so yet again I was sitting at a table where someone claimed something was rules as written, but i was taught otherwise. they claimed that fairies could cast enlarge without concentration, and when i showed them they couldnt they claimed there are races with spells that they dont have to conc on (not things like burning hands or mage hands, we were talking conc spells) the only thing I can think of is spell like abilities, but are there races with conc spells that dont have to conc on them
None that I know of, but there are races that don't need to supply material components for their racial spells. Maybe that's what they were thinking of?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
Agree with Naruhoodie. Can't think of any standard races that allow the casting of a spell that requires concentration without maintaining it with concentration. Many of them exclude the material components and I think one even excludes the somatic but RAW all suggest that the creature can "CAST" the spell and since they explicitly note no need for material components in place, I'd dare say they would have noted no need for concentration if that were possible. Becasue they note that the creature is actually casting the spell all details of the spell should be referred to and used including rules around spellcasting unless there are explicit exceptions written in the race's ability to cast/use it (such as not requiring materials).
Otherwise, ask them to point to the Rules As Written which say otherwise (remembering that "The Rules Don't Say I Can't" (TRDSIC) isn't the same as RAW.
They might be thinking of some non-official or homebrew race. I can say for sure that WBtW Fairy never had a "doesn't need to concentrate" clause, not even when in UA.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
The only thing I can think of is the "Wild Magic Surge" for Sorcerer-Wild Magic. If they roll a spell that requires concentration on the wild magic table, it doesn't require concentration and lasts the full duration. There's no other way to
In regards for Fairies, the UA material had it's flight noted as magical without mention of concentration on a fly spell but Enlarge/Reduce wasn't even a racial spell in UA. There's nothing about a lack of concentration on the new Fairy in MotM.
Some races have non-spell racial traits that are sometimes noted as magical in nature but aren't a casting of a spell, even if they somewhat resemble a spell's ability.
Concentration is a pretty hard limit. Only thing I know that cancels it out is SOME potions that describe an effect similar but not identical to a spell (Potion of Flying)
Concentration is a pretty hard limit. Only thing I know that cancels it out is SOME potions that describe an effect similar but not identical to a spell (Potion of Flying)
Starting at 3rd level, you can cast the faerie fire spell with this trait. Starting at 5th level, you can also cast theenlarge/reduce spell with this trait. Once you cast faerie fire or enlarge/reduce with this trait, you can’t cast that spell with it again until you finish a long rest. You can also cast either of those spells using any spell slots you have of the appropriate level.
So right here in the racials it even says you cast these spells. So they work just like a spell will even another caster can counter spell them if they see it being case.
I can think of creatures that can generate effects that normally require concentration without concentration (for example, Demogorgon (Legacy)), but they aren't exactly races.
Maybe they were under the impression that since it is a racial trait, Fairy Magic, that it was an ability and didn’t need concentration. Even though it says you cast the spell.
so yet again I was sitting at a table where someone claimed something was rules as written, but i was taught otherwise. they claimed that fairies could cast enlarge without concentration, and when i showed them they couldnt they claimed there are races with spells that they dont have to conc on (not things like burning hands or mage hands, we were talking conc spells) the only thing I can think of is spell like abilities, but are there races with conc spells that dont have to conc on them
The description of the race says they can cast Enlarge/Reduce. It does NOT include any wording that changes the standard spellcasting mechanics. Therefore, when the Fairy casts the spell, they have to follow all the normal rules. There are cases where an ability grants an exception to the rules, the most common one I've seen is removing the material component requirement. But as is the norm in 5th Edition D&D, if no specific rule is given, the general rule applies.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
so yet again I was sitting at a table where someone claimed something was rules as written, but i was taught otherwise. they claimed that fairies could cast enlarge without concentration, and when i showed them they couldnt they claimed there are races with spells that they dont have to conc on (not things like burning hands or mage hands, we were talking conc spells) the only thing I can think of is spell like abilities, but are there races with conc spells that dont have to conc on them
None that I know of, but there are races that don't need to supply material components for their racial spells. Maybe that's what they were thinking of?
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
Agree with Naruhoodie. Can't think of any standard races that allow the casting of a spell that requires concentration without maintaining it with concentration. Many of them exclude the material components and I think one even excludes the somatic but RAW all suggest that the creature can "CAST" the spell and since they explicitly note no need for material components in place, I'd dare say they would have noted no need for concentration if that were possible. Becasue they note that the creature is actually casting the spell all details of the spell should be referred to and used including rules around spellcasting unless there are explicit exceptions written in the race's ability to cast/use it (such as not requiring materials).
Otherwise, ask them to point to the Rules As Written which say otherwise (remembering that "The Rules Don't Say I Can't" (TRDSIC) isn't the same as RAW.
They might be thinking of some non-official or homebrew race. I can say for sure that WBtW Fairy never had a "doesn't need to concentrate" clause, not even when in UA.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
The only thing I can think of is the "Wild Magic Surge" for Sorcerer-Wild Magic. If they roll a spell that requires concentration on the wild magic table, it doesn't require concentration and lasts the full duration. There's no other way to
In regards for Fairies, the UA material had it's flight noted as magical without mention of concentration on a fly spell but Enlarge/Reduce wasn't even a racial spell in UA. There's nothing about a lack of concentration on the new Fairy in MotM.
Some races have non-spell racial traits that are sometimes noted as magical in nature but aren't a casting of a spell, even if they somewhat resemble a spell's ability.
Concentration is a pretty hard limit. Only thing I know that cancels it out is SOME potions that describe an effect similar but not identical to a spell (Potion of Flying)
And the ring of obscuring.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Starting at 3rd level, you can cast the faerie fire spell with this trait. Starting at 5th level, you can also cast the enlarge/reduce spell with this trait. Once you cast faerie fire or enlarge/reduce with this trait, you can’t cast that spell with it again until you finish a long rest. You can also cast either of those spells using any spell slots you have of the appropriate level.
So right here in the racials it even says you cast these spells. So they work just like a spell will even another caster can counter spell them if they see it being case.
I can think of creatures that can generate effects that normally require concentration without concentration (for example, Demogorgon (Legacy)), but they aren't exactly races.
Maybe they were under the impression that since it is a racial trait, Fairy Magic, that it was an ability and didn’t need concentration. Even though it says you cast the spell.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
The description of the race says they can cast Enlarge/Reduce. It does NOT include any wording that changes the standard spellcasting mechanics. Therefore, when the Fairy casts the spell, they have to follow all the normal rules. There are cases where an ability grants an exception to the rules, the most common one I've seen is removing the material component requirement. But as is the norm in 5th Edition D&D, if no specific rule is given, the general rule applies.