I cannot recall any bonus action cantrips, but yes - if you cast a spell as a cantrip (such as via quicken spell) nothing prevents you from spending your action using the attack action (possibly with numerous weapon attacks).
To add to the previous comments, yes, most definitely. In fact any Bonus Action Spell can also be taken on the same turn as any Action, as long as it isn't a second Spell. Attack, Dodge, Help, Dash, ect, just not a second spell. It's pretty common to use a Bonus Action Spell that affects your attacks and then take the Attack Action.
To add to the previous comments, yes, most definitely. In fact any Bonus Action Spell can also be taken on the same turn as any Action, as long as it isn't a Spell. Attack, Dodge, Help, Dash, ect, just not a second spell. It's pretty common to use a Bonus Action Spell that affects your attacks and then take the Attack Action.
as long as it's a non-cantrip spell. You can cast a bonus action spell if you use your action to cast a cantrip.
Technically yes that's true, but that's not really what I meant since we were talking about a Bonus Action Cantrip. Perhaps I should have said Cantrip to specify, but I kind of wanted to include attempting to cast two non-Cantrip Spells in the same turn. Frankly that part of the rules is rather inconsistent in my opinion.
Technically yes that's true, but that's not really what I meant since we were talking about a Bonus Action Cantrip. Perhaps I should have said Cantrip to specify, but I kind of wanted to include attempting to cast two non-Cantrip Spells in the same turn. Frankly that part of the rules is rather inconsistent in my opinion.
I'm not sure what you mean by inconsistent. Unless you use action surge you CAN'T cast two non-cantrip spells in a turn. Pretty straight forward.
The only complicated part is that a bonus action cantrip or non-cantrip spell can only be combined with a cantrip using a cast a spell action.(You can't cast a non-cantrip spell as your cast a spell action if you cast a spell using a bonus action).
On the other hand, if you use your action to cast a non-cantrip spell then you can't use your bonus action to cast any kind of spell at all.
First, this is starting to get off topic. Second, er... exactly what I meant by inconsistent, thank you for pointing it out. A spell should be a spell, cantrips having different rules is the inconsistency I was talking about. This is why I just let my players cast any type of Spell as long as they have the Action/Bonus Action/Reaction and the Slot. Third, by official rules, no you can't use Action Surge to cast two non-cantrip spells: here.
Technically yes that's true, but that's not really what I meant since we were talking about a Bonus Action Cantrip. Perhaps I should have said Cantrip to specify, but I kind of wanted to include attempting to cast two non-Cantrip Spells in the same turn. Frankly that part of the rules is rather inconsistent in my opinion.
I'm not sure what you mean by inconsistent. Unless you use action surge you CAN'T cast two non-cantrip spells in a turn. Pretty straight forward.
False. You can cast two non-cantrip spells on your turn. You can even cast three. Will explain bit later in the post.
First, this is starting to get off topic. Second, er... exactly what I meant by inconsistent, thank you for pointing it out. A spell should be a spell, cantrips having different rules is the inconsistency I was talking about. This is why I just let my players cast any type of Spell as long as they have the Action/Bonus Action/Reaction and the Slot. Third, by official rules, no you can't use Action Surge to cast two non-cantrip spells: here.
There is no inconsistency, just a misunderstanding of the rules. That Sage Advice doesn't say you cannot use action surge to cast two non-cantrip spells in a turn. Which Jeremy confirms in Sage Advice tweet here. I do agree with you mostly about the whole just letting people use spells as much as they want in the round as long as it fits with bonus/main action slots etc. However, the rule was mostly devised due to Quickened Spell metamagic: a level 18 sorc with 2 levels fighter could just fire 2x disintegrates followed by bonus action quickened spell Power Word Kill -- so, they should have altered how quickened spell works but then the Sorc was already rather underpowered as it was so adding nerfs to the only good thing they have would not go over well.
--
You both seem to be forgetting something: the ruling says nothing about how many non-cantrip spells you can cast a turn, it just says, in simpler terms: if you use a bonus action for a spell, your other spells that turn must be cantrips. That's it.
There is nothing stopping you say, casting Fireball against an enemy, then using Action Surge if you have it to then cast another Fireball. If the enemy decides to use "Hellish Rebuke", you're still free to use your reaction, still on your turn, to cast a third non-cantrip spell like Absorb Elements. Of course you don't need Action Surge to use the reaction, either, so even without AS you can still cast 2 non-cantrip spells on your turn. All because you didn't cast a spell as a bonus action.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Lets say I am a druid and I enter combat and on my first turn cast the cantrip shillelagh then hit something and on my second turn I cast the cantrip poision spray. Can I then on that same second turn afterward hit something again with my still shillelagh-ed quarterstaff?
Lets say I am a druid and I enter combat and on my first turn cast the cantrip shillelagh then hit something and on my second turn I cast the cantrip poision spray. Can I then on that same second turn afterward hit something again with my still shillelagh-ed quarterstaff?
Poison Spray has a 1 Action casting time, so you will be using the Cast A Spell action. So you can't do an Attack action on the same round.
No. That is exactly the OP question. If you cast a cantrip or leveled spell as a bonus action, then your action must not be a leveled spell.
Indeed, conversely, with Clerics and spiritual weapon, you want to do the opposite, so cast a cantrip as your action and spirtual weapon (a levelled spell) as your bonus action. You cannot, however, cast SW as an action because it requires the bonus action. You can use your bonus action first though and then take an action.
I'm sure this has been asked before but after a lengthy search and not finding anything I'm now turning to posting.
So if someone casts a cantrip as a bonus action are they still allowed to take the attack action in the same turn.
I cannot recall any bonus action cantrips, but yes - if you cast a spell as a cantrip (such as via quicken spell) nothing prevents you from spending your action using the attack action (possibly with numerous weapon attacks).
I'm thinking of a Druid and Shillelagh as an example. To get the attack action after casting Shillelagh as a BA.
Yes, that combination is how the spell is intended to be used.
Professional computer geek
To add to the previous comments, yes, most definitely. In fact any Bonus Action Spell can also be taken on the same turn as any Action, as long as it isn't a second Spell. Attack, Dodge, Help, Dash, ect, just not a second spell. It's pretty common to use a Bonus Action Spell that affects your attacks and then take the Attack Action.
as long as it's a non-cantrip spell. You can cast a bonus action spell if you use your action to cast a cantrip.
Technically yes that's true, but that's not really what I meant since we were talking about a Bonus Action Cantrip. Perhaps I should have said Cantrip to specify, but I kind of wanted to include attempting to cast two non-Cantrip Spells in the same turn. Frankly that part of the rules is rather inconsistent in my opinion.
I'm not sure what you mean by inconsistent. Unless you use action surge you CAN'T cast two non-cantrip spells in a turn. Pretty straight forward.
The only complicated part is that a bonus action cantrip or non-cantrip spell can only be combined with a cantrip using a cast a spell action.(You can't cast a non-cantrip spell as your cast a spell action if you cast a spell using a bonus action).
On the other hand, if you use your action to cast a non-cantrip spell then you can't use your bonus action to cast any kind of spell at all.
First, this is starting to get off topic. Second, er... exactly what I meant by inconsistent, thank you for pointing it out. A spell should be a spell, cantrips having different rules is the inconsistency I was talking about. This is why I just let my players cast any type of Spell as long as they have the Action/Bonus Action/Reaction and the Slot. Third, by official rules, no you can't use Action Surge to cast two non-cantrip spells: here.
False. You can cast two non-cantrip spells on your turn. You can even cast three. Will explain bit later in the post.
There is no inconsistency, just a misunderstanding of the rules. That Sage Advice doesn't say you cannot use action surge to cast two non-cantrip spells in a turn. Which Jeremy confirms in Sage Advice tweet here. I do agree with you mostly about the whole just letting people use spells as much as they want in the round as long as it fits with bonus/main action slots etc. However, the rule was mostly devised due to Quickened Spell metamagic: a level 18 sorc with 2 levels fighter could just fire 2x disintegrates followed by bonus action quickened spell Power Word Kill -- so, they should have altered how quickened spell works but then the Sorc was already rather underpowered as it was so adding nerfs to the only good thing they have would not go over well.
--
You both seem to be forgetting something: the ruling says nothing about how many non-cantrip spells you can cast a turn, it just says, in simpler terms: if you use a bonus action for a spell, your other spells that turn must be cantrips. That's it.
There is nothing stopping you say, casting Fireball against an enemy, then using Action Surge if you have it to then cast another Fireball. If the enemy decides to use "Hellish Rebuke", you're still free to use your reaction, still on your turn, to cast a third non-cantrip spell like Absorb Elements. Of course you don't need Action Surge to use the reaction, either, so even without AS you can still cast 2 non-cantrip spells on your turn. All because you didn't cast a spell as a bonus action.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Lets say I am a druid and I enter combat and on my first turn cast the cantrip shillelagh then hit something and on my second turn I cast the cantrip poision spray. Can I then on that same second turn afterward hit something again with my still shillelagh-ed quarterstaff?
Poison Spray has a 1 Action casting time, so you will be using the Cast A Spell action. So you can't do an Attack action on the same round.
Cool I think I understand better now. Not all cantrips can be cast as a bonus action. Thank you!
Indeed. Only a spell with a casting time defined as "1 bonus action" can be cast using a bonus action :-)
what about the other way around? Can you cast a Action Spell with a bonus cantrip?
No. That is exactly the OP question. If you cast a cantrip or leveled spell as a bonus action, then your action must not be a leveled spell.
Indeed, conversely, with Clerics and spiritual weapon, you want to do the opposite, so cast a cantrip as your action and spirtual weapon (a levelled spell) as your bonus action. You cannot, however, cast SW as an action because it requires the bonus action. You can use your bonus action first though and then take an action.
Allowed during your Turn (no Action Surge)
Disallowed during your Turn
Anything not on the table.
So as a sorcerer - Can I cast a cantrip (say minor Illusion) as my action then cast another cantrip (say fire bolt) as my bonus action. Is this ok?
If you spend the sorcery points to quicken one of those spells. This thread went to fair lengths to explain that.