Some cantrip descriptions say that their effects change when you reach higher levels. For example, Mind Sliver: "This spell’s damage increases by 1d6 when you reach certain levels: 5th level (2d6), 11th level (3d6), and 17th level (4d6)."
The RAW seems to be that the damage increases with your character's level, and not just with levels from the class you got the spell from. But I wanted to double check if there's a more specific ruling on this. For example if you take two levels of Warlock and take Mind Sliver as a cantrip, but also take 6 levels of something else like Monk, your character is above 5th level so would Mind Sliver still do 2d6 damage? Thanks in advance.
What it means is that when the character reaches 5th level in the class, the damage increases. Then it does again at 1th and 17th level.
SInce there are no spell levels above 9, this should be fairly obvious.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Only a DM since 1980 (3000+ Sessions) / PhD, MS, MA / Mixed, Bi, Trans, Woman / No longer welcome in the US, apparently
Wyrlde: Adventures in the Seven Cities .-=] Lore Book | Patreon | Wyrlde YT [=-. An original Setting for 5e, a whole solar system of adventure. Ongoing updates, exclusies, more. Not Talking About It / Dubbed The Oracle in the Cult of Mythology Nerds
Some cantrip descriptions say that their effects change when you reach higher levels. For example, Mind Sliver: "This spell’s damage increases by 1d6 when you reach certain levels: 5th level (2d6), 11th level (3d6), and 17th level (4d6)."
The RAW seems to be that the damage increases with your character's level, and not just with levels from the class you got the spell from. But I wanted to double check if there's a more specific ruling on this. For example if you take two levels of Warlock and take Mind Sliver as a cantrip, but also take 6 levels of something else like Monk, your character is above 5th level so would Mind Sliver still do 2d6 damage? Thanks in advance.
Yes, a Warlock 2/Monk 6 would be an 8th level PC and then mind sliver would do 2d6 damage.
Some cantrip descriptions say that their effects change when you reach higher levels. For example, Mind Sliver: "This spell’s damage increases by 1d6 when you reach certain levels: 5th level (2d6), 11th level (3d6), and 17th level (4d6)."
The RAW seems to be that the damage increases with your character's level, and not just with levels from the class you got the spell from. But I wanted to double check if there's a more specific ruling on this. For example if you take two levels of Warlock and take Mind Sliver as a cantrip, but also take 6 levels of something else like Monk, your character is above 5th level so would Mind Sliver still do 2d6 damage? Thanks in advance.
Yes is would, cantrip damage increases with character level.
What it means is that when the character reaches 5th level in the class, the damage increases. Then it does again at 1th and 17th level.
SInce there are no spell levels above 9, this should be fairly obvious.
Only a DM since 1980 (3000+ Sessions) / PhD, MS, MA / Mixed, Bi, Trans, Woman / No longer welcome in the US, apparently
Wyrlde: Adventures in the Seven Cities
.-=] Lore Book | Patreon | Wyrlde YT [=-.
An original Setting for 5e, a whole solar system of adventure. Ongoing updates, exclusies, more.
Not Talking About It / Dubbed The Oracle in the Cult of Mythology Nerds
They were asking Class level vs Character level. The answer is Character level.
Yes, a Warlock 2/Monk 6 would be an 8th level PC and then mind sliver would do 2d6 damage.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting