Monsters with Multiattack + special attack (breath weapon, etc) get everything or one or the other ?
Just reread intro to MM and still not clear.
For example, young green dragon multiattack bite/claw/claw breath weapon poison gas recharge 5-6. First round dragon can multiattack + breath weapon or one or the other ? Second round roll 5-6, four attacks again etc?
Breath weapon (if available) is part of multi attack or full action by itself?
I have been running it as each of your creatures gets a single action just like the PCs do, and multiattack is an action that combines several attacks much like the extra attack feature available to several classes, which allows them to make 2 attacks as an attack action, but not use another action and get an additional attack. So to me it reads like the breath weapon is its own action. A few examples, hopefully at least 1 of which is unambigous and clear.
The Mummys multiattack specifies 1 fist and 1 glare, so it can either make a fist attack, or use its glare, or use its multiattack action to each of them once. An Otyughs multiattack specifies 1 bite and 2 tentacles, meaning that using tentacle slam would be a turn on its own and can not be combined with either bite or tentacle attacks. The young green dragon can on its turn either take the bite attack action, or take the claw attack action, or take the breath weapon action, or take the multiattack action which contains 1 bite attack and 2 claw attacks.
I think in most cases the multiattack feature always lists which attacks it uses for it. So I would say no, the breath attack wouldn't work with multiattack
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews!Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
I’m pretty sure that’s not correct . Multiattack (dragon) always means all 3 bite claw claw.
question is breath when available is part of that or full attack action on its own and doesn’t stack .
I agree, taking the multiattack option will mean bite, claw, claw. But bite and claw are also listed as actions in their own right, it is just that there are a vanishingly small number of niche situations where you might want your dragon to make a single bite or claw rather than using multiattack to get a bite and 2 claws.
In the monsters stat block, each heading in bold is an action, so pick one of the things listed in bold and apply all relevant non bold text that explains the effects.
I have been running it as each of your creatures gets a single action just like the PCs do, and multiattack is an action that combines several attacks much like the extra attack feature available to several classes, which allows them to make 2 attacks as an attack action, but not use another action and get an additional attack. So to me it reads like the breath weapon is its own action. A few examples, hopefully at least 1 of which is unambigous and clear.
The Mummys multiattack specifies 1 fist and 1 glare, so it can either make a fist attack, or use its glare, or use its multiattack action to each of them once. An Otyughs multiattack specifies 1 bite and 2 tentacles, meaning that using tentacle slam would be a turn on its own and can not be combined with either bite or tentacle attacks. The young green dragon can on its turn either take the bite attack action, or take the claw attack action, or take the breath weapon action, or take the multiattack action which contains 1 bite attack and 2 claw attacks.
This is all correct. Monsters only get 1 action (unless otherwise stated) same as players. Each attack is (or at least can be) its own action. Multiattack combines only the attacks/actions it say it does.
I would have the dragon start with its breath attack most of the time if it can hit multiple targets, then use its multiattack until it's breath weapon recharges.
Dragons can be fearsome enemies. Adult dragons will make use of their frightful presence. Although not listed, it‘s not uncommon for dragons to cast spells as well. A clever played dragon will avoid entering the attack range zone of the adventurers, if possible. They are fast(er) and could hurl boulders/tree’s from above when outside, or use the environment to their advantage. They don‘t reach their age without reason, and will have time to pursue the adventurers in their worst situation, when they are exhausted, and when ammunition and resources are gone. Multiattack can be spread across multiple opponents, if needed.
Monsters get a SINGLE action on their turn, unless their stat block specifies otherwise.
If the monster has the Multiattack action available to them, that allows them to make multiple attacks as designated under that action. It will usually be quite specific, such as, "May make two claw attacks and one bite attack"
And if I'm not mistaken SOME multiattack action texts say you can replace a bite with some other attack. I'll have to search my MM and Volos for an example.
I'm not totally mistaken, however I do concede the point when it comes to breath attacks. I can't find that example.
Monsters with Multiattack + special attack (breath weapon, etc) get everything or one or the other ?
Just reread intro to MM and still not clear.
For example, young green dragon multiattack bite/claw/claw breath weapon poison gas recharge 5-6. First round dragon can multiattack + breath weapon or one or the other ? Second round roll 5-6, four attacks again etc?
Breath weapon (if available) is part of multi attack or full action by itself?
I have been running it as each of your creatures gets a single action just like the PCs do, and multiattack is an action that combines several attacks much like the extra attack feature available to several classes, which allows them to make 2 attacks as an attack action, but not use another action and get an additional attack. So to me it reads like the breath weapon is its own action. A few examples, hopefully at least 1 of which is unambigous and clear.
The Mummys multiattack specifies 1 fist and 1 glare, so it can either make a fist attack, or use its glare, or use its multiattack action to each of them once.
An Otyughs multiattack specifies 1 bite and 2 tentacles, meaning that using tentacle slam would be a turn on its own and can not be combined with either bite or tentacle attacks.
The young green dragon can on its turn either take the bite attack action, or take the claw attack action, or take the breath weapon action, or take the multiattack action which contains 1 bite attack and 2 claw attacks.
I’m pretty sure that’s not correct . Multiattack (dragon) always means all 3 bite claw claw.
question is breath when available is part of that or full attack action on its own and doesn’t stack .
I think in most cases the multiattack feature always lists which attacks it uses for it. So I would say no, the breath attack wouldn't work with multiattack
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews! Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
I agree, taking the multiattack option will mean bite, claw, claw. But bite and claw are also listed as actions in their own right, it is just that there are a vanishingly small number of niche situations where you might want your dragon to make a single bite or claw rather than using multiattack to get a bite and 2 claws.
In the monsters stat block, each heading in bold is an action, so pick one of the things listed in bold and apply all relevant non bold text that explains the effects.
This is all correct. Monsters only get 1 action (unless otherwise stated) same as players. Each attack is (or at least can be) its own action. Multiattack combines only the attacks/actions it say it does.
I would have the dragon start with its breath attack most of the time if it can hit multiple targets, then use its multiattack until it's breath weapon recharges.
Dragons can be fearsome enemies. Adult dragons will make use of their frightful presence. Although not listed, it‘s not uncommon for dragons to cast spells as well. A clever played dragon will avoid entering the attack range zone of the adventurers, if possible. They are fast(er) and could hurl boulders/tree’s from above when outside, or use the environment to their advantage. They don‘t reach their age without reason, and will have time to pursue the adventurers in their worst situation, when they are exhausted, and when ammunition and resources are gone. Multiattack can be spread across multiple opponents, if needed.
Monsters get a SINGLE action on their turn, unless their stat block specifies otherwise.
If the monster has the Multiattack action available to them, that allows them to make multiple attacks as designated under that action. It will usually be quite specific, such as, "May make two claw attacks and one bite attack"
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
And if I'm not mistaken SOME multiattack action texts say you can replace a bite with some other attack. I'll have to search my MM and Volos for an example.
I'm not totally mistaken, however I do concede the point when it comes to breath attacks. I can't find that example.
The Multiattack cost and Action. The Breath Weapon costs an action. You only get one action per turn
DM of Amnian Nights: The Blackmore Saga
Homebrew Listings: A Fine Mustache (Magic Item), Icicle (magic item), Malice (magic item), Restore Undead (spell), Hex Bolt (spell), Healing Salve (consumable)
chimera
It's pretty specific.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Thank you. Knew it was there. That's why I conceded. It's has to say it is an option to be an option.