Can my warlock/fighter combine these to deal extra damage to a second target?
Green Flame Blade
“As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell's range, otherwise the spell fails. On a hit, the target suffers the attack's normal effects, and green fire leaps from the target to a different creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of it. The second creature takes fire damage equal to your spellcasting ability modifier.“
Sweeping Attack
“When you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to attempt to damage another creature with the same attack. Choose another creature within 5 feet of the original target and within your reach. If the original attack roll would hit the second creature, it takes damage equal to the number you roll on your superiority die. The damage is of the same type dealt by the original attack.”
I can't see anything that would prevent it working together. The first creature gets normal damage, then a second (or you could target two different other creatures in range) take damage from green flame automatically plus from the superiority dice if the attack roll was high enough to hit both creatures.
Dramatic, but probably easily outdone by a normal Attack action once you get an extra attack feature.
The wording "with the same attack" refers to the action type, not the details pertaining that specific attack. It means you don't need to use a Bonus Action or a Reaction or anything similar to do a Sweeping Attack.
In fact, the Sweeping Attack maneuver doesn't even do the attack's normal damage; it only does damage equal to your superiority die - any other effects of the attack, including spells enhancing it or traits such as a rolled 20 for a Vorpal Sword are focused on the primary target.
That said, you can assign the same (other) creature as a secondary target with both the Sweeping Attack and the "splash" effect of Green Flame Blade without issues.
Of course, your DM may decide otherwise - I've seen generous DMs in such things before - and there's no particular problem with it. Just be careful of Vorpal Swords. :p
Edit: That's assuming you meant what I thought you meant (having Green Flame Blade carry it's primary effect with the Sweeping Attack so it can target an additional (third) creature. RegentCorreon's (ninja) comment above leads me to believe this may not be the case, in which case I'd just direct you to the fourth "paragraph" of my answer. :p
All I wanted to know was if I could deal extra damage to the second target. Looks like that is the case yeah?
To use green flame blade I must do a normal attack first. So I assume the sweeping attack damage will be of that normal attack, and not get mixed up with the spell at all.
Here is a quote from Sage Advice. The most relevant part was underlined by me in regards to this specific question:
Can you use green-flame blade and booming blade with Extra Attack, opportunity attacks, Sneak Attack, and other weapon attack options? Introduced in the Sword Coast Adventurer’s Guide, the green-flame blade and booming blade spells pose a number of questions, because they each do something unusual: require you to make a melee attack with a weapon as part of the spell’s casting. First, each of these spells involves a normal melee weapon attack, not a spell attack, so you use whatever ability modifier you normally use with the weapon. (A spell tells you if it includes a spell attack, and neither of these spells do.) For example, if you use a longsword with green-flame blade, you use your Strength modifier for the weapon’s attack and damage rolls. Second, neither green-flame blade nor booming blade works with Extra Attack or any other feature that requires the Attack action. Like other spells, these cantrips require the Cast a Spell action, not the Attack action, and they can’t be used to make an opportunity attack, unless a special feature allows you to do so. Third, these weapon attacks work with Sneak Attack if they fulfill the normal requirements for that feature. For example, if you have the Sneak Attack feature and cast greenflame blade with a finesse weapon, you can deal Sneak Attack damage to the target of the weapon attack if you have advantage on the attack roll and hit.
But the feature in question, Sweeping Attack, does not mention or require the Attack action in any way. It says "when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack", while the spell asks you to "make a melee attack with a weapon". You are correct that the spell can't be used to enhance any attacks associated with another action but, for me, there is nothing there which indicates that the maneuver cannot be used to enhance a weapon attack of any sort, including one made as part of a Spellcasting action.
Green Flame Blade provides a melee weapon attack, but not the Attack action. So, it can't be used with things that require an attack action, such as Extra Attack or Two Weapon Fighting, but Sweeping Attack only requires a melee weapon attack, not the Attack action.
War Caster AoO. GFB isn't targeting more than one creature initially but with the secondhand effect of the spell and the effect of Sweeping is great for clearing fleeing mobs.
All I wanted to know was if I could deal extra damage to the second target. Looks like that is the case yeah?
To use green flame blade I must do a normal attack first. So I assume the sweeping attack damage will be of that normal attack, and not get mixed up with the spell at all.
Short answer - yes you can attach the Sweeping Attack maneuver to the weapon attack you make as part of Green-Flame Blade. If you hit creature A weapon attack you do your weapon attack damage to creature A, then the secondary damage from GFB hits creature B, and the Superiority Die damage can hit either creature B, or another creature C, assuming all targets meet the necessary conditions(distance, reach, AC, etc). The SD damage is of the same type as the weapon attack. When you've reached 5th level and GFB is dealing damage to the original attack's target, I'd probably still argue that the SD does the weapon's damage type, not the spell's. It's just seems appropriate.
So, you said please *do* revive old threads, so here's another 2-year necromancy....
The Battlemaster tonight wanted to cast Booming Blade, and then enhance it with the manoeuvre Lunging Attack.
BB is a spellcasting action, that gives you a melee weapon attack of range 5'. LA extends the reach of your weapon attack by 5'. This is *different* from trying to use BB with a Polearm (or other Reach weapon); it isn't asking - semantically - for "BB at 10'", it is "range +5'" to the attack BB gives.
So, you said please *do* revive old threads, so here's another 2-year necromancy....
The Battlemaster tonight wanted to cast Booming Blade, and then enhance it with the manoeuvre Lunging Attack.
BB is a spellcasting action, that gives you a melee weapon attack of range 5'. LA extends the reach of your weapon attack by 5'. This is *different* from trying to use BB with a Polearm (or other Reach weapon); it isn't asking - semantically - for "BB at 10'", it is "range +5'" to the attack BB gives.
Yes? Or No?
Regardless of the reach of the weapon attack, whether it's from the weapon property or from something like Lunging Attack, the spell's range is fixed.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can my warlock/fighter combine these to deal extra damage to a second target?
Green Flame Blade
“As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell's range, otherwise the spell fails. On a hit, the target suffers the attack's normal effects, and green fire leaps from the target to a different creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of it. The second creature takes fire damage equal to your spellcasting ability modifier.“
Sweeping Attack
“When you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to attempt to damage another creature with the same attack. Choose another creature within 5 feet of the original target and within your reach. If the original attack roll would hit the second creature, it takes damage equal to the number you roll on your superiority die. The damage is of the same type dealt by the original attack.”
3D Artist - www.charliepharis.com
I can't see anything that would prevent it working together. The first creature gets normal damage, then a second (or you could target two different other creatures in range) take damage from green flame automatically plus from the superiority dice if the attack roll was high enough to hit both creatures.
Dramatic, but probably easily outdone by a normal Attack action once you get an extra attack feature.
Not in any meaningful way, I'm afraid.
The wording "with the same attack" refers to the action type, not the details pertaining that specific attack. It means you don't need to use a Bonus Action or a Reaction or anything similar to do a Sweeping Attack.
In fact, the Sweeping Attack maneuver doesn't even do the attack's normal damage; it only does damage equal to your superiority die - any other effects of the attack, including spells enhancing it or traits such as a rolled 20 for a Vorpal Sword are focused on the primary target.
That said, you can assign the same (other) creature as a secondary target with both the Sweeping Attack and the "splash" effect of Green Flame Blade without issues.
Of course, your DM may decide otherwise - I've seen generous DMs in such things before - and there's no particular problem with it. Just be careful of Vorpal Swords. :p
Edit: That's assuming you meant what I thought you meant (having Green Flame Blade carry it's primary effect with the Sweeping Attack so it can target an additional (third) creature. RegentCorreon's (ninja) comment above leads me to believe this may not be the case, in which case I'd just direct you to the fourth "paragraph" of my answer. :p
All I wanted to know was if I could deal extra damage to the second target. Looks like that is the case yeah?
To use green flame blade I must do a normal attack first. So I assume the sweeping attack damage will be of that normal attack, and not get mixed up with the spell at all.
3D Artist - www.charliepharis.com
But the feature in question, Sweeping Attack, does not mention or require the Attack action in any way. It says "when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack", while the spell asks you to "make a melee attack with a weapon". You are correct that the spell can't be used to enhance any attacks associated with another action but, for me, there is nothing there which indicates that the maneuver cannot be used to enhance a weapon attack of any sort, including one made as part of a Spellcasting action.
As RegentCorreon says, I believe.
Green Flame Blade provides a melee weapon attack, but not the Attack action. So, it can't be used with things that require an attack action, such as Extra Attack or Two Weapon Fighting, but Sweeping Attack only requires a melee weapon attack, not the Attack action.
War Caster AoO. GFB isn't targeting more than one creature initially but with the secondhand effect of the spell and the effect of Sweeping is great for clearing fleeing mobs.
Short answer - yes you can attach the Sweeping Attack maneuver to the weapon attack you make as part of Green-Flame Blade. If you hit creature A weapon attack you do your weapon attack damage to creature A, then the secondary damage from GFB hits creature B, and the Superiority Die damage can hit either creature B, or another creature C, assuming all targets meet the necessary conditions(distance, reach, AC, etc). The SD damage is of the same type as the weapon attack. When you've reached 5th level and GFB is dealing damage to the original attack's target, I'd probably still argue that the SD does the weapon's damage type, not the spell's. It's just seems appropriate.
Hey folks - thread necromancy is a bad thing. Please do revive old threads.
Site Rules & Guidelines || How to Tooltip || Contact Support || Changelog || Pricing FAQ || Homebrew FAQ
If you have questions/concerns, please Private Message me or another moderator.
Wary the wizard who focuses on homebrew, for he can create nightmares that you wouldn't even dream of
So, you said please *do* revive old threads, so here's another 2-year necromancy....
The Battlemaster tonight wanted to cast Booming Blade, and then enhance it with the manoeuvre Lunging Attack.
BB is a spellcasting action, that gives you a melee weapon attack of range 5'. LA extends the reach of your weapon attack by 5'. This is *different* from trying to use BB with a Polearm (or other Reach weapon); it isn't asking - semantically - for "BB at 10'", it is "range +5'" to the attack BB gives.
Yes? Or No?
Regardless of the reach of the weapon attack, whether it's from the weapon property or from something like Lunging Attack, the spell's range is fixed.