One of my players would like to use the Holy Symbol of Ravenkind as a material component to cast Dawn. He asked me how much it is worth, since Dawn requires a "a sunburst pendant worth at least 100 gp." I told him it's a one of kind wondrous magic item, effectively priceless.
I know this could be ruled either way and still be valid, since the item won't be consumed, but I've honestly never thought about it before. I worry that making a ruling like this will open the door to something far less straightforward later down the road. I also know that he could just cast Sunlight through the magic item, but, for our purposes, I need to consider this request as it is given.
It's not going to make a huge difference either way but I would rule in favor of the player. Besides any magical properties they have, a magic item should be treated as a mundane version of the item that's made with the finest materials and highest levels of craftsmanship. The Holy Symbol of Ravenkind is a sunburst pendant made of pure platinum with a big gem in the middle. If it were non-magical, it'd probably be worth at least 100 gp. The fact that it's also sacred and magical ought to make it even more valuable. Priceless is basically the opposite of worthless.
I figure you were erring on the side of caution here but if the cleric has the amulet they're going to dominate vampire encounters with or without Dawn, especially if the party also has the sword.
Something else to consider: it's pretty clear that magic items ought to function as material components when you look at spells like Shillelagh, Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade.
I would absolutely allow a holy symbol of a sun god as a component for [spel]dawn[/spell], but I would stress to the players that it is a per-spell ruling. The dawn spell suits a symbol of a sun god, not not (for example) an amulet of health.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
One of my players would like to use the Holy Symbol of Ravenkind as a material component to cast Dawn. He asked me how much it is worth, since Dawn requires a "a sunburst pendant worth at least 100 gp." I told him it's a one of kind wondrous magic item, effectively priceless.
I know this could be ruled either way and still be valid, since the item won't be consumed, but I've honestly never thought about it before. I worry that making a ruling like this will open the door to something far less straightforward later down the road. I also know that he could just cast Sunlight through the magic item, but, for our purposes, I need to consider this request as it is given.
What do you think?
I think you made the right call. I would have made the same decision. The alternative is not fun.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
It's not going to make a huge difference either way but I would rule in favor of the player. Besides any magical properties they have, a magic item should be treated as a mundane version of the item that's made with the finest materials and highest levels of craftsmanship. The Holy Symbol of Ravenkind is a sunburst pendant made of pure platinum with a big gem in the middle. If it were non-magical, it'd probably be worth at least 100 gp. The fact that it's also sacred and magical ought to make it even more valuable. Priceless is basically the opposite of worthless.
I figure you were erring on the side of caution here but if the cleric has the amulet they're going to dominate vampire encounters with or without Dawn, especially if the party also has the sword.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Oh wait, I read your post as saying you allowed them to use it as a holy symbol of appropriate worth, sorry if my post didn't make sense.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Something else to consider: it's pretty clear that magic items ought to function as material components when you look at spells like Shillelagh, Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Thanks for the perspective and information. I think this sounds reasonable.
When in doubt, use the Rule of Cool.
You have chosen..... Cooly.
I would absolutely allow a holy symbol of a sun god as a component for [spel]dawn[/spell], but I would stress to the players that it is a per-spell ruling. The dawn spell suits a symbol of a sun god, not not (for example) an amulet of health.