Choose one creature or nonmagical object that you can see within range. You transform the creature into a different creature, the creature into a nonmagical object, or the object into a creature (the object must be neither worn nor carried by another creature). The spell lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. If you concentrate on this spell for the full duration, the spell lasts until it is dispelled.
This spell has no effect on a shapechanger or a creature with 0 hit points. An unwilling creature can make a Wisdom saving throw, and if it succeeds, it isn’t affected by this spell.
Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s (or its level, if the target doesn’t have a challenge rating). The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the new form. It retains its alignment and personality.
The target assumes the hit points of its new form, and when it reverts to its normal form, the creature returns to the number of hit points it had before it transformed. If it reverts as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to its normal form. As long as the excess damage doesn’t reduce the creature’s normal form to 0 hit points, it isn’t knocked unconscious.
The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can’t speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech, unless its new form is capable of such actions.
The target’s gear melds into the new form. The creature can’t activate, use, wield, or otherwise benefit from any of its equipment.
Object into Creature. You can turn an object into any kind of creature, as long as the creature’s size is no larger than the object’s size and the creature’s challenge rating is 9 or lower. The creature is friendly to you and your companions. It acts on each of your turns. You decide what action it takes and how it moves. The GM has the creature’s statistics and resolves all of its actions and movement.
If the spell becomes permanent, you no longer control the creature. It might remain friendly to you, depending on how you have treated it.
Creature into Object. If you turn a creature into an object, it transforms along with whatever it is wearing and carrying into that form, as long as the object’s size is no larger than the creature’s size. The creature’s statistics become those of the object, and the creature has no memory of time spent in this form, after the spell ends and it returns to its normal form.
* - (a drop of mercury, a dollop of gum arabic, and a wisp of smoke)
so if i used this to turn someone into an egg and then crushed or eat it what would happen
WHY IS THERE NO OBJECT TO OBJECT???
Considering that you have just become a troll, as the DM I would say no considering your new wisdom score.
i love getting to level 17 as a wizard and casting this on an abandoned cart or something of like and getting a young blue dragon companion or somethin like that it feels awesome
Question to clarify something here. Would a character or NPC capable of casting this spell be able to, in theory, transform their enemies into harmless and at least somewhat durable objects of no recognizable worth or significance and just place them in locations where they would become lost easily? For example, a gold coin given to a shopkeeper for some goods, a pebble placed among a mountain or gulch or a random wooden knick-knack to be sold to a curio owner. Could someone do this and just have that be how they get rid of rivals and people who would otherwise get in their way?
So question …
if I were a level 20 Crit chicken (oh wait wrong game ) I mean a Druid and I turned myself into a CR 20 elemental would I basically be immortal till it was dispelled or I was killed?
plot of a campaign in which 4 arch druids TP themselves into immortal guardians of (insert artifact here) each of them taking the shape of a different high lvl elemental.
thanks in advance for the input
Always remember to check the bottom to see who can cast the spell. True Polymorph is only available to Bards, Warlocks, and Wizards.
While the MM does say this, I have to disagree with the conclusion you are coming to. I don't believe that this statement has any bearing on the polymorph line of spells. Allow me to explain my interpretation. If you look at the language used "assumes the form" both wild shape and shape change use this language. Both state you "assume the form" and both explicitly state you can not use legendary actions. The polymorph line uses a different language "you transform" and does not carry the statement about not being able to use legendary actions. With both wild shape and shape change you are not "becoming" said thing just using its form. This is why you do not take on the mental statistics. The polymorph line you "become" said thing and take on it's mental statistics. That is why I believe the polymorph line of spells are not affected by this statement. Unlike shape change you are not assuming the form but actually become the thing.
Turn the barbarian into an ancient white dragon, the cleric to a crystal dragon, the rogue into a deep dragon, and yourself into a brass dragon!
So turning someone or something into an object permanently until it's HP is 0 or whatever, is not possible with this 9th level spell?
Let's say I want to turn a person into a weapon? Or a decoration?
I can't do that for more then 1 hour?
can this turn someone into a pickle
Imagine if you used this spell to turn into a T Rex like with regular Polymorph.
Yes
I think this was confirmed in Sage Advice by Jeremy Crawford. You do not get Legendary Actions, but you do get Legendary Resistances.
Can you please update this spell to include the Errata that you don't gain the legendary Actions+ Resistances of the creature you turn into. I've just spend 30 minutes planning an encounter with an Archmage, only to discover it does not work. This website should be the place where the most up to date vision of the spell should be included.
Say, if there was a character who could cast this on themselves, but they also happened to be a lycanthrope, would this stop them from using it on themselves?
Quick question, can you use this on yourself? Like, the range is sight but you can look at yourself in a mirror? And another thing, the 'Creature into creature' it says: or its level, if the targets doesn't have a challenge rating. So if you use this on yourself, and have multiclass fully into 2 class, 20-20, could you true polymorph into TIAMAT?
As others may have pointed out:
Polymorphing an already Polymorphed target (permanently or not) isn't technically viable according to DMG and PHB other than one spell overriding/replacing the other:
[either you are stuck a dragon after the dragon-poly (since you can only have one Poly effect active) and deleted your previous Tier 4 True Poly caster or more reasonably, the DM blocks the dragon-poly since you end the True Poly: Dragon to Dragon Poly: Whatever, cancelling out the fact you're a Dragon who can polymorph into something else. Basically, DM should say, "you can't do that without reverting back to a Wizard/normal and casting True Poly again" or just let it fly I guess, lol (or delete your L20)]
As well as this important consideration in MM:
So, given:
Greatly limits some the more liberal/wider interpretations presented, even if the new form is permanent. A creature with a CR is worth experience and by default, an NPC which does not accrue levels. Unless under the effects of a spell like True Polymorph, PCs never have a CR, so leveling a character from 1 as any creature with a CR vs with a level is a reach.
Now, it does say:
But that's because CRs are used to calculate the difficulty of a challenge given their level and therefore, can be used to translate your level, if the target, into a creature list by CR.
Therefore, this also limits what you can actually turn into, as far as creatures go, into generic creatures from the monster list, up to a CR equal to your level (which would be approaching 20) - RAW.
RAI? let it rip!
If this process happened X would now be Z and if dispelled would turn back into X.
This happens because you can only be effected by one instance of the same spell effect at a time, so when the second True Polymorph is cast it overrides the first.
If that was the casr the part talking about the spell becoming permanent would only be under the Object to Creature part of the spell, but it is first mentioned in the main paragraph of the spell indicating it is an effect of the spell that takes place when used in ANY of the 3 possible ways.