The title pretty much says it all: Does Charm Monster work on Humanoids?
My player tried Charm Monster on an elf, the spell says it works on any "creature", which I interpreted to mean any living thing so I let them do it. Am I understanding it correctly?
Edit: I believe “creature” is a generic term for pretty much everything so it should work on constructs and undead as well
This is correct, Creature is a general term and encompasses anything that is not an Object. Note that a spell like Command can target any creature and then has specific language that it cannot affect Undead. Another example is Animate Objects, it targets Objects and turns them into Creatures of the Construct type and describes their Ability Scores and other statistics.
The title pretty much says it all: Does Charm Monster work on Humanoids?
My player tried Charm Monster on an elf, the spell says it works on any "creature", which I interpreted to mean any living thing so I let them do it. Am I understanding it correctly?
Yes.
The spell says: "You attempt to charm a creature you can see within range."
Any creature, no restrictions, even constructs, undead, fiends, elementals, etc.
Yes it works on any creature
Edit: I believe “creature” is a generic term for pretty much everything so it should work on constructs and undead as well
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Charm person = only works on humanoids. Charm monster = works on any creature, including humanoids.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Humanoid is a subset of Creature, so yes.
Charm Monster works on anything you find here: https://www.dndbeyond.com/monsters
Charm Person only works on https://www.dndbeyond.com/monsters?filter-type=11
Site Info: Wizard's ToS | Fan Content Policy | Forum Rules | Physical Books | Content Not Working | Contact Support
How To: Homebrew Rules | Create Homebrew | Snippet Codes | Tool Tips (Custom) | Rollables (Generator)
My Homebrew: Races | Subclasses | Backgrounds | Feats | Spells | Magic Items
Other: Beyond20 | Page References | Other Guides | Entitlements | Dice Randomization | Images Fix | FAQ
This is correct, Creature is a general term and encompasses anything that is not an Object. Note that a spell like Command can target any creature and then has specific language that it cannot affect Undead. Another example is Animate Objects, it targets Objects and turns them into Creatures of the Construct type and describes their Ability Scores and other statistics.
But the sky isn't an object or a creature. ;-)
So it’s a point in space, for those spells that target such. So I guess creature is everything not an object or a point?
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?