How does it work? At its base it is a +3 Mace. But it cal also become a Flame Tongue Longsword, a Battleaxe, and a Spear. Does a character need proficiency with each weapon in order to fully utilize this item?
Context I am toying with the idea of "gifting" this item to a Fey pact tome warlock player of mine but don't want it to just be passed up due to lack of use. She could use the mace and spear options, but i fear not the flame tongue nor the Battleaxe if she so chose or felt inclined.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Eider, Level 13 Human Abjurer Wizard - Colosseum of Conquest (11W-3L) (Tougher than he looks)
The character could use it, no doubt. They would lack the proficiency modifier on the weapon types they're not proficient with. Perhaps there are moments when the warlock might want to turn it into a magical battleaxe and toss it to the paladin in order to smite a fiend that is immune to fire damage. I'd rule that the attunement counts for the transformative powers (the buttons) and the special abilities (drain life, paralyze and terrify). But once it is transformed, another character could use it to chop an enemy to bits (think of the scene in Pirates of the Carribean 2 where three people use the single sword which they toss around)
How does it work? At its base it is a +3 Mace. But it cal also become a Flame Tongue Longsword, a Battleaxe, and a Spear. Does a character need proficiency with each weapon in order to fully utilize this item?
Context I am toying with the idea of "gifting" this item to a Fey pact tome warlock player of mine but don't want it to just be passed up due to lack of use. She could use the mace and spear options, but i fear not the flame tongue nor the Battleaxe if she so chose or felt inclined.
Eider, Level 13 Human Abjurer Wizard - Colosseum of Conquest (11W-3L) (Tougher than he looks)
She can still use items she isn't proficient with if she desires. Its a powerful magic item, who wouldn't want it?
Perpetually annoyed that Eldritch Knights can't use Eldritch Blast, Eldritch Smite, and Eldritch Sight.
The character could use it, no doubt. They would lack the proficiency modifier on the weapon types they're not proficient with. Perhaps there are moments when the warlock might want to turn it into a magical battleaxe and toss it to the paladin in order to smite a fiend that is immune to fire damage. I'd rule that the attunement counts for the transformative powers (the buttons) and the special abilities (drain life, paralyze and terrify). But once it is transformed, another character could use it to chop an enemy to bits (think of the scene in Pirates of the Carribean 2 where three people use the single sword which they toss around)
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
When it becomes the flame tongue, does it still have the +3 or no? I'm guessing bo because it would say so, but I thought I'd ask
As a player who used this on a fighter human character, it is one of my new favourite items in 5e