In the spell description it says that the creature must make a wisdom save if it can hear you. Does this mean you don't need to roll a d20 to see if it hits and then the creature you're attacking needs to make the wisdom save, or is it kind of like magic missile where you don't need to roll a d20?
The target must make a wisdom saving throw against your spell save DC if they can hear you, otherwise the spell doesn't work at all because they can't hear the insult.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt
In the spell description it says that the creature must make a wisdom save if it can hear you. Does this mean you don't need to roll a d20 to see if it hits and then the creature you're attacking needs to make the wisdom save, or is it kind of like magic missile where you don't need to roll a d20?
Correct. This a a “save” type spell not an “attack” type spell. You cast the spell and the target has to make a save or take the effect of the spell. No “to hit” required.
In the spell description it says that the creature must make a wisdom save if it can hear you. Does this mean you don't need to roll a d20 to see if it hits and then the creature you're attacking needs to make the wisdom save, or is it kind of like magic missile where you don't need to roll a d20?
Almost every spell that requires a Saving Throw never requires an Attack Roll. There are one or two that require both, such as Ice Knife, but 99% of spells that do damage only require either an Attack or a Save, not both.
In the spell description it says that the creature must make a wisdom save if it can hear you. Does this mean you don't need to roll a d20 to see if it hits and then the creature you're attacking needs to make the wisdom save, or is it kind of like magic missile where you don't need to roll a d20?
The target must make a wisdom saving throw against your spell save DC if they can hear you, otherwise the spell doesn't work at all because they can't hear the insult.
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt
Correct. This a a “save” type spell not an “attack” type spell. You cast the spell and the target has to make a save or take the effect of the spell. No “to hit” required.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Almost every spell that requires a Saving Throw never requires an Attack Roll. There are one or two that require both, such as Ice Knife, but 99% of spells that do damage only require either an Attack or a Save, not both.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting