I was creating a Dragonborn wizard when I saw that one of it's ancestry has lightning. I was wondering if that breath weapon attack has any conditions and what are they?
Do you use the Player's Handbook or Fizban's Treasury of Dragons?
Generally, following the player's handbook, you can use the breath attack once per short rest, it is resisted by the enemy with a DEX save for the lightning breath, the save DC is based off your CON modifier.
Everything else is described in the feature itself.
2. Let me rephrase my question. if I were to use lightning breath on an enemy, would that said enemy be unconscious, stunned, prone or incapacitated?
No, the regular Dragonborn breath weapon does damage but nothing else.
If you use the metallic Dragonborn's from the Fizban'sbook then you get an extra breath weapon at lvl 5 that can push a creature back, knock it prone or make it incapacitated depending on choice.
can you still use you breath weapon if you a lycan
Depends on the wording of the transformation. Any that allows you to keep your racial features allows you to use it (including any that don't say they remove it). For instance, the Order of the Lycan Blood Hunter doesn't take the feature away during your transformation, so it's usable.
can you still use you breath weapon if you a lycan
If you mean a were of some kind, yeah; a lycanthrope retains their statistics except where replaced/superseded by lycanthrope features; mostly immunities, shapechange, and raising STR or DEX to a certain level if it's not there already. Everything else is maintained if you apply the template to a humanoid.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I was creating a Dragonborn wizard when I saw that one of it's ancestry has lightning. I was wondering if that breath weapon attack has any conditions and what are they?
Do you use the Player's Handbook or Fizban's Treasury of Dragons?
Generally, following the player's handbook, you can use the breath attack once per short rest, it is resisted by the enemy with a DEX save for the lightning breath, the save DC is based off your CON modifier.
Everything else is described in the feature itself.
1. I just use this website and don't have the PHB
2. Let me rephrase my question. if I were to use lightning breath on an enemy, would that said enemy be unconscious, stunned, prone or incapacitated?
Dragonborn are free information, you can just go to the Races tab and read up the rules.
The breath weapons from the basic rules / PHB dragonborn are just damage, no conditions.
Thx mate!
No, the regular Dragonborn breath weapon does damage but nothing else.
If you use the metallic Dragonborn's from the Fizban'sbook then you get an extra breath weapon at lvl 5 that can push a creature back, knock it prone or make it incapacitated depending on choice.
If it imposed a condition then the Breath Weapon ability would say so.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
can you still use you breath weapon if you a lycan
Depends on the wording of the transformation. Any that allows you to keep your racial features allows you to use it (including any that don't say they remove it). For instance, the Order of the Lycan Blood Hunter doesn't take the feature away during your transformation, so it's usable.
If you mean a were of some kind, yeah; a lycanthrope retains their statistics except where replaced/superseded by lycanthrope features; mostly immunities, shapechange, and raising STR or DEX to a certain level if it's not there already. Everything else is maintained if you apply the template to a humanoid.