I have a question in regards to the Haste spell and Polearm Master (PAM). If I casts haste on myself (using the spell casting action) and use haste to do that single attack action, (making an attack with one weapon only) is that enough to make the bonus attack with PAM?
PAM requires you to take the attack action, and haste says that you can make an attack, but only 1 attack. Is that enough to trigger the bonus action? Or does it have to be your main action being the attack action to use PAMs back end to attack?
My original thinking was that the hasted attack action is not the same as your regular attack action and therefore would not trigger the bonus attack from PAM.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
‘A’OHE PU’U KI’EKI’E KE HO’A’O ‘IA E PI’I – (No cliff is so tall it cannot be climbed.)
Yes. You only need to make at least one attack during your Attack Action. It doesn't matter if it is your first, second, or third action (Action Surge) when the Attack Action is taken.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
Yes, haste says you take a modified attack action that does only one attack but it's still an attack action as described by the feat. The wording of pole arm master is: "When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end of the weapon."
The wording of haste is : "That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action."
For you to not be able to make a bonus action attack it would have to have been worded so the attack was not an Attack action for example by saying "That action can be used only to make one weapon attack; or take the Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action."
I have a question in regards to the Haste spell and Polearm Master (PAM). If I casts haste on myself (using the spell casting action) and use haste to do that single attack action, (making an attack with one weapon only) is that enough to make the bonus attack with PAM?
PAM requires you to take the attack action, and haste says that you can make an attack, but only 1 attack. Is that enough to trigger the bonus action? Or does it have to be your main action being the attack action to use PAMs back end to attack?
My original thinking was that the hasted attack action is not the same as your regular attack action and therefore would not trigger the bonus attack from PAM.
‘A’OHE PU’U KI’EKI’E KE HO’A’O ‘IA E PI’I – (No cliff is so tall it cannot be climbed.)
Yes. You only need to make at least one attack during your Attack Action. It doesn't matter if it is your first, second, or third action (Action Surge) when the Attack Action is taken.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
Yes, haste says you take a modified attack action that does only one attack but it's still an attack action as described by the feat.
The wording of pole arm master is:
"When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end of the weapon."
The wording of haste is :
"That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action."
Its an Attack with a capital A not an attack.
For you to not be able to make a bonus action attack it would have to have been worded so the attack was not an Attack action for example by saying
"That action can be used only to make one weapon attack; or take the Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action."