I was wondering if the School of Evocation, wizard level 10 ability Empowered Evocation damage bonus benefits cantrips. Just reading it I would have assumed so, but then I started thinking well perhaps cantrips aren’t really considered ‘spells’? I became more uncertain after reading the errata that states Overchannel cannot benefit cantrips (https://media.wizards.com/2016/downloads/DND/PH-Errata.pdf), as to me, the wording of both abilities appears similar.
I welcome any thoughts on the matter, and if this has been referenced somewhere else please let me know.
Empowered Evocation applies to any Evocation spell that has a damage roll - cantrips included. You only add the INT modifier once though, not once per die. So a 10th level wizard casting Fire Bolt would roll 2d10+INT mod. Fireball would be 8d6+INT mod.
The errata about not applying to Cantrips only applies to the 14th level ability Overchannel.
That is what I initially thought (and hoped). For some reason I thought because they both talked about lower level evocation spells, when one singled out cantrips the other did as well. I am relived this is not the case.
One could think of it similar to adding a ability modifier to a weapon hit or Agonizing Blast.