When reading the polearm master feat description, it made me wonder if the part that says: "While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach", means that If you have reach on something else, like the UA monk of astral self arms, would count as well while you are wielding the glaive or another weapon that's on this list.
When reading the polearm master feat description, it made me wonder if the part that says: "While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach", means that If you have reach on something else, like the UA monk of astral self arms, would count as well while you are wielding the glaive or another weapon that's on this list.
Correct. While wielding one of the listed weapons, you gain said opportunity attack. The attack is not specified as having to be made with that weapo.
When reading the polearm master feat description, it made me wonder if the part that says: "While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach", means that If you have reach on something else, like the UA monk of astral self arms, would count as well while you are wielding the glaive or another weapon that's on this list.
Correct. While wielding one of the listed weapons, you gain said opportunity attack. The attack is not specified as having to be made with that weapo.
Yeah, this strikes me as one of those things that was unintended but results from poor wording. My guess is such a thing inconsequential and extremely situational, so they're like "Yeah, whatever. It's written that way so just roll with it"
Here's my question about this feat: "...when they enter your reach". What if someone teleports into that space? Does the effect still work or is it only when someone uses movement to enter the space? To me, R.A.W. would indicate it would operate against the teleporting opponent but I wanted other people's opinions & views.
Here's my question about this feat: "...when they enter your reach". What if someone teleports into that space? Does the effect still work or is it only when someone uses movement to enter the space? To me, R.A.W. would indicate it would operate against the teleporting opponent but I wanted other people's opinions & views.
By RAW PAM still uses the rules for opportunity attacks, and teleportation doesn't trigger OA, so no.
Creatures do not normally provoke an attack of opportunity when they enter your reach.
The attack of opportunity offered by PAM is separate and distinct from the normal mechanics for Attacks of Opportunity so I would argue it does.
Your DM might counter that the creature appeared inside your reach and did not enter it.
Hopefully, your DM holds to the rule of cool and allows it.
I mean:
While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach.
The fact that they used that wording means they wanted it to use the rules of opportunity attacks except where they specifically change it.
I would hope my DM is consistent with rulings. If teleporting triggers opportunity attacks, then it does so both ways.
Creatures do not normally provoke an attack of opportunity when they enter your reach.
The attack of opportunity offered by PAM is separate and distinct from the normal mechanics for Attacks of Opportunity so I would argue it does.
Your DM might counter that the creature appeared inside your reach and did not enter it.
Hopefully, your DM holds to the rule of cool and allows it.
I mean:
While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach.
The fact that they used that wording means they wanted it to use the rules of opportunity attacks except where they specifically change it.
I would hope my DM is consistent with rulings. If teleporting triggers opportunity attacks, then it does so both ways.
This prompted me to go back to the PHB and your right.
You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. [...]
"While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach"
You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.
No. I'd say that the feat does exactly what it says it does and no more: While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear. Your UA Astral Monk feature is not a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff or spear, so no opportunity attack would be granted by PAM.
EDIT: Re-read again. Yes, as long as you had one of the listed weapons in your hand, you could make an attack. There's nothing in the rules that suggests you have to use the weapon to make the attack. As far as I know, you can have PAM on a wizard and hold a halberd in your hand and when it steps to within 10 ft of you slam it in the face with a lightning bolt, provided you also have the War Caster feat. It's a lawyery reading of the rule, but that's how I read it never the less.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
No. I'd say that the feat does exactly what it says it does and no more: While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear. Your UA Astral Monk feature is not a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff or spear, so no opportunity attack would be granted by PAM.
Correct. The "glaive or another weapon that's on this list" that the OP mentions they are wielding in the question is why PAM grants an opportunity attack that they can make with their astral arms.
And I'd already edited, because I went back and re-read what he said.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Hey,
When reading the polearm master feat description, it made me wonder if the part that says: "While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach", means that If you have reach on something else, like the UA monk of astral self arms, would count as well while you are wielding the glaive or another weapon that's on this list.
Correct. While wielding one of the listed weapons, you gain said opportunity attack. The attack is not specified as having to be made with that weapo.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Yeah, this strikes me as one of those things that was unintended but results from poor wording. My guess is such a thing inconsequential and extremely situational, so they're like "Yeah, whatever. It's written that way so just roll with it"
Here's my question about this feat: "...when they enter your reach". What if someone teleports into that space? Does the effect still work or is it only when someone uses movement to enter the space? To me, R.A.W. would indicate it would operate against the teleporting opponent but I wanted other people's opinions & views.
Since teleporting creatures are not subject to a normal OA, I would say not.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
By RAW PAM still uses the rules for opportunity attacks, and teleportation doesn't trigger OA, so no.
Creatures do not normally provoke an attack of opportunity when they enter your reach.
The attack of opportunity offered by PAM is separate and distinct from the normal mechanics for Attacks of Opportunity so I would argue it does.
Your DM might counter that the creature appeared inside your reach and did not enter it.
Hopefully, your DM holds to the rule of cool and allows it.
I mean:
The fact that they used that wording means they wanted it to use the rules of opportunity attacks except where they specifically change it.
I would hope my DM is consistent with rulings. If teleporting triggers opportunity attacks, then it does so both ways.
This prompted me to go back to the PHB and your right.
You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. [...]
"While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach"
You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.
No. I'd say that the feat does exactly what it says it does and no more: While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear. Your UA Astral Monk feature is not a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff or spear, so no opportunity attack would be granted by PAM.
EDIT: Re-read again. Yes, as long as you had one of the listed weapons in your hand, you could make an attack. There's nothing in the rules that suggests you have to use the weapon to make the attack. As far as I know, you can have PAM on a wizard and hold a halberd in your hand and when it steps to within 10 ft of you slam it in the face with a lightning bolt, provided you also have the War Caster feat. It's a lawyery reading of the rule, but that's how I read it never the less.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
Correct. The "glaive or another weapon that's on this list" that the OP mentions they are wielding in the question is why PAM grants an opportunity attack that they can make with their astral arms.
So the answer is yes.
And I'd already edited, because I went back and re-read what he said.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
I'm making a spartan like character but might be using a trident, the polearm master feat does not work with a trident right?
It only works with the weapons it lists - and it does not list the Trident - so you are correct.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).