As jreggers said, though it is a wielded weapon it's still a separate action to attack with it, not the Attack action. This also means that a druid/fighter would not be able to use their extra attack feature.
Flame blade is also not stackable with divine smite though, since divine smite requires a melee weapon attack and flame blade is a spell attack
Flame blade doesn't work, not only because it's a spell attack, but also because it isn't a monk weapon. But Shadow Blade does, because all simple weapons are monk weapons.
Flame blade doesn't work, not only because it's a spell attack, but also because it isn't a monk weapon. But Shadow Blade does, because all simple weapons are monk weapons.
You don't need monk weapon to use Flurry of Blows
Flurry of Blows
Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.
nothing about monk weapons here, but you will need to use normal unarmed strikes (dmg = 1+STR mod) (to hit = d20+strmod+prof)
Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons).
Flame blade doesn't work, not only because it's a spell attack, but also because it isn't a monk weapon. But Shadow Blade does, because all simple weapons are monk weapons.
You don't need monk weapon to use Flurry of Blows
Flurry of Blows
Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.
nothing about monk weapons here, but you will need to use normal unarmed strikes (dmg = 1+STR mod) (to hit = d20+strmod+prof)
Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons).
does unarmed strike count as weapon?
Flurry of Blows doesn't require a monk weapon... but the regular Martial Arts bonus attack that doesn't require a ki point does. Honestly not sure whether Flurry of Blows was intended to have the same limitations as Martial Arts bonus attacks, but RAW seems like you're right, although it's probably easier to keep track of at the table if you constrain yourself to Martial Arts rules outside of special situations.
And yes, an unarmed strike counts as a melee weapon attack, even though an unarmed strike is not a melee weapon. See this thread.
If a Druid/Monk uses Flame Blade can he use his bonus action for Flurry of Blows?
Would you allow if it the special effect was that the blade was the shape of a short sword instead of a scimitar?
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
By RAW, no. Flurry of Blows requires you to have taken the Attack action. Attacking with Flame Blade is a melee spell attack but not an Attack action.
As a DM, I might allow it, especially since this does work with Flame Blade and Divine Smite, which only requires a melee attack.
As jreggers said, though it is a wielded weapon it's still a separate action to attack with it, not the Attack action. This also means that a druid/fighter would not be able to use their extra attack feature.
Flame blade is also not stackable with divine smite though, since divine smite requires a melee weapon attack and flame blade is a spell attack
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
Flame blade doesn't work, not only because it's a spell attack, but also because it isn't a monk weapon. But Shadow Blade does, because all simple weapons are monk weapons.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Divine smite requires a melee weapon attack.
An unarmed attack is a melee weapon attack.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
You don't need monk weapon to use Flurry of Blows
nothing about monk weapons here, but you will need to use normal unarmed strikes (dmg = 1+STR mod) (to hit = d20+strmod+prof)
does unarmed strike count as weapon?
Flurry of Blows doesn't require a monk weapon... but the regular Martial Arts bonus attack that doesn't require a ki point does. Honestly not sure whether Flurry of Blows was intended to have the same limitations as Martial Arts bonus attacks, but RAW seems like you're right, although it's probably easier to keep track of at the table if you constrain yourself to Martial Arts rules outside of special situations.
And yes, an unarmed strike counts as a melee weapon attack, even though an unarmed strike is not a melee weapon. See this thread.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
That official errata entry would benefit by removing the phrase "(none of which count as weapons)" for clarification.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Ugh, so it is, I got it the wrong way around. :-(
I stand corrected.