You curse a creature that you can see within 30 feet of you to painfully swell until the end of your next turn. For the duration of this curse, the creature has disadvantage on Strength and Dexterity ability checks, and takes 1d8necrotic damage if it makes more than one melee or ranged attack during its turn.
When does this damage occur? Before, simultaneously, or after the 2nd attack is completed? I had a monster die from this damage and ruled that the damage occurs after the monster’s 2nd attack is completed. Luckily the PC didn’t die from the second attack damage which would make this ruling a lot more critical.
Attack and Damage are basically considered all part of the same thing. I would say that the target takes its damage at the same time as it attacks which would mean both the damage it deals with its attack, and the damage it takes from Bloated Agony occur simultaneously (or semi-simultaneously). I think you made a good call on that.
I mean, it doesn’t specify that it only applies to weapon attacks, so that means it would even affect Eldritch Blast. Now, it’s all one Action to cast, but each Attack roll is separate, so I would even say that Bloated Agony would kick in as soon as the 2nd beam was resolved, before the 3rd attack roll was made and that if Bloated Agony kills it then the 3rd & 4th are wasted.
You curse a creature that you can see within 30 feet of you to painfully swell until the end of your next turn. For the duration of this curse, the creature has disadvantage on Strength and Dexterity ability checks, and takes 1d8necrotic damage if it makes more than one melee or ranged attack during its turn.
When does this damage occur? Before, simultaneously, or after the 2nd attack is completed? I had a monster die from this damage and ruled that the damage occurs after the monster’s 2nd attack is completed. Luckily the PC didn’t die from the second attack damage which would make this ruling a lot more critical.
Attack and Damage are basically considered all part of the same thing. I would say that the target takes its damage at the same time as it attacks which would mean both the damage it deals with its attack, and the damage it takes from Bloated Agony occur simultaneously (or semi-simultaneously). I think you made a good call on that.
I mean, it doesn’t specify that it only applies to weapon attacks, so that means it would even affect Eldritch Blast. Now, it’s all one Action to cast, but each Attack roll is separate, so I would even say that Bloated Agony would kick in as soon as the 2nd beam was resolved, before the 3rd attack roll was made and that if Bloated Agony kills it then the 3rd & 4th are wasted.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting