I know that this has probably been around a while, but I think it just got much easier.
Variant race with the Eldritch adept (amor of shadows) can (slowly) refill the arcane ward outside of combat by level 2.
Text: ... "While the ward has 0 hit points, it can't absorb damage, but its magic remains. Whenever you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, the ward regains a number of hit points equal to twice the level of the spell."
Mage armor is an abjuration spell. And armor of shadows allows you to cast it at will.
That has always worked under the assumption that you can cast a spell without needing a target for the spell and also that a creature is a valid target if it is already under the effect of the spell.
That is a problem with spell casting as a whole, not just this spell. Otherwise, yeah you are totally right.
That has always worked under the assumption that you can cast a spell without needing a target for the spell and also that a creature is a valid target if it is already under the effect of the spell.
That is a problem with spell casting as a whole, not just this spell. Otherwise, yeah you are totally right.
Mage armor can target yourself and it has been said that the same spell does not stack. Therefore it is logical to assume that you can target yourself over and over again and all it does is refresh the spell duration
I know that this has probably been around a while, but I think it just got much easier.
Variant race with the Eldritch adept (amor of shadows) can (slowly) refill the arcane ward outside of combat by level 2.
Text: ... "While the ward has 0 hit points, it can't absorb damage, but its magic remains. Whenever you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, the ward regains a number of hit points equal to twice the level of the spell."
Mage armor is an abjuration spell. And armor of shadows allows you to cast it at will.
yeah it can now be done without multiclassing, but ive seen people take 2 levels in lock just for that.
That has always worked under the assumption that you can cast a spell without needing a target for the spell and also that a creature is a valid target if it is already under the effect of the spell.
That is a problem with spell casting as a whole, not just this spell. Otherwise, yeah you are totally right.
Buyers Guide for D&D Beyond - Hardcover Books, D&D Beyond and You - How/What is Toggled Content?
Everything you need to know about Homebrew - Homebrew FAQ - Digital Book on D&D Beyond Vs Physical Books
Can't find the content you are supposed to have access to? Read this FAQ.
"Play the game however you want to play the game. After all, your fun doesn't threaten my fun."
I guess they didn't know about Ritual Caster + Alarm trick.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
That's 10 minutes verses 6 seconds (1 action). Besides wizards can learn alarm naturally and they have ritual casting.
Mage armor can target yourself and it has been said that the same spell does not stack. Therefore it is logical to assume that you can target yourself over and over again and all it does is refresh the spell duration
Now a mage can just start handing out +1 Studded Leather cause you can provide mage armor to others XD
This, over a short rest a ritual wont fully recharge your bubble.
every action, no problem to have a full bubble every fight.