It’s an odd niche question and I wanted to ask about it. Say my character has a scimitar in one hand and a shortsword in the other, and has the extra attack feature.
Can I attack with the scimitar, then attack with the shortsword with extra attack? If that is possible then can I make a bonus action attack with two-weapon fighting? If so, which weapon could I attack with?
Exactly as Ophidimancer said, simply the rule for two-weapon fighting is that the bonus action attack must be made with the off-hand weapon (ie. the weapon that wasn't used for the attack action).
Going a little deeper into the explanation, if you use the attack action with a weapon you are then allowed to use a bonus action to make an off-hand attack with your other weapon. If you, however, choose to action surge prior to using your bonus action and, for whatever reason, decide to make this attack with the other weapon you would then be allowed to make the bonus attack with either weapon since the bonus action would then technically be available for either weapon since both weapons were used as part of an attack action.
The only requirement is that the bonus action attack be made with the weapon that did not attack so, as Ophidimancer said, you cannot attack thrice (action + action + bonus action) with the same hand.
Yes, everyone is right. The scimitar attack immediately triggers the availability of a bonus action attack with the shortsword. The shortsword attack likewise triggers the availability of a bonus action attack with the scimitar. If you attack with the scimitar first and then with the shortsword via Extra Attack, nothing about the shortsword attack "un-triggers" the bonus action the first attack granted (or vice versa). You've triggered two different bonus actions, one with each weapon. You can only take one, because you only ever have one bonus action "slot" on your turn, but you can choose which one to take.
It’s an odd niche question and I wanted to ask about it.
Say my character has a scimitar in one hand and a shortsword in the other, and has the extra attack feature.
Can I attack with the scimitar, then attack with the shortsword with extra attack? If that is possible then can I make a bonus action attack with two-weapon fighting? If so, which weapon could I attack with?
Thanks for any advice/help!
Can I attack with the scimitar, then attack with the shortsword with extra attack? - Yes
If that is possible then can I make a bonus action attack with two-weapon fighting? - Yes
If so, which weapon could I attack with? - Either
If R is the weapon in your right hand and L is the weapon in your left hand, you can do the following:
But you cannot do R, R > R or L, L > L
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Exactly as Ophidimancer said, simply the rule for two-weapon fighting is that the bonus action attack must be made with the off-hand weapon (ie. the weapon that wasn't used for the attack action).
Going a little deeper into the explanation, if you use the attack action with a weapon you are then allowed to use a bonus action to make an off-hand attack with your other weapon. If you, however, choose to action surge prior to using your bonus action and, for whatever reason, decide to make this attack with the other weapon you would then be allowed to make the bonus attack with either weapon since the bonus action would then technically be available for either weapon since both weapons were used as part of an attack action.
The only requirement is that the bonus action attack be made with the weapon that did not attack so, as Ophidimancer said, you cannot attack thrice (action + action + bonus action) with the same hand.
I also agree with Ophidimancer (note that not everyone does).
Count me in. I also concur with the others.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Yes, everyone is right. The scimitar attack immediately triggers the availability of a bonus action attack with the shortsword. The shortsword attack likewise triggers the availability of a bonus action attack with the scimitar. If you attack with the scimitar first and then with the shortsword via Extra Attack, nothing about the shortsword attack "un-triggers" the bonus action the first attack granted (or vice versa). You've triggered two different bonus actions, one with each weapon. You can only take one, because you only ever have one bonus action "slot" on your turn, but you can choose which one to take.
Not that it's adding anything to the thread but - I also agree.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).