When you take the Attack action with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end of the weapon that uses the same ability modifier as the primary attack and has a damage die of d4 (bludgeoning). While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach."
"Long-Limbed VGtM
When you make a melee attack on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal."
So my normal attack actions are in range at 15ft because the 10ft range of a reach weapon + 5ft from the long limbed racial ability. The polearm master opportunity attacks are in range at 10 ft because they generally won't happen on my turn, so I don't get the benefit of the long limbed racial ability. That's all clear to me and I'm not debating it.
My character sheet on DND beyond says the range of my bonus attack is 10ft. I don't understand why it wouldn't be at 15ft. Long-Limbed clearly says when when you make a melee attack on your turn, it doesn't specify an attack action. A bonus attack is still an attack so I see no reason why it wouldn't be a 15ft range.
If you weren't playing a bugbear, the bonus attack would be 5ft. I'm assuming that the intent of the bonus attack is that it does not benefit from the "reach" property of the polearm. Couldn't find anything that specifically states the bonus attack from the feat doesn't get the "reach" property, but at the same time nothing says it does either.
The weapon has the reach property, you are using it (albeit the blunt end instead of the pointy end) to make an attack, so you should be able to use that reach - it would tell you otherwise if you couldn't. Likely DDB just adds a new weapon to your sheet, and they did not add the reach property to that weapon.
I could see logistical reasoning that the BA attack wouldn't be made with reach, but no mechanical reasoning according to the wording of the feat: if you have the pointy end far away, you don't have much blunt end left to reach with.
Agreed, nothing in the book says that the blunt end of a halberd isnt still a halberd; all of its properties (including reach) should still apply, although that specific attack does less damage.
My character sheet on DND beyond says the range of my bonus attack is 10ft. I don't understand why it wouldn't be at 15ft. Long-Limbed clearly says when when you make a melee attack on your turn, it doesn't specify an attack action. A bonus attack is still an attack so I see no reason why it wouldn't be a 15ft range.
Is my logic sound or am I missing something?
Your logic is sound, and the Reach property and Long-Limbed absolutely apply to the bonus action attack.
As DxJxC pointed out, this issue is caused by the fact that DDB has hard-coded the bonus action attack from the feat, not from any actual weapon you have equipped... which is really a rookie move from the DDB team. Since 3 of the 5 eligible weapons have a 10 foot reach, that should've been the first red flag for "we shouldn't hard-code the range".
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
It’s just a software thing. Polearm Master also works with Spears and Quarterstaffs that do not have reach. That attack is being generated solely by the feat which has no idea what weapon your PC is holding. So it generates the absolute minimum default. It will also not calculate things like Magic Bonuses either, and they should also count for Polearm Master’s BASIS attack.
It’s a simple software limitation of this website and nothing more. Don’t read into it.
Best solution in the meantime is to just create a custom action on your sheet for the PAM BA attack, and set it to the correct range for your weapon.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
When you take the Attack action with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end of the weapon that uses the same ability modifier as the primary attack and has a damage die of d4 (bludgeoning). While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach."
When you make a melee attack on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal."
So my normal attack actions are in range at 15ft because the 10ft range of a reach weapon + 5ft from the long limbed racial ability. The polearm master opportunity attacks are in range at 10 ft because they generally won't happen on my turn, so I don't get the benefit of the long limbed racial ability. That's all clear to me and I'm not debating it.
My character sheet on DND beyond says the range of my bonus attack is 10ft. I don't understand why it wouldn't be at 15ft. Long-Limbed clearly says when when you make a melee attack on your turn, it doesn't specify an attack action. A bonus attack is still an attack so I see no reason why it wouldn't be a 15ft range.
Is my logic sound or am I missing something?
If you weren't playing a bugbear, the bonus attack would be 5ft. I'm assuming that the intent of the bonus attack is that it does not benefit from the "reach" property of the polearm. Couldn't find anything that specifically states the bonus attack from the feat doesn't get the "reach" property, but at the same time nothing says it does either.
The base reach of the BA attack is only 5 feet without Long-Limbed.
That is probably and oversight. Since the attack is granted by the feat and not the weapon, the sheet isn't applying the reach property.
The weapon has the reach property, you are using it (albeit the blunt end instead of the pointy end) to make an attack, so you should be able to use that reach - it would tell you otherwise if you couldn't. Likely DDB just adds a new weapon to your sheet, and they did not add the reach property to that weapon.
I could see logistical reasoning that the BA attack wouldn't be made with reach, but no mechanical reasoning according to the wording of the feat: if you have the pointy end far away, you don't have much blunt end left to reach with.
Agreed, nothing in the book says that the blunt end of a halberd isnt still a halberd; all of its properties (including reach) should still apply, although that specific attack does less damage.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Your logic is sound, and the Reach property and Long-Limbed absolutely apply to the bonus action attack.
As DxJxC pointed out, this issue is caused by the fact that DDB has hard-coded the bonus action attack from the feat, not from any actual weapon you have equipped... which is really a rookie move from the DDB team. Since 3 of the 5 eligible weapons have a 10 foot reach, that should've been the first red flag for "we shouldn't hard-code the range".
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I have a reasoning for the blunt end bonus attack having less reach thematically you simply can't hold the sharp side effectively..
It is just a coding limitation on DDB. The rules suggest the BA attack should have the same range as the regular attack.
It’s just a software thing. Polearm Master also works with Spears and Quarterstaffs that do not have reach. That attack is being generated solely by the feat which has no idea what weapon your PC is holding. So it generates the absolute minimum default. It will also not calculate things like Magic Bonuses either, and they should also count for Polearm Master’s BASIS attack.
It’s a simple software limitation of this website and nothing more. Don’t read into it.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
So this is a "built in" bug.
Hey DDB, are you planing on fixing this?
No. Saying that implies that they intended to do it wrong. It’s just something they haven’t figured out how to make it do yet.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Best solution in the meantime is to just create a custom action on your sheet for the PAM BA attack, and set it to the correct range for your weapon.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.