Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'defends space'.
                    
                
                        
                            
                                Other Suggestions:
                            
                            
                                    
                                        defender space
                                    
                                
                        
                    
                
                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Masterâs Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     location. Absent commands from you, the snake defends itself.
As a Bonus Action, you can command the snake to revert to staff form in its current space, and you canât use the staff's property again
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    As a Magic action, you can throw this staff so that it lands in an unoccupied space within 10 feet of you, causing the staff to become a Giant Constrictor Snake in that space. The snake is under your
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Masterâs Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    While wearing this ring, you can take a Magic action to summon a particular Djinni from the Elemental Plane of Air. The djinni appears in an unoccupied space you choose within 120 feet of yourself
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . If you fail to command it, the djinni defends itself against attackers but takes no other actions.
After the djinni departs, it canât be summoned again for 24 hours, and the ring becomes
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Masterâs Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     a living creature specified in the figurineâs description below. If the space where the creature would appear is occupied by other creatures or objects, or if there isnât enough space for
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     you on your Initiative count. If you issue no commands, the creature defends itself but takes no other actions.
The creature exists for a duration specific to each figurine. At the end of the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Ooze Cube. The cube takes up its entire space. Other creatures can enter the space, but a creature that does so is subjected to the cube's Engulf and has disadvantage on the saving throw.
Creatures
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     creature that tries to enter the cube's space while unaware of the cube is surprised by the cube.Pseudopod. Melee Weapon Attack: +4;{"diceNotation":"1d20+4","rollType":"to hit","rollAction":"Pseudopod
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     throw the feather into a Large unoccupied space on the ground within 5 feet of you, the feather becomes a living diatryma for up to 6 hours, after which it reverts to its feather form. It reverts to
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     and your companions, and it can be used as a mount. It understands your languages and obeys your spoken commands. If you issue no commands, the diatryma defends itself but takes no other actions.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     60 feet of you, the figurine becomes a living creature in one of two forms (you choose). If there isnât enough space for the creature where it would appear, the figurine doesnât become a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     commands. If you issue no commands, the creature defends itself but takes no other actions.
The creature exists for a duration specific to each form. At the end of the duration, the creature reverts to
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     living creature. If the space where the creature would appear is occupied by other creatures or objects, or if there isnât enough space for the creature, the figurine doesnât become a creature
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    .
The creature is friendly to you and your companions. It understands your languages and obeys your spoken commands. If you issue no commands, the creature defends itself but takes no other actions
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Ring of Djinni Summoning
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    While wearing this ring, you can speak its command word as an action to summon a particular djinni from the Elemental Plane of Air. The djinni appears in an unoccupied space you choose within 120
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     djinni is friendly to you and your companions. It obeys any commands you give it, no matter what language you use. If you fail to command it, the djinni defends itself against attackers but takes no
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Conjure Celestial
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    You summon a celestial of challenge rating 4 or lower, which appears in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. The celestial disappears when it drops to 0 hit points or when the spell
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     required by you), as long as they don't violate its alignment. If you don't issue any commands to the celestial, it defends itself from hostile creatures but otherwise takes no actions.
The GM has the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Conjure Elemental
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     appears in an unoccupied space within 10 feet of it. For example, a fire elemental emerges from a bonfire, and an earth elemental rises up from the ground. The elemental disappears when it drops to 0
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     that you issue to it (no action required by you). If you don't issue any commands to the elemental, it defends itself from hostile creatures but otherwise takes no actions.
If your concentration is
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Conjure Fey
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    You summon a fey creature of challenge rating 6 or lower, or a fey spirit that takes the form of a beast of challenge rating 6 or lower. It appears in an unoccupied space that you can see within
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     defends itself from hostile creatures but otherwise takes no actions.
If your concentration is broken, the fey creature doesn't disappear. Instead, you lose control of the fey creature, it becomes
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Figurine of Wondrous Power
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     of you, the figurine becomes a living creature. If the space where the creature would appear is occupied by other creatures or objects, or if there isn't enough space for the creature, the figurine
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     doesn't become a creature.
The creature is friendly to you and your companions. It understands your languages and obeys your spoken commands. If you issue no commands, the creature defends itself but
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Masterâs Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     djinni appears in an unoccupied space you choose within 120 feet of you. It remains as long as you concentrate (as if concentrating on a spell), to a maximum of 1 hour, or until it drops to 0 hit
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , the djinni defends itself against attackers but takes no other actions. After the djinni departs, it canât be summoned again for 24 hours, and the ring becomes nonmagical if the djinni dies.  Rings Left to Right: Animal Influence, Djinni Summoning, Free Action, and Air Elemental Command
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     in an unoccupied space you choose within 120 feet of yourself. It remains as long as you maintain Concentration, to a maximum of 1 hour, or until it drops to 0 Hit Points. While summoned, the djinni is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Friendly to you and your allies, and it obeys your commands. If you fail to command it, the djinni defends itself against attackers but takes no other actions. After the djinni departs, it canât be
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Masterâs Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     command, such as to attack your enemies or guard a location. Absent commands from you, the snake defends itself. As a Bonus Action, you can command the snake to revert to staff form in its current space
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    Staff of the Python Staff, Uncommon (Requires Attunement) As a Magic action, you can throw this staff so that it lands in an unoccupied space within 10 feet of you, causing the staff to become a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     command, such as to attack your enemies or guard a location. Absent commands from you, the snake defends itself. As a Bonus Action, you can command the snake to revert to staff form in its current space
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    Staff of the Python Staff, Uncommon (Requires Attunement) As a Magic action, you can throw this staff so that it lands in an unoccupied space within 10 feet of you, causing the staff to become a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     djinni appears in an unoccupied space you choose within 120 feet of you. It remains as long as you concentrate (as if concentrating on a spell), to a maximum of 1 hour, or until it drops to 0 hit
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , the djinni defends itself against attackers but takes no other actions. After the djinni departs, it canât be summoned again for 24 hours, and the ring becomes nonmagical if the djinni dies.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Masterâs Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     in an unoccupied space you choose within 120 feet of yourself. It remains as long as you maintain Concentration, to a maximum of 1 hour, or until it drops to 0 Hit Points. While summoned, the djinni is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Friendly to you and your allies, and it obeys your commands. If you fail to command it, the djinni defends itself against attackers but takes no other actions. After the djinni departs, it canât be
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     appears in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. The celestial disappears when it drops to 0 hit points or when the spell ends. The celestial is friendly to you and your companions for the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     donât issue any commands to the celestial, it defends itself from hostile creatures but otherwise takes no actions. The DM has the celestialâs statistics. At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a 9th-level spell slot, you summon a celestial of challenge rating 5 or lower.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     appears in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. The celestial disappears when it drops to 0 hit points or when the spell ends. The celestial is friendly to you and your companions for the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     donât issue any commands to the celestial, it defends itself from hostile creatures but otherwise takes no actions. The DM has the celestialâs statistics. At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a 9th-level spell slot, you summon a celestial of challenge rating 5 or lower.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     to the Underdark. If you use an action to speak the command word and throw the feather into a Large unoccupied space on the ground within 5 feet of you, the feather becomes a living diatryma for up
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     damage instead of slashing damage. The creature is friendly to you and your companions, and it can be used as a mount. It understands your languages and obeys your spoken commands. If you issue no commands, the diatryma defends itself but takes no other actions.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     spirit that takes the form of a beast of challenge rating 6 or lower. It appears in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. The fey creature disappears when it drops to 0 hit points or when the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     action required by you), as long as they donât violate its alignment. If you donât issue any commands to the fey creature, it defends itself from hostile creatures but otherwise takes no actions. If
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     spirit that takes the form of a beast of challenge rating 6 or lower. It appears in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. The fey creature disappears when it drops to 0 hit points or when the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     action required by you), as long as they donât violate its alignment. If you donât issue any commands to the fey creature, it defends itself from hostile creatures but otherwise takes no actions. If
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     5 or lower appropriate to the area you chose appears in an unoccupied space within 10 feet of it. For example, a fire elemental emerges from a bonfire, and an earth elemental rises up from the ground
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     own turns. It obeys any verbal commands that you issue to it (no action required by you). If you donât issue any commands to the elemental, it defends itself from hostile creatures but otherwise takes
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     5 or lower appropriate to the area you chose appears in an unoccupied space within 10 feet of it. For example, a fire elemental emerges from a bonfire, and an earth elemental rises up from the ground
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     own turns. It obeys any verbal commands that you issue to it (no action required by you). If you donât issue any commands to the elemental, it defends itself from hostile creatures but otherwise takes
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     command word and throw the figurine to a point on the ground within 60 feet of you, the figurine becomes a living creature in one of two forms (you choose). If there isnât enough space for the creature
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     your languages and obeys your spoken commands. If you issue no commands, the creature defends itself but takes no other actions. The creature exists for a duration specific to each form. At the end
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Infernal Machine Rebuild
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     fight. The unicorn Banrion defends her home and its inhabitants with her life. If the characters threaten or attack her here, she fights to the finish, refusing to teleport away. But if the characters
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     territories in Greyhawkâs world of Oerth.
 Opposing him was his former general, Leuk-O, who discovered a second artifactâa ârelic of a visiting race of space travelers.â This magic suit of powered armor
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Masterâs Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     fully as NPCs on separate sheets (perhaps using the NPC Tracker in chapter 3). Similarly, the Bastion Tracker provides space to indicate the space of each special facility, but encourage players to draw
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Friendly monster, such as a brass dragon or a treant. If your Bastion is attacked while this monster is your guest, it defends your Bastion, and you lose no Bastion Defenders. The monster leaves after it
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tyranny of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    3. Cyclopesâ Pasture You emerge from the path into an area far larger than any open area you expected to encounter in the maze garden. This rectangular space must be ninety feet across, with its far
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     cyclops defends itself if attacked, and killing them changes nothing. The characters still need to propel a stone farther than the cyclops did to get back to the sundial. When the characters beat the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     their duty above mortal life. If threatened, a sphinx of valor defends its charge with its supernaturally empowered roar and fierce strikes. Sphinx of Valor Large Celestial, Lawful Neutral
 AC 17
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     sphinx can teleport up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space it can see, and it makes one Claw attack.
 Weight of Years. Constitution Saving Throw: DC 16, one creature the sphinx can see within 120 feet
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Rise of Tiamat
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    3. Cyclopesâ Pasture You emerge from the path into an area far larger than any open area you expected to encounter in the maze garden. This rectangular space must be ninety feet across, with its far
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     cyclops defends itself if attacked, and killing them changes nothing. The characters still need to propel a stone farther than the cyclops did to get back to the sundial. When the characters beat the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     ground within 60 feet of yourself, the figurine becomes a living creature specified in the figurineâs description below. If the space where the creature would appear is occupied by other creatures or
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     objects, or if there isnât enough space for the creature, the figurine doesnât become a creature. The creature is Friendly to you and your allies. It understands your languages, obeys your commands
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     throw the figurine to a point on the ground within 60 feet of you, the figurine becomes a living creature. If the space where the creature would appear is occupied by other creatures or objects, or
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     if there isnât enough space for the creature, the figurine doesnât become a creature. The creature is friendly to you and your companions. It understands your languages and obeys your spoken commands
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Masterâs Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     throw the figurine to a point on the ground within 60 feet of you, the figurine becomes a living creature. If the space where the creature would appear is occupied by other creatures or objects, or
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     if there isnât enough space for the creature, the figurine doesnât become a creature. The creature is friendly to you and your companions. It understands your languages and obeys your spoken commands
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Masterâs Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     ground within 60 feet of yourself, the figurine becomes a living creature specified in the figurineâs description below. If the space where the creature would appear is occupied by other creatures or
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     objects, or if there isnât enough space for the creature, the figurine doesnât become a creature. The creature is Friendly to you and your allies. It understands your languages, obeys your commands
                                                
                                            
                                        






