is it just a flavor thing,like "l raise my staff and shoot a fire ball from it" or "i stick my jewel encrusted fingernail into his chin and cast finger of death" ? is it required to cast some spells? can useing it avoid needing materiel components that dont get used up?
EDIT: l should have read the free rules BEFORE posting this. lol.
An arcane focus is a special item designed to channel the power of arcane spells. A sorcerer, warlock, or wizard can use such an item as a spellcasting focus, as described in the Spellcasting section.
Material (M)
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell. A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
An arcane focus is a special item designed to channel the power of arcane spells. A sorcerer, warlock, or wizard can use such an item as a spellcasting focus, as described in the Spellcasting section.
Material (M)
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell. A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
thanks! l found that after looking around a bit,but its great to have this thread for other lazy idiots like me!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
is it just a flavor thing,like "l raise my staff and shoot a fire ball from it" or "i stick my jewel encrusted fingernail into his chin and cast finger of death" ? is it required to cast some spells? can useing it avoid needing materiel components that dont get used up?
EDIT: l should have read the free rules BEFORE posting this. lol.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
thanks! l found that after looking around a bit,but its great to have this thread for other lazy idiots like me!