Hello! Some items (ex. Wand Sheath and Prosthetic Arm) from E:RftLW say something like "these items count at one in regard to the number of items you can attune to". Soul of Artifice reads "You get a +1 bonus to all saves for each magic item you are attuned to." I asked my DM and had a discussion about the wording of this. I argued that if you are attuned to any 5 items, a wand sheath, and any wand, you would have a +7 bonus to all saves, because you are technically attuned to 7 items, but 2 of them count as one in regard to the number of items you can attune to, as opposed to the number of magic item you are attuned to.
Does anybody have a definitive answer on this ruling?
"However, the wand sheath and the attached wand count as a single magic item with regard to the number of magic items you can attune to. If you remove the wand from the sheath, your attunement to the wand ends."
I think RAW/RAI, its probably a no, but as with any DM/player relationship, you can try to finagle it.
"However, the wand sheath and the attached wand count as a single magic item with regard to the number of magic items you can attune to. If you remove the wand from the sheath, your attunement to the wand ends."
I think RAW/RAI, its probably a no, but as with any DM/player relationship, you can try to finagle it.
The key part in that quote isn't the single magic item, but "with regard to the number of magic items you can attune to".
It only counts as one magic item for the maximum amount of magic items you can attune to. RAW, this checks out. If you have 2 Arm Sheaths, each with a wand you're attuned to inside it, and you are level 20, you have a +8 to all saving throws.
This is RAW, but I don't know if it is RAI. It doesn't seem to be.
It's up to the DM, but the Rules as Written ruling for this is quite a bit powerful.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Well Rules as Written also states at 18th level's Magic Item Master state "Starting at 18th level, you can attune up to six magic items at once" That combined with the above descriptions for the wand sheath and Soul of Artifice should make it pretty clear that the cap is a +6 bonus. So even with 2 arm sheaths, that's still +2 right there.
P.S. I am the DM he's referring to, and yes this is my ruling as well as my interpretation (which seems closer to RAW and RAI from how I'm reading it). Either way, a +6 bonus "as intended" is fine within the scope of the class.
Well Rules as Written also states at 18th level's Magic Item Master state "Starting at 18th level, you can attune up to six magic items at once" That combined with the above descriptions for the wand sheath and Soul of Artifice should make it pretty clear that the cap is a +6 bonus. So even with 2 arm sheaths, that's still +2 right there.
Yes, but that doesn't change what the magic item description's statement of "count as one magic item for the amount of magic items you can attune to" (pardon the paraphrasing, please).
It is fairly clear that the rules as intended cap to this ability is a +6 bonus to saving throws, but the rules as written differs. Using strictly the textual rules for this, if you are attuned to 8 magic items (with the 18th level artificer ability and 2 wand sheaths with an attunable wand inside each one), and you are a level 20 Artificer, you will have a +8 bonus to all saving throws.
Again, I don't agree with this ruling. In my games, I will cap it at a +6. But, RAW, this exploit allows for a +8 bonus (at max with official rules) from this feature (There are more ways to exploit this. I. e cut off all you limbs and attune to prosthetic limbs. With the Tattoo UA, wear a ton of tattoos to abuse this further. I don't recommend doing this or allowing this, but it is RAW). I don't think if you are only allowing for an additional +2 bonus from this feature that it's game breaking, but with the other exploits, I personally wouldn't allow it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Well Rules as Written also states at 18th level's Magic Item Master state "Starting at 18th level, you can attune up to six magic items at once" That combined with the above descriptions for the wand sheath and Soul of Artifice should make it pretty clear that the cap is a +6 bonus. So even with 2 arm sheaths, that's still +2 right there.
P.S. I am the DM he's referring to, and yes this is my ruling as well as my interpretation (which seems closer to RAW and RAI from how I'm reading it). Either way, a +6 bonus "as intended" is fine within the scope of the class.
The sheath says the sheath and wand would count as a single magic item for purposes of attunement. So when you attune to both, you are considered attuned to 1 item instead of 2.
The Soul of Artifice is a +1 bonus for each magic item attuned to. Since you're only attuned to 1, given the sheath's description, that's a +1 bonus.
I don't understand what the issue is? I don't know how much clearer it can be. O.o
What am I missing?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
The sheath says the sheath and wand would count as a single magic item for purposes of attunement. So when you attune to both, you are considered attuned to 1 item instead of 2.
The Soul of Artifice is a +1 bonus for each magic item attuned to. Since you're only attuned to 1, given the sheath's description, that's a +1 bonus.
I don't understand what the issue is? I don't know how much clearer it can be. O.o
What am I missing?
It says:
However, the wand sheath and the attached wand count as a single magic itemwith regard to thenumber of magic items you can attune to. If you remove the wand from the sheath, your attunement to the wand ends
It only counts as one magic item for the amount of items you can attune to, not the amount of magic items you are attuned to.
You are still attuned to 8 magic items if you have 2 wand sheaths and an attunable wand in each wand sheath. RAW, this as a level 20 Artificer, along with 4 other infused items, gives you 8 magic items that you're attuned to, and a +8 bonus to all saving throws.
This is RAW, but I personally do not rule it this way. The artificer class has too many easy exploitations with not only this ability, but others as well.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
The sheath says the sheath and wand would count as a single magic item for purposes of attunement. So when you attune to both, you are considered attuned to 1 item instead of 2.
The Soul of Artifice is a +1 bonus for each magic item attuned to. Since you're only attuned to 1, given the sheath's description, that's a +1 bonus.
I don't understand what the issue is? I don't know how much clearer it can be. O.o
What am I missing?
Yeah, I agree. I get the counter argument, but I agree with you.
Since this is in General, I'm going to offer a RAI opinion. The Wand Sheath does nothing on it's own but, when paired with a Wand, it provides a tangible advantage. The Wand Sheath and Wand being used count as a single attuned item because, some Wands don't require attunement. Now with the extra benefit of the the Wand Sheath, they(both items as a singular attunement) must be attuned. If the a Wand already requires attunement, the Wand Sheath doesn't impose a second attunement requirement, it just shares the Wand's attunement.
Again, as opinion, I only see one item attuned in each example. The Wand Sheath in the first example, and the Wand in the second example.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello!
Some items (ex. Wand Sheath and Prosthetic Arm) from E:RftLW say something like "these items count at one in regard to the number of items you can attune to". Soul of Artifice reads "You get a +1 bonus to all saves for each magic item you are attuned to."
I asked my DM and had a discussion about the wording of this. I argued that if you are attuned to any 5 items, a wand sheath, and any wand, you would have a +7 bonus to all saves, because you are technically attuned to 7 items, but 2 of them count as one in regard to the number of items you can attune to, as opposed to the number of magic item you are attuned to.
Does anybody have a definitive answer on this ruling?
Thanks!
Keep having fun!
"However, the wand sheath and the attached wand count as a single magic item with regard to the number of magic items you can attune to. If you remove the wand from the sheath, your attunement to the wand ends."
I think RAW/RAI, its probably a no, but as with any DM/player relationship, you can try to finagle it.
The key part in that quote isn't the single magic item, but "with regard to the number of magic items you can attune to".
It only counts as one magic item for the maximum amount of magic items you can attune to. RAW, this checks out. If you have 2 Arm Sheaths, each with a wand you're attuned to inside it, and you are level 20, you have a +8 to all saving throws.
This is RAW, but I don't know if it is RAI. It doesn't seem to be.
It's up to the DM, but the Rules as Written ruling for this is quite a bit powerful.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Well Rules as Written also states at 18th level's Magic Item Master state "Starting at 18th level, you can attune up to six magic items at once" That combined with the above descriptions for the wand sheath and Soul of Artifice should make it pretty clear that the cap is a +6 bonus. So even with 2 arm sheaths, that's still +2 right there.
P.S. I am the DM he's referring to, and yes this is my ruling as well as my interpretation (which seems closer to RAW and RAI from how I'm reading it). Either way, a +6 bonus "as intended" is fine within the scope of the class.
Yes, but that doesn't change what the magic item description's statement of "count as one magic item for the amount of magic items you can attune to" (pardon the paraphrasing, please).
It is fairly clear that the rules as intended cap to this ability is a +6 bonus to saving throws, but the rules as written differs. Using strictly the textual rules for this, if you are attuned to 8 magic items (with the 18th level artificer ability and 2 wand sheaths with an attunable wand inside each one), and you are a level 20 Artificer, you will have a +8 bonus to all saving throws.
Again, I don't agree with this ruling. In my games, I will cap it at a +6. But, RAW, this exploit allows for a +8 bonus (at max with official rules) from this feature (There are more ways to exploit this. I. e cut off all you limbs and attune to prosthetic limbs. With the Tattoo UA, wear a ton of tattoos to abuse this further. I don't recommend doing this or allowing this, but it is RAW). I don't think if you are only allowing for an additional +2 bonus from this feature that it's game breaking, but with the other exploits, I personally wouldn't allow it.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
I also rule it the same way when I DM.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
I'm not sure I understand the confusion.
The sheath says the sheath and wand would count as a single magic item for purposes of attunement. So when you attune to both, you are considered attuned to 1 item instead of 2.
The Soul of Artifice is a +1 bonus for each magic item attuned to. Since you're only attuned to 1, given the sheath's description, that's a +1 bonus.
I don't understand what the issue is? I don't know how much clearer it can be. O.o
What am I missing?
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
It says:
It only counts as one magic item for the amount of items you can attune to, not the amount of magic items you are attuned to.
You are still attuned to 8 magic items if you have 2 wand sheaths and an attunable wand in each wand sheath. RAW, this as a level 20 Artificer, along with 4 other infused items, gives you 8 magic items that you're attuned to, and a +8 bonus to all saving throws.
This is RAW, but I personally do not rule it this way. The artificer class has too many easy exploitations with not only this ability, but others as well.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Yeah, I agree. I get the counter argument, but I agree with you.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Since this is in General, I'm going to offer a RAI opinion. The Wand Sheath does nothing on it's own but, when paired with a Wand, it provides a tangible advantage. The Wand Sheath and Wand being used count as a single attuned item because, some Wands don't require attunement. Now with the extra benefit of the the Wand Sheath, they(both items as a singular attunement) must be attuned. If the a Wand already requires attunement, the Wand Sheath doesn't impose a second attunement requirement, it just shares the Wand's attunement.
Again, as opinion, I only see one item attuned in each example. The Wand Sheath in the first example, and the Wand in the second example.