Level
1st
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
Touch
Components
V, S, M *
Duration
Concentration
10 Minutes
School
Abjuration
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Buff (...)
Until the spell ends, one willing creature you touch is protected against certain types of creatures: aberrations, celestials, elementals, fey, fiends, and undead.
The protection grants several benefits. Creatures of those types have disadvantage on attack rolls against the target. The target also can't be charmed, frightened, or possessed by them. If the target is already charmed, frightened, or possessed by such a creature, the target has advantage on any new saving throw against the relevant effect.
* - (holy water or powdered silver and iron, which the spell consumes)
"A cleric or paladin may create holy water by performing a special ritual. The ritual takes 1 hour to perform, uses 25 gp worth of powdered silver, and requires the caster to expend a 1st-level spell slot."
I believe RAI, the casting of the spell requires the same amount of Holy Water as a cleric or paladin can produce in this ritual, costing 25 GP worth of materials.
Anyone know why this isn't on the Druid spell list in D&D Beyond? Per Tasha's it's available to Druids.
too bad it doesnt work on constructs
Just used this in my campaign as a cleric
Because a single 1st level spell would let you trivialize Curse of Strahd.
Is that an official ruling of some kind? Because that's not what the rules in the PHB imply.
Let's leave the spellcomponent pouch out to keep the phrasing simple. When I say "focus" that refers to "spellcasting focus". Both the following statements are true, with respect to a cleric wanting to provide the materials for "Protection from Evil and Good":
1) No cost is indicated for the component, therefore one may use their focus in place of material components.
2) The spell states that the material component is consumed, therefore the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.
The spell simply consumes the focus (or component pouch) if it is used in place of the specified components. For all practical purposes, the spell has a cost of 5gp and the components weigh 1lb. each.
I've seen the reasoning that statement 1 cannot apply because statement 2 applies before, but that is not the case. The two statements do not contradict each other.
If this spell protects from fey, does it imply it protects from all elves? Or just some elves?
In 5e, Elves are generally Humanoids, not Fey. They have some Fey in their ancestry, but not enough for it to change their creature type - similar to how Tieflings have Fiend ancestry, but are still classified as Humanoids.
The exception to this is the Eladrin, which is where it gets confusing. The description of the playable race Eladrin lists their creature type as Humanoid, but the monster stat blocks for Eladrin from things like Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse list their creature type as Fey. Inconsistencies like this are up to the DM to resolve.
"Protection from Certain Types of Creatures" - this spell has nothing to do with Good or Evil. Elementals, notably, are mostly Neutral.