If you use the Outlander background, you are given a staff as an extra item. However, it shows up in the inventory as an arcane focus. I kinda doubt that is what is was meant to signify for this background, but there is not a non-focus staff. It is strange to have a arcane focus in your inventory if you are not a caster class. Just my $0.02
This is because backgrounds do not grant weapons and a non-weapon staff is usable as an arcane focus, whether you want to use it as one is a different matter. It just means your character has a staff that just so happens to be usable as an arcane focus if your character were to ever gain the ability to cast such spells.
Arcane focuses are not magically created things. They are ordinary items somebody uses as a way to focus themselves. It's not "magical", - it's just a long piece of wood.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
The outlander background gives you a walking stick. It just so happens that any good walking stick is sufficient for certain spell casters to work their spells with.
The Sailor background includes a belaying pin and parenthetically identifies it as a club, so it's not entirely true that backgrounds do not grant weapons. So I'd say that it's possible for the staff granted by the Outlander background to be used as a weapon, likely similar to a quarterstaff.
If you use the Outlander background, you are given a staff as an extra item. However, it shows up in the inventory as an arcane focus. I kinda doubt that is what is was meant to signify for this background, but there is not a non-focus staff. It is strange to have a arcane focus in your inventory if you are not a caster class. Just my $0.02
This is because backgrounds do not grant weapons and a non-weapon staff is usable as an arcane focus, whether you want to use it as one is a different matter. It just means your character has a staff that just so happens to be usable as an arcane focus if your character were to ever gain the ability to cast such spells.
Arcane focuses are not magically created things. They are ordinary items somebody uses as a way to focus themselves. It's not "magical", - it's just a long piece of wood.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
The outlander background gives you a walking stick. It just so happens that any good walking stick is sufficient for certain spell casters to work their spells with.
And is worth 5gp
The Sailor background includes a belaying pin and parenthetically identifies it as a club, so it's not entirely true that backgrounds do not grant weapons. So I'd say that it's possible for the staff granted by the Outlander background to be used as a weapon, likely similar to a quarterstaff.
I just whipped up a level one barbarian outlander. All I took was the staff from starting equipment and it is listed as Quarterstaff.
It's not just a walking stick.
RAW, any Wooden Staff can be used as a Quarterstaff.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting