Yeah, seemed to good to be true, thanks for the quick answer.
Platyboss is misinformed. There is no longer any class feature that says you can cast rituals. In the 2024 rules, any ritual spell you have prepared can be cast as a ritual. Since Magic Initiate says you always have the spell prepared, you can cast it as a ritual.
Yeah, seemed to good to be true, thanks for the quick answer.
Platyboss is misinformed. There is no longer any class feature that says you can cast rituals. In the 2024 rules, any ritual spell you have prepared can be cast as a ritual. Since Magic Initiate says you always have the spell prepared, you can cast it as a ritual.
I agree. The rules in 2024:
Rituals. Certain spells have the Ritual tag in the Casting Time entry. Such a spell can be cast following the normal rules for spellcasting, or it can be cast as a Ritual. The Ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal, but it doesn’t expend a spell slot. To cast a spell as a Ritual, a spellcaster must have it prepared.
This was different in the 2014 PHB, where only certain classes had the Ritual Caster feature. Alternatively, you needed to take the Ritual Caster feat or be a Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets.
As SagaTympana and tarodnet already correctly stated, All ritual spells can be cast as rituals by any character, there is no longer any limitation.
I would also add, for spell casters, magic initiate is also changed from 2014 in that you now also prepare the spell from magic initiate, allowing you to cast it with a spell slot of any level which can be extra useful for spellcasters.
As SagaTympana and tarodnet already correctly stated, All ritual spells can be cast as rituals by any character, there is no longer any limitation.
I would also add, for spell casters, magic initiate is also changed from 2014 in that you now also prepare the spell from magic initiate, allowing you to cast it with a spell slot of any level which can be extra useful for spellcasters.
If you take a 1st level spell from this feat that has the ritual casting tag are you able to cast it as a ritual?
No, unless you have the class feature that says you can cast spells as rituals.
Roll for Initiative: [roll]1d20+7[/roll]
Proud member of the EVIL JEFF CULT! PRAISE JEFF!
Homebrew Races: HERE Homebrew Spells: HERE Homebrew Monsters: HERE
MORE OF ME! (And platypodes/platypi/platypuses) (Extended signature)
Yeah, seemed to good to be true, thanks for the quick answer.
Platyboss is misinformed. There is no longer any class feature that says you can cast rituals. In the 2024 rules, any ritual spell you have prepared can be cast as a ritual. Since Magic Initiate says you always have the spell prepared, you can cast it as a ritual.
I agree. The rules in 2024:
This was different in the 2014 PHB, where only certain classes had the Ritual Caster feature. Alternatively, you needed to take the Ritual Caster feat or be a Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets.
As SagaTympana and tarodnet already correctly stated, All ritual spells can be cast as rituals by any character, there is no longer any limitation.
I would also add, for spell casters, magic initiate is also changed from 2014 in that you now also prepare the spell from magic initiate, allowing you to cast it with a spell slot of any level which can be extra useful for spellcasters.
That's true! Thanks for mentioning it!
Just for adding more detail, the 2014 Sage Advice Compendium includes some clarifications about the 2014 Magic Initiate.
Outstanding! Thanks folks.