Ok i have been looking and cant find this anywhere. Two-Weapon Fighting the second Attack as a Bonus Action you can add your ability modifier to the damage of the second Attack. My question is the Bonus Action to attack with offhand is that a Listed as a Attack Action or just a Attack? I was looking at Gloom Stalker's DREAD AMBUSHER and it says . If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action. So would the Offhand Attack count for the Dread Ambusher?
In this situation, with the Dread Ambusher, it would be considered similar to the Extra Attack action that Fighter gets. Off-Hand Attack would still be considered off-hand/bonus attack which would benefit from the Two-Weapon Fighting.
Ok i have been looking and cant find this anywhere. Two-Weapon Fighting the second Attack as a Bonus Action you can add your ability modifier to the damage of the second Attack. My question is the Bonus Action to attack with offhand is that a Listed as a Attack Action or just a Attack? I was looking at Gloom Stalker's DREAD AMBUSHER and it says . If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action. So would the Offhand Attack count for the Dread Ambusher?
An "off hand" attack does not depend on the number of attacks with your Attack Action. Meaning if you use the Attack Action and you can make multiple attacks with that action due to features or spells, you can make them all with your main hand if you want to. (For instance, you're use a rapier in your main hand and a dagger in your off hand, you could attack with your rapier twice in order to do more damage or use the rapier once and the dagger once in case they both have a magic effect you wish to utilize). Then, if you so desire, you can use your bonus action (if available) to make an off-hand attack. This is separate from the Attack action and normally does not gain the bonus from your stat (most likely Dex or Str) modifier. Dread Ambusher basically raises the number of attacks you get to make with the Attack action by one, and that particular attack (so you'd probably wish to roll it separately) gets an additional 1d8 dmg if it connects.
I find it best to just not use the term "off hand". It's not a rules term and it creates confusion since you can attack with two different weapons using the Attack action.
Here's the facts:
The Attack action is a specific action that lets you make one melee or ranged attack. Other actions - like the bonus action from the Two-Weapon Fighting rules - might let you make attacks, but that doesn't mean you're taking the Attack action.
Some class features like Extra Attack and Dread Ambusher give you additional attacks when you take the Attack action.
When you take the Attack action you can use any weapon or hand you want for each of the attacks. You can ever draw a weapon if you haven't taken an object interaction that turn.
The Two-Weapon Fighting rules only give you one attack as a bonus action.
The damage roll for the Two-Weapon Fighting attack doesn't include the ability modifier you used for the attack roll unless the modifier is negative.
If you have Fighting Style class feature and chose the two-weapon fighting option, you can add your ability modifier to the TWF attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
The Forum Infestation (TM)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Ok i have been looking and cant find this anywhere. Two-Weapon Fighting the second Attack as a Bonus Action you can add your ability modifier to the damage of the second Attack. My question is the Bonus Action to attack with offhand is that a Listed as a Attack Action or just a Attack? I was looking at Gloom Stalker's DREAD AMBUSHER and it says . If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action. So would the Offhand Attack count for the Dread Ambusher?
In this situation, with the Dread Ambusher, it would be considered similar to the Extra Attack action that Fighter gets. Off-Hand Attack would still be considered off-hand/bonus attack which would benefit from the Two-Weapon Fighting.
An "off hand" attack does not depend on the number of attacks with your Attack Action. Meaning if you use the Attack Action and you can make multiple attacks with that action due to features or spells, you can make them all with your main hand if you want to. (For instance, you're use a rapier in your main hand and a dagger in your off hand, you could attack with your rapier twice in order to do more damage or use the rapier once and the dagger once in case they both have a magic effect you wish to utilize). Then, if you so desire, you can use your bonus action (if available) to make an off-hand attack. This is separate from the Attack action and normally does not gain the bonus from your stat (most likely Dex or Str) modifier. Dread Ambusher basically raises the number of attacks you get to make with the Attack action by one, and that particular attack (so you'd probably wish to roll it separately) gets an additional 1d8 dmg if it connects.
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
I find it best to just not use the term "off hand". It's not a rules term and it creates confusion since you can attack with two different weapons using the Attack action.
Here's the facts:
The Forum Infestation (TM)