a creature can't attune to more than one ring of protection at a time.
Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
It was just something that I was wondering with my friends, since the bracer says that you can't wear a Shield, and the smaller arms can only equip light weapons.
RAW it is not allowed. There’s a rule where you can’t benefit from two things with the same name. So, while you could benefit from a cloak of protection and a ring of protection at the same time, you couldn’t benefit from 2 rings of protection or 2 cloaks of protection.
Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But -when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—-apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. -Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and -magic items. See the related rule in the “Combining Magical Effects” section of chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook.
So, the question is pretty simple, and I couldn't find this question anywhere, so, can a Thri-Kreen attune to two pairs of Braces of Defence and bennefit from a total of +4 AC? Since it has four arms, and nowhere in the item's description says that you can't stack it's bonus. I'm both a player and a DM, and I just started wondering this since I'm in a SpellJammer campaing right now. (I know that getting TWO pairs of Bracers of Defence and attunig to both is kinda bonkers, but this is a genuine question)
I would allow it, you attuned to two items to get this. Honestly, I would not expect this to last, +2 to AC is not worth an attunment slot at higher levels. Versatility becomes more important.
More importantly, I would also allow a thrikeen to wield a two handed sword and a Shield, which you cannot do while wearing a single bracer, let alone two.
Why don't you want a shield?
No.
The Bracers of Defense don't have to say that you can't stack them in their description, because it's a general rule. In fact, it's two general rules.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
It was just something that I was wondering with my friends, since the bracer says that you can't wear a Shield, and the smaller arms can only equip light weapons.
RAW it is not allowed. There’s a rule where you can’t benefit from two things with the same name. So, while you could benefit from a cloak of protection and a ring of protection at the same time, you couldn’t benefit from 2 rings of protection or 2 cloaks of protection.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting