Level
2nd
Casting Time
1 Bonus Action
Range/Area
Self
Components
V
Duration
Instantaneous
School
Conjuration
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Teleportation
Briefly surrounded by silvery mist, you teleport up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space that you can see.
So it can be casted at will when playing a wizard... Damn.
what makes you think that? Its a second level spell. Unless you have unlimited spell slots thats no.
Is it possible to add more distance?
does that mean it can't take weapons along?
I assume they're referring to Spell Mastery at 18th level.
This forum thread addresses this pretty thoroughly:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/103175-misty-step-and-objects
Since the spell doesn't specify a way to add distance, no. While there are ways to affect the "range" of some spells (though not Misty Step that I'm aware of), the range of Misty Step is "Self", with the 30ft limitation specified in the text. There's not really any way to modify arbitrary numbers found in the effect of a spell.
This basically makes you Nightcrawler for a turn
no, it's instant and you teleport 30 feet. unless something moves faster than you can say a word, you're good
Could be a good way to dismember an enemy
Absolutely.
You can also teleport to a location that you don't actually have line of sight to, if you have some other way of seeing it (a familiar, scrying spell, etc.) and it's within range.
I would definitely allow something like this if only 1/2 to 2/3 distance with a dexterity (acrobatics) check to see if both of you go prone at the end of it.
Can you Misty Step while actively Blinking?
Lvl 19 epic boon btw
If you mean while you're in the Ethereal Plane due to casting the Blink spell, then sure, I don't see why not. But Misty Step won't take you back out of the Ethereal Plane.
gay
I'd let the DM decide. Personally I like to percieve it as star trek teleportation, where you're briefly transformed into a misty vapour and instantly reconstruct at the target destination, thus breaking free of a grapple. Since it's only a vocal spell no special body language is needed therefor a grapple won't hinder casting it
exactly. your steed is included in self because of the way Find Steed work where you and your steed could as one (self) target. the instantaneous doesn't matter because when you cast a spell there's always the element of intention, the same that allows you to choose where you appear. people trying to fight against this are being silly tbh. 1 the steed from find steed is counted within self, and enemy you grapple or that grapples you is still an enemy and not part of your unit (self). there is also meta magic that could augment this to affect other party members, but your enemy is your enemy not an ally, not a willing participant and that makes counding it as self much harder.
since its a bonus action. can you cast this twice during your turn?
No. You can only take one bonus action on your turn.