I know there's a lot of questions on this but I haven't really seen anyone answer this question.
Magic Stone states:
"You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet."
Does this mean that hurling it with a sling gives it a range of 120 feet with no disadvantage since it's a spell attack?
The range seems to be specific to throwing it, if using a sling I think the range of the sling itself would be used. So 30/120 unless a DM gives you a sling with a different range. I'd probably personally let someone flavor using a sling instead of throwing up to 60 feet without disadvantage, but RAW the 60 feet only seems to apply to throwing it, leaving the sling's range with the attack unaltered.
I know there's a lot of questions on this but I haven't really seen anyone answer this question.
Magic Stone states:
"You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet."
Does this mean that hurling it with a sling gives it a range of 120 feet with no disadvantage since it's a spell attack?
Spell attacks are not immune to disadvantage due to range, that's not a rule. A magic stone fired from a sling is range 30/120 because no rule states otherwise.
If you're using it with a sling then it's a weapon attack, not a spell attack and subject to the rules for such.
According to how it's written, either is a ranged spell attack.
"You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by:
- throwing it
- or hurling it with a sling"
The answer to this question has absolutely no bearing on the answer to your original question, but a magic stone projectile fired from a sling using the magic stone rules (which, as you pointed out, are an optional effect, not a mandatory one) satisfies the criteria both for making a weapon attack and for making a spell attack. No rule in the game states an attack can't be both, and all three options of coercing such an attack to weapon, to spell, or leaving it as both have potentially weird interactions with other rules, so it's best to just ask your DM.
An attack is either a weapon attack (which includes unarmed strikes) or a spell attack. But using a sling to hurl a magic stone is a ranged spell attack with a ranged weapon, which happens to qualify it for Rogue's Sneak Attack.
Granted, it can be a very confusing spell to rule on.
An attack is either a weapon attack (which includes unarmed strikes) or a spell attack. But using a sling to hurl a magic stone is a ranged spell attack with a ranged weapon, which happens to qualify it for Rogue's Sneak Attack.
Granted, it can be a very confusing spell to rule on.
Yeah, even Crawford agrees with that interpretation:
It's an interesting application for it though. I'd personally say it isn't because you're still making a ranged spell attack with the spellcasters modifiers but I could definitely see it being allowed, more so since Crawford gave blessing.
Using a sling to make an attack with a magic stone is a “spell attack made using a ranged weapon,” and has a range of 30/120 as per the rules for a sling. Such an attack is eligible for Sneak Attack, the Archery Fighting Style, the second bullet point of the Sharpshootet feat, and the third bullet point of the Crossbow Expert feat. Technically all ranged attacks already benefit from the second bullet point of the Crossbow Expert feat, even spell attacks.
RAW I believe it would add its bonus to the attack roll, but not the damage roll since it uses the spell’s damage, not the weapon’s. However I rule that it applies to both.
Could one combine Catapult with Magic stone? Catapult spell would be the propellant. Damage stackable?
You could use catapult on an item enchanted with magic stone, but it wouldn't do anything that catapult doesn't do by itself except maybe count as magic weapon damage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I know there's a lot of questions on this but I haven't really seen anyone answer this question.
Magic Stone states:
"You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet."
Does this mean that hurling it with a sling gives it a range of 120 feet with no disadvantage since it's a spell attack?
If you're using it with a sling then it's a weapon attack, not a spell attack and subject to the rules for such.
According to how it's written, either is a ranged spell attack.
"You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by:
- throwing it
- or hurling it with a sling"
The range seems to be specific to throwing it, if using a sling I think the range of the sling itself would be used. So 30/120 unless a DM gives you a sling with a different range. I'd probably personally let someone flavor using a sling instead of throwing up to 60 feet without disadvantage, but RAW the 60 feet only seems to apply to throwing it, leaving the sling's range with the attack unaltered.
Spell attacks are not immune to disadvantage due to range, that's not a rule. A magic stone fired from a sling is range 30/120 because no rule states otherwise.
The answer to this question has absolutely no bearing on the answer to your original question, but a magic stone projectile fired from a sling using the magic stone rules (which, as you pointed out, are an optional effect, not a mandatory one) satisfies the criteria both for making a weapon attack and for making a spell attack. No rule in the game states an attack can't be both, and all three options of coercing such an attack to weapon, to spell, or leaving it as both have potentially weird interactions with other rules, so it's best to just ask your DM.
An attack is either a weapon attack (which includes unarmed strikes) or a spell attack. But using a sling to hurl a magic stone is a ranged spell attack with a ranged weapon, which happens to qualify it for Rogue's Sneak Attack.
Granted, it can be a very confusing spell to rule on.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
Yeah, even Crawford agrees with that interpretation:
https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/652548438966403072?s=20&t=mTVDyhu50UAMxsW3YanYKg
It's an interesting application for it though. I'd personally say it isn't because you're still making a ranged spell attack with the spellcasters modifiers but I could definitely see it being allowed, more so since Crawford gave blessing.
Using a sling makes it applicable for Archery fighting style, crossbow expert, and sharpshooter as well. So it’s definitely worth considering.
Using a sling to make an attack with a magic stone is a “spell attack made using a ranged weapon,” and has a range of 30/120 as per the rules for a sling. Such an attack is eligible for Sneak Attack, the Archery Fighting Style, the second bullet point of the Sharpshootet feat, and the third bullet point of the Crossbow Expert feat. Technically all ranged attacks already benefit from the second bullet point of the Crossbow Expert feat, even spell attacks.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Would a magic sling add its bonuses to magic stone?
RAW I believe it would add its bonus to the attack roll, but not the damage roll since it uses the spell’s damage, not the weapon’s. However I rule that it applies to both.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Could one combine Catapult with Magic stone? Catapult spell would be the propellant. Damage stackable?
You could use catapult on an item enchanted with magic stone, but it wouldn't do anything that catapult doesn't do by itself except maybe count as magic weapon damage.