To make Shell Defense even worse, it prevents you from taking Reactions, which you need use for casting Shield. So yeah.
To get the ability some semblance of usefulness, I'd say that you're not considered prone while you're using it, but you're left prone when you emerge.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
The familiar attacks on its own. With the dragons breath. Natural 17ac, shield spell +5, shield of faith +2, a shield +2??
Shield spell is only for one turn after you cast it in reaction to an attack. Its not for the entire duration of combat unless the combat is over in one round. Of course you can cast it as often as you have slots.
Right now I use my find familiar (tiny spider) ride on my mage hand, with dragons breath. Do my attacking! Lol. So any thoughts to improve or maybe something I’m doing wrong? I was just wondering?
Well RAW says:
Your familiar acts independently of you, but it always obeys your commands. In combat, it rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn. A familiar can't attack, but it can take other actions as normal.
So your familiar doing your attacking is kind of wrong, no?
Right now I use my find familiar (tiny spider) ride on my mage hand, with dragons breath. Do my attacking! Lol. So any thoughts to improve or maybe something I’m doing wrong? I was just wondering?
Well RAW says:
Your familiar acts independently of you, but it always obeys your commands. In combat, it rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn. A familiar can't attack, but it can take other actions as normal.
So your familiar doing your attacking is kind of wrong, no?
Technically Dragon's Breath isn't an attack because it doesn't require you to make an attack roll. It's requires the enemies to make a saving throw. Some DM's will be okay with that - others wouldn't. But that's RAW.
It's also worth noting that the stat blocks for most familiars don't have the "use an item" action, so RAW I don't think it's possible for a familiar to activate an item with charges. (That said, it's entirely the DM's prerogative to rule otherwise.)
It's also worth noting that the stat blocks for most familiars don't have the "use an item" action, so RAW I don't think it's possible for a familiar to activate an item with charges. (That said, it's entirely the DM's prerogative to rule otherwise.)
Activating a magic item is never the [Tooltip Not Found] action.
Activating an Item
Activating some magic items requires a user to do something in particular, such as holding the item and uttering a command word, reading the item if it is a scroll, or drinking it if it is a potion. The description of each item category or individual item details how an item is activated. Certain items use one or more of the following rules related to their activation.
If an item requires an action to activate, that action isn't a function of the Use an Object action, so a feature such as the rogue's Fast Hands can't be used to activate the item.
I would just like to say again thank you to all of you. This has been very enlightening. I’m glad we have a space where we can ask, talk, or discuss all of are thoughts.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
To make Shell Defense even worse, it prevents you from taking Reactions, which you need use for casting Shield. So yeah.
To get the ability some semblance of usefulness, I'd say that you're not considered prone while you're using it, but you're left prone when you emerge.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Shield spell is only for one turn after you cast it in reaction to an attack. Its not for the entire duration of combat unless the combat is over in one round. Of course you can cast it as often as you have slots.
Well RAW says:
So your familiar doing your attacking is kind of wrong, no?
Technically Dragon's Breath isn't an attack because it doesn't require you to make an attack roll. It's requires the enemies to make a saving throw. Some DM's will be okay with that - others wouldn't. But that's RAW.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
It's also worth noting that the stat blocks for most familiars don't have the "use an item" action, so RAW I don't think it's possible for a familiar to activate an item with charges. (That said, it's entirely the DM's prerogative to rule otherwise.)
Activating a magic item is never the [Tooltip Not Found] action.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
My mistake, it would appear I had my rules mixed up.
(I'm still not sure if it would work RAW or not, but if a DM rules that it's fine, then it's fine.)
I would just like to say again thank you to all of you. This has been very enlightening. I’m glad we have a space where we can ask, talk, or discuss all of are thoughts.