Choose one creature or nonmagical object that you can see within range. You transform the creature into a different creature, the creature into a nonmagical object, or the object into a creature (the object must be neither worn nor carried by another creature). The spell lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. If you concentrate on this spell for the full duration, the spell lasts until it is dispelled.
This spell has no effect on a shapechanger or a creature with 0 hit points. An unwilling creature can make a Wisdom saving throw, and if it succeeds, it isn’t affected by this spell.
Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s (or its level, if the target doesn’t have a challenge rating). The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the new form. It retains its alignment and personality.
The target assumes the hit points of its new form, and when it reverts to its normal form, the creature returns to the number of hit points it had before it transformed. If it reverts as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to its normal form. As long as the excess damage doesn’t reduce the creature’s normal form to 0 hit points, it isn’t knocked unconscious.
The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can’t speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech, unless its new form is capable of such actions.
The target’s gear melds into the new form. The creature can’t activate, use, wield, or otherwise benefit from any of its equipment.
Object into Creature. You can turn an object into any kind of creature, as long as the creature’s size is no larger than the object’s size and the creature’s challenge rating is 9 or lower. The creature is friendly to you and your companions. It acts on each of your turns. You decide what action it takes and how it moves. The GM has the creature’s statistics and resolves all of its actions and movement.
If the spell becomes permanent, you no longer control the creature. It might remain friendly to you, depending on how you have treated it.
Creature into Object. If you turn a creature into an object, it transforms along with whatever it is wearing and carrying into that form, as long as the object’s size is no larger than the creature’s size. The creature’s statistics become those of the object, and the creature has no memory of time spent in this form, after the spell ends and it returns to its normal form.
* - (a drop of mercury, a dollop of gum arabic, and a wisp of smoke)
"new year new me"
lol
by holding concentration for an hour
No, once the spell becomes permanent, it can only be reversed with dispel magic or some other anti-magic effect. If you fall unconscious, you’re still in that form. You can die as a dragon without ever reverting back. The point is that you no longer have to maintain concentration to stay in the new form. Otherwise you couldn’t go to sleep either without changing back.
If someone is turned into an object do they still age? Like, if you turned some random 20 year old commoner into a rock and it was 1000 years before they hit 0 hit points and reverted to their true form would they be 20 and be okay or 1020 and immediately die?
So if you pair this with a wooden box and you make it into a customized Unspeakable Horror from Van Richtens, do you essentially have an eldritch horror buddy?
Why it doesn't have the part that states it become permanent if you maintain concentration for the whole duration?
Why isn't anyone mentioning that you can Use this to tpk just have them fight a group of wizards and true poly them into objects and better yet have someone cast charm on them so they can’t even fight back
Can anyone tell whether a true polymorphed creature after an hour still can be targeted by regular Polymorph?
But thats Not technically permanent though, if something can be dispelled then it’s not a permanent thing.
Yes definitely turning some tortoises into lumps of platinum for my retirement plan
Can you dispel a permanent teleportation circle? Permanent doesn't mean impossible to undo.
So, let's say I accidentally killed the fighter with AOE. Could I turn an enemy into a diamond with enough value for the cleric to bring him back? IF so what happens to the enemy since the spell consumes the diamond?
Wierd question if I transform into a pit fiend can I still cast class spells as the form is capable of spell casting or do I lose all class stuff as part of my replaced statistics
can you concentrate as a dragon?????
It doesn’t specify under Creature into Object whether the object can be a magic item, or a gp limit.
I can see some uses for this, but first…
It states that the creature doesn’t remember their time as an object once the spell ends, but what if the object is a sentient magic item, or a ring of mind shielding?
Also, I can totally imagine someone farming turning random animals into adamantine warhammers and selling them. Just don’t try to melt them down or… suddenly your forge will smell like burning venison… or something else.
Imagine this paired with Soul Cage. Convince your follower to let themselves be trapped in a gem (a large amethyst for example), then put the gem into a statue of a young dragon (amethyst for example), then turn the statue into an actual young dragon.
Here’s another idea— Baby…Dragon…Farm.
*casts stone shape on some rocks to shape them into a statue of a baby dragon*
*has a garden of baby dragon statues*
*once a day turns a statue into an actual baby dragon*
*raises them as his/her children/minions using Wish to cast clone to maintain immortality*
*bides his/her time then takes over world*
Woahwoahwoah… Using enemies as Material Components! WOAH!
Its sad there isn’t an object into object option, we have everything else.
Crazy Plan:
Get to CR 21 somehow
True Polymorph into a Lich. Stay that way for an hour, making it permanent
Lich it up forever. If someone takes you down, you both pop into your original form, minus a few HP AND re-form at your phylactery. Now there are two of you, and one is a Lich.
Gang up on your killers.
Repeat, doubling yourself each time
/silly
Cast it twice. Object to creature, creature to other object.
Yeah, but a creature (and object I assume) cannot be under the effect of the same spell multiple times, i.e. multiple Enlarge or Haste. I assume True Polymorph would follow the same rules. Also, having an object turn into an object cost 2 9th level spell slots is just weird.